To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Vauxhaul Bridge Road, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Vauxhaul Bridge Road

Guide to Vauxhaul Bridge Road, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Vauxhaul Bridge Road, Middlesex. The London Inner Ring Road is a 12 miles (19 km) route formed from a number of major roads that encircle the centremost part of London. The ring road forms the boundary of the London congestion charge zone. The roads defining the boundary are Pentonville Road, City Road, Old Street, Great Eastern Street, Commercial Street, Mansell Street, Tower Bridge, Tower Bridge Road, New Kent Road, the Elephant Castle, Kennington Lane, the roads that constitute the Vauxhall one-way system and Vauxhall Bridge, Vauxhall Bridge Road.[1]

Vauxhall Bridge Road runs south-east to north-west from Vauxhall Cross, over the River Thames to Victoria station. The section immediately after Vauxhall Bridge north of the Thames is called Bessborough Gardens and is home to the Embassy of Lithuania.[2]

VAUXHALL BRIDGE ROAD is an ecclesiastical Parish it was created in 1852 and demolished in 1953. It is in the ancient county of Middlesex.[3]

Additional information:

Vauxhall Bridge Road Holy Trinity Westminster, created in the 1852, was one of approximately 10 chapels of ease and district churches which were built within the civil parish boundaries of St Margaret Westminster.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Vauxhaul Bridge Road parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Vauxhaul Bridge Road Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Vaushaul Bridge Road in Westminster St Margaret on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Wikipedia, Adapted. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.
  2. Wikipedia Wikipedia,Adapted. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.
  3. F. Youngs, Local Administrative Units: Southern England Adapted. Dated Accessed: 25 February 2015
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk