To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Viborg County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Viborg-Denmark.png


Guide to Viborg ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History[edit | edit source]

Viborg County is a former Danish county in the north-central part of the Jutland peninsula in western Denmark. The county was abolished on 1 January 2007, when most of it merged into Region Central Jutland. A smaller portion merged into Region North Jutland.
[1]

Archives, Societies, and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Many records from places in Viborg County are held by the Danish State Archives in Viborg. Records are also available from the State Archives' website ArkivalierOnline.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Fjends Herred
  • Harre Herred
  • Hids Herred
  • Hindborg Herred
  • Houlbjerg Herred
  • Lysgård Herred
  • Middelsom Herred
  • Nørlyng Herred
  • Nørre Herred
  • Rinds Herred
  • Rødding Herred
  • Sønderlyng Herred

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information[edit | edit source]

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

Parishes[edit | edit source]

FurSæbyÅstedSeldeGlyngøreNautrupDurupTønderingVileHarreHjerkRoslevTorumJungetThiseRybjergGrinderslevJebjergLybyGrønningKrejbjergRødding (Rødding herred)LihmeLemVejbyRamsingHåsumBallingOddenseOttingHindborgVollingBrøndumHvidbjergHemDølbySkive CityVester BølleØster BølleGedstedFjelsøTestrupSimestedHvilsomHvamUlbjergLynderupLåstrupSkalsVester TostrupVester BjerregravRoumKlejtrupHersomLundøHøjslevØrslevklosterØrum (Fjends herred)DommerbyFlyKobberupTårupKvolsFeldingbjergGammelstrupVridstedVroueFlySmollerupNørre BorrisMønstedDaugbjergResen (Fjends herred)RomlundRavnstrupFinderupFiskbækVordeViborg DomsognetLøvelPederstrupRødding (Nørlyng herred)Viborg Gråbrødre landdistriktAsmildTapdrupVammenBigumLindumVejrumViskumØrum (Sønderlyng herred)TjeleNørre VingeVorningNørbækSønderbækLæstenHammershøjKvorningDollerupÅlumØster BjerregravTånumHornbækSønder RindVindumVinkelMammenLeeSkjernBjerringBjerringbroHjermindHjorthedeSønder VingeVester VellingØster VellingHelstrupGrenstenLangåTorupSahlGullevGerningHvorslevVellevVejerslevAidtThorsøHoulbjergGranslevHaurumSkjødSallAlmindLysgårdFrederiksKarupViumSjørslevTorningVinderslevHørupHingeGrønbækHøbjergElsborgLevringSvostrupGødvadLemmingSerupSejlingSindingKragelundEngesvangFunderBalleViborg Map.jpg

Map of parishes

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Estates[edit | edit source]

  • Alhedens kolonier
  • Allinggård gods
  • Asmild kloster gods
  • Astrup gods
  • Avnsbjerg gods
  • Bådsgård gods
  • Bidstrup gods
  • Bustrup gods
  • Eskær gods
  • Fastruplund gods
  • Frisholt gods
  • Furland gods
  • Fussingø gods
  • Grauballegård gods
  • Grinderslevkloster gods
  • Hagsholm gods
  • Hald gods
  • Haven gods
  • Hegnet gods
  • Hellerupgård gods
  • Hemmæstrup gods
  • Hersomgård gods
  • Hessel gods
  • Holmgård gods
  • Hostrup gods
  • Jungetgård gods
  • Karmark gods
  • Kås gods
  • Keldgård gods
  • Kjærgårdsholm gods
  • Korsøgård gods
  • Krabbesholm gods
  • Kærgårdsholm gods
  • Kærsholm gods
  • Lerkenfeldt gods
  • Lynderupgård gods
  • Mads Rahbeks gods i Hjoptarp Nørgård
  • Marsvinlund gods
  • Niels Foersoms gods i Nørbæk
  • Nørgård gods
  • Ormstrup gods
  • Palstrup gods
  • Randrup gods
  • Restrup gods
  • Roslev præstegods
  • Sejlgård gods
  • Skavngård gods
  • Skern gods
  • Skivehus gods
  • Spøttrup gods
  • Stougård gods
  • Stårupgård gods
  • Søbymølle gods
  • Sødal gods
  • Søren Testrups gods
  • Tårupgård godsTjele gods
  • Ulstrup gods
  • Vester Kejlstrup gods
  • Vester Velling præstegods
  • Vesterris gods
  • Viborg bispegods
  • Viborg hospital gods
  • Viborg konrektorats gods
  • Viborg stiftprovstis gods
  • Vinderslevgård gods
  • Vindumovergård gods
  • Viskumgård gods
  • Ørslevkloster gods
  • Østergård gods