To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Van Buren County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Van Buren County, Iowa)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Van Buren County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Van Buren County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Van Buren County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Keosaugua
Courthouse
IowaVanBurenCourthouseHill.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Martin Van Buren. The County has Keosauqua as its seat and the County was created December 7, 1836. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]

Van Buren County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1837 1880 1837 1837 1837 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Martin Van Buren.JPG

The county is named after President Martin Van Buren (1782-1862) who served as United States Vice President at the time of the county's formation.[3]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1836--Van Buren County was created 7 December 1836 from Des Moines County. County seat:  Keosauqua [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Biography[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Davis • Henry • Lee • Jefferson • Wapello • Clark County, Missouri • Scotland County, Missouri

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]

Ward(s) and Branch(s) Records

  • Keosauqua
  • Van Buren
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
  • Records of the Zion Lutheran Church, Douds, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Van Buren County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Van Buren county By American Legion. Van Buren County Post (Iowa). Farmington, Ia. : T. L. Keith, 1940. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Van Buren County inventory of historical places. By Van Buren County Bicentennial Committee. [Keosauqua, Iowa?] : Van Buren County Bicentennial Committee, 1977. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Wapello CountyJefferson CountyHenry CountyDavis CountyLee CountyClark CountyScotland CountyIA VAN BUREN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Van Buren County, Iowa Genealogy for European settlers included:

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Van Buren County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Van Buren County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Van Buren - Probate records.


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Van Buren County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 160
Keosauqua, IA 52565
Website

Van Buren County Historical Society
PO Box 236
Keosauqua, IA 52565
Telephone:319-293-9150
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Van Buren, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Van_Buren_County,_Iowa."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Van Buren County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. "Martin Van Buren," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Van Buren County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Van_Buren_County,_Iowa, accessed 1 Noverber 2019.
  6. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).