To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Vartdal Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Vartdal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Vartdal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Ørsten
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Ørsten
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Søndre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Ørsta clercial district.

See also Ulstein and Volda clerical districts.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Ulstein, Volda and Ørsta clerical districts.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Buset, Johannes, Vartdalsoga, Vartdal : Utgitt av Vartdal bygdeboknemnd, 1964-1985, 1999. A genealogy of the people and their farms and a history of Vartdal in Møre og Romsdal county. FHL 948.35/V4 D2b A farm name index to volume 1 is found in the following link. File:948.35-V4 D2b v1 - VARTDALS 1.pdf

Standal, Ragnar, Mot nye heimland: utvandringa frå Hjørundfjord, Vartdal og Ørsta, Volda : Utvandrarnemnda, 1985. A history of the people who emigrated from Hjørundfjord, Vartdal, and Ørsta in Møre og Romsdal county, Norway to the United States of America. FHL 948.35 W2s A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.35-W2s - MOTNYE.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh farm name index in about 1900 were as follows:

102 Aarset 101 Aarsetbakken 97 Aarskog

90 Barstad 110 Bjørndalen 105 Buset

89 Erdal

86 Festøen 109 Flaaskjær

109 Heggehjelle 87 Hjellene

104 Kvien

92 Lynge

95 Masdal 91 Melbøen 103 Myklebost

107 Remmen 87 Rommestrand 94 Rot 93 Rotenes

108 Saltre 99 Sætre 101 Sætsbakken

96 Vartdal nordre 106 Vartdal søndre 88 Voldene

98 Ødegaarden 100 Øie

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1799-99: Probates are found in Søre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names