To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Valestrand Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Valestrand, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Valestrand Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Sveio
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Sveio
Fogderi Søndhordland
Sorenskriveri Søndhordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Sveio and Stord

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1865 and prior see Stord

1875 and after see Sveio

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Steinsbø, Simon, Gards- og ættesoge for Sveio, Sveio: Sveio Kommune, c1986 - c1987. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Sveio and Valestrand in Hordaland county, Norway. FHL 948.32/S7 D2s Contents: b. 1. Gamle Valestrand kommune -- b. 2. Skulekrinsane Bua, Vikse, Vandaskog og Sveio -- b. 3. Lid skulekrins og gamle Vestre Vikebygd. Farm name indexes to volumes 2 and 3 are found in the following links. File:948.32-S7 D2s v2 - Sveio 2.pdf, File:948.32-S7 D2s v3 - Sevio 3.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

17 Berge 16 Breistig 22 Brokenes

3 Eidsvaag 33 Eikeland nedre 7 Enstavold

30 Fagerland 25 Flaatene

4 Gramshaug

28 Hagaviken 5 Hauge 15 Haugeland 6 Haugsgjerd 1 Hausbu 26 Hope

38 Lien 24 Lier nordre 27 Lindaas

35 Mjaanes

10 Nappen

2 Ravneberg 7 Reset 20 Rinden

27 Skipeviken 10 Spandsteigen 28 Storhaug 23 Strømøen 11 Stølen

13 Traavaas 5 Træet 11 Tveite

14 Ulveraaker

8 Valen nedre 12 Vaslien 32 Vestvik 31 Vestviksætre 19 Vihovde nedre 28 Vike 29 Viken

10 Økland indre 36 Økland ytre 37 Øklandsvaag 21 Ørevik

For longer lists of farms, click below, then click again on the next link.

https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:948.32-S7_D2s_v2_-_Sveio_2.pdf

https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:948.32-S7_D2s_v3_-_Sevio_3.pdf

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names