Værløse Parish, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
København County
Vaerlose

Guide to Værløse, København, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

Værløse is a town in Furesø Municipality in the northwestern outskirts of Copenhagen, Denmark. It is situated on the west side of the Hillerød Motorway, between Farum Lake to the north and Søndersø Lake to the south, and is surrounded by forest on three sides. The original centre of the parish was the village of Kirke Værløse, located to the west. The two communities have now almost merged.
[1]

Værløse Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Helsingør
Pastorat (chapelry) Værløse-Hareskov
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 København
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 København
Herred (district) Smørum
Kommune (municipality) Værløse
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 26
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 11
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 1 / 32
Gods (estate) Ølstykke herreds provsti; Horns herreds provsti; Frederiksdal gods; København amts søndre birk


Place Names

Bringe, Bråderne,

Farum Sø,

Hareskov, Hareskovby, Hareskov Stationsby,

Jonstrup, Jonstrup Statsseminarium, Jonstrup Vang,

Kirke Værløse, Kollekolle, Kollekollegaard, Kulhus, Kulhusene,

Lille Hareskov, Lille Værløse,

Oremosen, Overførster Boligen,

Ryget,

Sandet, Skovlyst, Store Hareskov, Syvstjernen, Søndersø Vandværk, Søndersø Værløse, Værløse Overdrev

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.2, København Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920