To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Veøy Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Veøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Veøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Veø
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Veø
Fogderi Romsdal
Sorenskriveri Romsdal
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Veøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Veøy with Sekken chapel, Holm, Rødven and Vågstranda. Included parishes Vestnes and Tresfjord until 1846. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1721-1927.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Veøy: 1721-1818, 1829-1877

Veøy / Holm: 1905-1932

Veøy / Rødven: 1818-1846, 1867-1917

Veøy / Tresfjord (Sylte): 1818-1856

Veøy / Vestnes: 1818-1847

Veøy / Veøy: 1818-1845, 1878-1906

Veøy / Vågstranda: 1870-1927

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Veøy clerical district was taken by the local civil authorities and includes the parishes ofVeøy, Vestnes, Tresfjord and Holm. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Sogneprestens manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Veøy clerical district was kept by the parish priest and includes the parishes of Veøy, Holm, Vestnes, Bolsøy, Erefjord, Nesset, Vistdal, Kleive, Tresfjord and Molde. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archvies).
  • Manntall 1701: o The 1701census for Veøyclerical district includes the parishes of Veøy, Bolsøy, Molde, Holm, Vestnes and Tresfjord. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Veøy clerical district includes the parishes of Veøy, Holm, Rødven, Vågstranda, Vestnes and Tresfjord. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library; as well as online at the Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Veøy clerical district includes the parishes of Veøy, Holm, Rødven and Vågstranda. This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

24 Aarset 19 Aasen

18 Berg 17 Bergsvik 21 Breiviken

2 Eik

13 Flovik 14 Flovikholmen

6 Gjerdet 26 Grebbestad

3 Hagen 13 Haugen 16 Havnevik 23 Hegnes 28 Horsgaard indre

21 Laberget

22 Malo 3 Melviken 5 Myren

22 Neset 11 Nordnesje

25 Reitan 4 Romdalvik

1 Sekkenes 9 Sekkesæteren 5 Skovik 8 Sollibøen 15 Stensaaen 7 Storvik 21 Sølsnes 12 Sørnesje

10 Vaagsæteren 6 Vedalshaugen 3 Vestad 3 Vestadstranden 20 Veø Præstegaard 11 Væverneset

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1677-1869: Probates are found in Romsdal judicial district.

1700-1816: Clerical probates are found in Romsdal Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names