Ventura County, California Genealogy
Guide to Ventura County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Ventura County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||March 22, 1872|
|Address||Ventura County Courthouse|
800 S Victoria Avenue
Ventura, CA 93009
Ventura County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Populated Places
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Bible Records
- 6.2 Biography
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church History and Records
- 6.6 Court Records
- 6.7 Crime and Criminals
- 6.8 Directories
- 6.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 6.10 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 6.11 Gazetteers
- 6.12 Genealogy
- 6.13 History
- 6.14 Land and Property
- 6.15 Maps
- 6.16 Migration
- 6.17 Military History and Records
- 6.18 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 6.19 Newspapers
- 6.20 Obituaries
- 6.21 Periodicals
- 6.22 Probate Records
- 6.23 Repositories
- 6.24 Societies
- 6.25 Taxation
- 6.26 Vital Records
- 6.27 Voting Registers
- 7 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Ventura County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk Recorder has birth, marriage and
death from 1873 and land records from 1850
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate
and court records from 1873 Some land went
to Kern & Los Angeles Counties in boundary change
Historical Facts [edit | edit source]
Mission San Buenaventura, one of the original 21 Roman Catholic missions in Alta California was founded in what is now downtown Ventura city in 1782 although it had a long rocky history including fires, earthquakes, tsunami and pirates, among other difficulties. The mission fathers kept the original vital records.
The costal plains and inland valleys are mostly devoted to agriculture even today but the costal mountains also cover a considerable part of the county. El Camino Real, the original roadway connecting the early missions, crosses the county. In the late 1800s the railroads came and in the 1900s US-101 followed essentially the Camino Real route heading north to Santa Barbara. Settlements mainly grew up along these routes.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Records Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
- Ventura County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Ventura County Biographies from the Golden Nugget Library (CAGenWeb Project)
- Index to Biographical Sketches from the Ventura County Genealogical Society (CAGenWeb Project)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Ventura County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Ventura County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
- Ventura County Census Records (CAGenWeb Project)
- Ventura County censuses from 1860-1900 (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
- 1864-1985 - California, Church Records, 1864-1985 at FamilySearch — index
- Ventura Congregational Church Baptisms to 1900, Ventura
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Guardianship record index, A-L Surnames, M-Z Surnames (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Miscellaneous County Directories (scroll down to "City Directories")
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1907-1956 - California, passenger and crew lists at various ports, 1907-1956 at FamilySearch — index and images
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Germans[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Ventura County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
- Victims of the St. Francis Dam Disaster, 1928 (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1873 - 1917 - Index to Grantors
- 1873 - 1917 - Index to Grantees
- Spanish and Mexican Land Grants in Ventura County
- Ventura County Federal Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1974 - present - Index to Deeds
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
- 1929-1954 - California, Pioneer Migration Index, Compiled 1906-1935 at FamilySearch — index
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
- Veterans of Various Wars buried in Nordoff Cemetery, Ojai (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Ventura County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ventura County, California Genealogy:
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 1883 - Ventura County – List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1886 - Civil War Veterans Rosters, G.A.R. Posts, Ventura County (USGenWeb Archives)
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 - California, Geographical and Name Index of Californians who served in WWI, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index of Men from Ventura County who served in WWI (June 1919) (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Index of Ventura County World War II Army Enlistments (USGenWeb Archives)
- Ventura County, World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (USGenWeb Archives)
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Vietnam Casualties from Ventura County (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Declaration of Intent Book 1 (1873-1879) and Book 3 (1880-1906)
- Declarations of Intent Book 7 (March 1907 through November 1911)
- Certificates of Citizenship 1873-1903
- Naturalization Book 8 1907-1914
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- California Digital Newspaper Collection at UCR Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research
- Ojai Valley News 1890s-1983
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ventura County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Index to over 80,000 Ventura County Obituaries (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
- Index to Ventura County Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Ventura County Obituary Sources (CAGenWeb Project)
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Ventura - Probate records.
- Wills & Probate Records (Ventura County Genealogical Society Local Records page) Scroll down to Wills and Probate Records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
- Scandinavian Center. Scandinavian American Cultural and Historical Foundation at California Lutheran University. Large oral history recordings collection; many early works about Scandinavian churches in Midwest United States. See library catalog at CLU.
- Ventura County Museum of History and Art The museum is currently closed for renovation, though a temporary exhibit space and gift shop are open on California St. The Librarian is available to answer question by phone. Once the museum is reopened the Library is an excellent research resource.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk and Recorder
County Recorder's Office
Hall of Admin., Main Plaza
800 S. Victoria Ave.
Ventura, CA 93009-1260
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Introduction to Family History Centers
- Camarillo California Family History Center
- Fillmore California Family History Center
- Newbury Park California Family History Center
- Ojai California Family History Center
- Oxnard California 2nd Family History Center
- Simi Valley California Family History Center
- Thousand Oaks California Family History Center
- Ventura California Family History Center
Societies[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
The County Recorder maintains records from 1873. Prior to that the Santa Barbara Recorder has the records. Ventura County Recorder fees: $14 to search and/or copy birth records.
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
The County Recorder maintains records from 1873. Prior to that the Santa Barbara Recorder has the records. Ventura County Recorder fees: $12 to search and/or copy marriage records.
- 1800 - 2007 - California, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
The County Recorder maintains records from 1873. Prior to that the Santa Barbara Recorder has the records. Ventura County Recorder fees: $14 to search and/or copy of death records.
- 1776 - 2000 - California Deaths and Burials, 1776-2000 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1872 - 1941 - Ventura County Death Records Index, 1872-1908; Coroner's Inquest Records, 1873-1941 - Scroll down to Death Records. (Ventura County Genealogical Society)
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
Voting Registers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Conejo Valley Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 4977
West Lake, CA 91359-1977
Jewish Genealogical Society of Conejo Valley and Ventura County
6052 Hackers Lane
Agura Hills, CA 91301
2531 Aztec Court
Moorpark Historical Society
PO Box 662
Simi Valley Historical Society
137 Strathearn Place
Simi Valley, CA 93065
Ventura County Genealogical Society
PO Box 24608
Ventura, CA 93002
Ventura County Historical Society
100 East Main Street
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Ventura County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Ventura County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Ventura County, California Genealogy Trails
- Ventura County CA Genealogy
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ventura County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ventura County, California. Page 88At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Ventura County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/ventura/ 05/09/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Ventura County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ventura_County,_California 05/09/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Ventura County, California," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ventura_County,_California, accessed 27 September 2019.