Vest-Agder County, Norway Genealogy
|Norway Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Vest-Agder ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Vest-Agder is a county in Norway, bordering Rogaland to the west and Aust-Agder to the east. In 2002 there were 157,851 inhabitants, which is 3.4% of the total population in Norway. The county administration is in Kristiansand.
It is the southernmost county in Norway, extending inland from the North Sea and its arm, the Skagerrak. Most of the habitation lies along the coast, including the towns Kristiansand, Mandal, Flekkefjord, and Farsund. Some 31 fjords are located there. Shipping, commerce and recreation are the main industries. As the Gulf Stream touches the coast of Vest-Agder, it is also called "the Norwegian Riviera".
- 1 Family History Resources
- 2 Government Offices and Sites
- 3 Regions
- 4 Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Vest-Agder County
- 5 Church Records/Civil Registration
- 6 Censuses
- 7 Farm Books
- 8 Land Records
- 9 Military Records
- 10 Passenger Lists
- 11 Probate Records
- 12 Probate Jurisdictions
- 13 Probate Jurisdiction Map
- 14 Taxation
Family History Resources[edit | edit source]
Government Offices and Sites[edit | edit source]
Regions[edit | edit source]
Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Vest-Agder County[edit | edit source]
Church Records/Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- These are the most important records you will use, and a majority of your research will be found in them. All civil registration was kept by the church parishes until 2012.
- Digitalarkivet: Digitized parish registers of Vest Agder
- Norway Indexed parish register transcriptions
- The Family History Library has Vest Agder parish registers up to about 1920. These can be viewed at the library or at a Family Histor Center near you.
- By clicking on the parish links above, you may find direct links to all the records for that parish.
- You do not have to be fluent in Norwegian. These records use a very limited, specialized vocabulary that is easy to learn. For help reading and interpreting theses records, see Norwegian Genealogical Word List, Norway Handwriting, and Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lessons 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and 3: Handwritten Records
- Parish Register Headings for Norway: This pdf gives the translation of headings for the records in different time periods. When a record is written with labeled columns it is much easier to search. Much of the material you read in each column will just be names and dates, since the meaning of those names (child, parents, godparents, minister) only has to be read once, in the column heading.
- For more detail on the contents of these records and how to use them, see Norway Church Records and Norway Civil Registration.
Censuses[edit | edit source]
- Mandal prosti, Prestemanntall 15, 1664 - 1666
- Lista prosti, Prestemanntall 16, 1664 - 1666
- Råbyggelag fogderi, Fogdemanntall 8, 1664 - 1665
- Mandal fogderi, Fogdemanntall 9, 1664 - 1666
- Lista fogderi, Fogdemanntall 10, 1664
- 1801 Census
- 1865 Census
- 1875 Census Partial
- Norway Census, 1875 FamilySearch database
- 1885 Census (Cities only)
- 1891 Census (scanned)
- 1900 Census
- 1910 Census
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Passenger Lists[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- Digitised probate records for Vest-Agder county
- 1640-1903 - Norway, Probate Index Cards, 1640-1903 at FamilySearch — index
Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Probate Jurisdiction Map[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Return to Norway Page