Vermont Directories

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Vermont Wiki Topics
Vermont flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Vermont Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Online Resources[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.

For Vermont, directories have been published for various cities and counties since the mid 1800s, though they may not exist for every year. Some directories focus on the businesses or occupations of an area, while others include heads of households and landowners.

Resources with Vermont Directories[edit | edit source]

Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]

The University of Vermont has a good collection of city and county directories.

The New England Historic Genealogical Society microfilmed their entire collection of Vermont directories. This collection is also available at libraries that provide access to HeritageQuest.

Public libraries often have city directories for their areas. College and university libraries often have larger collections of city directories. For lists of these libraries with contact information, see PublicLibraries.com and SearchBug.com

Directories Online[edit | edit source]

Ancestry.com ($) has Vermont directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.

The Family History Library[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Vermont including:

Rutland

1903-1935 Family History Library film 2310046-2310050

1930 Family History Library book 974.37 E4m

Montpelier

1904-1921 Family History Library film 2310044-2310045

A series of directories to businesses:

Vermont (State) Directories. Woodridge, Connecticut: Research Publications, 1990–94. (On 20 Family History Library fiche 6044609–15.) These directories for the years 1849 and 1855–1860 include the names of businessmen, officials, clergymen, merchants, and doctors and are listed by town and then alphabetically by name. These are microfiche of originals published by various publishers.

The Family History Library has compact discs that incorporate recent telephone directories for most of the United States. These directories are not available at Family History Centers, but may be used at the Family History Library. Current telephone directories can also be found on the Internet, and may assist in finding living relatives.

To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

VERMONT, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
VERMONT, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • US City Directories This website identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.