Vernon Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Vernon Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Vernon Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 30, 1871|
|Address||215 S. 4th Street|
Leesville, LA 71446
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Vernon Parish Courthouse
- 3 Parish Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 African American
- 6.2 Bible Records
- 6.3 Biographies
- 6.4 Cemeteries
- 6.5 Census
- 6.6 Church
- 6.7 Court
- 6.8 Land
- 6.9 Local Histories
- 6.10 Maps
- 6.11 Military
- 6.12 Newspapers
- 6.13 Obituaries
- 6.14 Probate
- 6.15 Schools
- 6.16 Taxation
- 6.17 Vital Records
- 7 Societies and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Mount Vernon. The County has Leesville as its seat and the County was created March 30, 1871. The County is located in the west central area of the state.
Vernon Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Vernon Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Vernon Parish Police Jury
PO Box 1548
(The parish does not have its own website.)
History[edit | edit source]
- Named for Mount Vernon
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Vernon Parish Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Vernon Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
- Vernon Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Vernon Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- Vernon Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Vernon Parish Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Vernon Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Vernon Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
- Military Records, Vernon Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Military History Online
- Military Stories of Vernon Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- 1883 - List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883, Vernon Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 - Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- World War I Heroes of Vernon Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel, Vernon Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
- Vernon Parish Newspaper Clippings (USGenWeb Archives)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Vernon Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Vernon Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- Vernon Parish Wills (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1756-1984 - Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry — index and images $
Schools[edit | edit source]
- Vernon Parish Schools (USGenWeb Archives)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- Vernon Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1880 - Mortality Schedule, Vernon Parish (Genealogy Trails)
- Vernon Parish Death Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Vernon Historical & Genealogical Society
PO Box 275
1401 Nolan Trace
Leesville, LA 71446
- Central Louisiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 12206
Alexandria, LA 71315-2206
- Louisiana Historical Society
- Louisiana Historical Association
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Vernon Parish (LAGenWeb)
- Vernon Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- Vernon Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Vernon Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Vernon Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Vernon Parish, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vernon_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vernon Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Vernon Parish, Louisiana p 293 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Vernon Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vernon_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 8 January 2020.