Vernon County, Wisconsin Genealogy
Guide to Vernon County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Vernon County, Wisconsin|
Location in the state of Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Address|| Vernon County Courthouse|
400 Courthouse Square Street
Viroqua, WI 54665
Vernon County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Voting Registers
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Vernon County, Wisconsin Record Dates
Vernon County Courthouse
400 Courthouse Square Street
Viroqua, WI 54665
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records;
Register in Probate has probate records 
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.|
- Tombstone Photograph Pages, Vernon County USGenWeb Archives
- In the town of Forest is the Mount Tabor Cemetery. Even though the cemetery is listed under the town of Forest, Wisconsin, google maps places the cemetery in Hillsboro, Wisconsin. A common surname in this cemetery is Cox.
- 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
- 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
- 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
- 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
- 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Church History and Records
- List of Vernon County Churches WIGenWeb project
- Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Vernon County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- Vernon County's Ethnic Heritage WIGenWeb project
- Early Residents of Vernon County, Wisconsin (A-M) USGenWeb Archives
- Early Residents of Vernon County, Wisconsin (N-Z) USGenWeb Archives
- Pioneer Families WIGenWeb project
- Pioneers in 1892 WIGenWeb project
- Vernon County Pioneers WIGenWeb project
Land and Property
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames A-B USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames C-D USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames E-G USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames H USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames I-K USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames L-M USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames N-O USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames P-R USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames S USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database: Vernon County - Surnames T-Z USGenWeb Archives
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Vernon County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military History and Records
Civil War service men from Vernon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Vernon County.
- - 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company H
- - 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- - 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- - 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company B
- - 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company H, with men from the town of Forest, which is found in Fond du Lac County, Richland County, St. Croix County or Vernon County
World War II
- Vernon County WI Army Enlistees AALGAARD - GARROW USGenWeb Archives
- Vernon County WI Army Enlistees GEARY - LUNDE USGenWeb Archives
- Vernon County WI Army Enlistees MACAULAY - SATHER USGenWeb Archives
- Vernon County WI Army Enlistees SCHALDACH - ZUBE USGenWeb Archives
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Vernon County Newspapers WIGenWeb project
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Hillsboro Area Genealogical Society
Hillsboro Area Historical Society
Log Cabin Heritage Society
Vernon County Historical Society
Westby Area Historical Society
Westby Area Historical Society
- The Vernon County Historical Society (VCHS) is the officially recognized county organization for the preservation of Vernon County's historical heritage. A genealogical class is held on the 2nd Thursday of the month. Check the online schedule for date and time.
- The Westby Area Historical Society (WAHS) meets on the first Monday of each month at 1:30 p.m. at the Thoreson House. Winter meetings are held at the Halvorson Apartments.
The first settlers arrived in Vernon County, Wisconsin in the 1840s, and many of their descendants are still in the area. Others have carried their heritage to the ends of the country and beyond. Our goal is to collect and preserve their stories, family artifacts and other memorabilia, and to educate future generations in the heritage of this community.
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Vernon County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Vernon County WIGenWeb project
- Vernon County Archives WIGenWeb Archives Project
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Vernon, Wisconsin
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).