To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Vestre Toten Parish, Oppland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Vestre Toten, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Vestre Toten Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Akershus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1687: Akershus,
1687-1689: Gudbrandsdalen og Hedemarken, 1689-1757: Akershus,
1757-1781: Oppland,
1781-1919: Kristian
Fylke 1919-Present Oppland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Vestre Toten
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Vestre Toten
Fogderi Toten
Sorenskriveri Toten, Vardal og Biri
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Vestre Toten clerical district contains parish registers for Ås (Aas) parish with Raufoss chapel in Vestre Toten clerical district. Also included the parishes Kolbu and Eina until 1915, see also Kolbu clerical district. Belonged to the combined Toten clerical district until 1825.

For earlier records see Østre Toten clerical district. Records at the Family History Library] begin in 1695.

Also available as digital images from The National Archives of Norway.

Toten: 1695-1828
Vestre Toten: 1825-1970
Vestre Toten / Eina: 1890-1915
Vestre Toten / Kolbu: 1825-1911
Toten / Ås: 1695-1828
Kolbu: 1907-1966
Kolbu / Eina: 1907-1966
Kolbu / Kolbu: 1912-1966

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Census Hadeland prosti Toten (Østre og Vestre) clerical district Toten (Vik) fjering Alfestad fjering Hof fjering Kolbu fjering. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122967 Item 4 and online at Digitalarkivet as scanned images and as a database.
  • 1666 Census An extraction of the 1666 census for Toten (Vestre and Østre) in Oppland county. It lists farm name, male names only, age and status. It is a printed book at the Family History Library948.24 X2m.
  • 1801 Census The 1801 census for Toten (Vestre and Østre) clerical districts which includes Vestre Toten, Ås, Kolbu, Eina, Østre Toten, Hof, and Balke parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122993 Item 1 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1801-telling for 0528 Totens
  • 1875 Census Vestre Toten clerical district includes Vestre Toten, Ås, Kolbu and Eina parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Films 273194-273197; a farm name index is found on Film 273273.
  • 1900 Census Vestre Toten clerical district includes Vestre Toten, Ås, Kolbu and Eina parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Films 273878-273884 and online at Digitalarkivet as 1900-telling

for 0529 Vestre Toten]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Toten, Vardal and Biri judicial district
*1657-1841 Family History Library
*1659-1802 Digitalarkivet

Toten judicial district
*1828-1903 Digitalarkivet

Hadeland, Ringerike and Toten deanery
*1716-1744 Digitalarkivet

Toten and Valdres deanery
*1737-1810 Digitalarkivet

Card index to probates of Toten, Vardal of Biri, 1657-1841