Vågan Parish, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Nordland County
Vågan

Guide to Vågan, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Vågan Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

Vågan clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Vågan with Henningsvær chapel and Svolvær. It included Gimsøy until 1899. Vågan and Gimsøy were separated from Lødingen clerical district in 1735. Parish registers (ministerialbøker) earlier than 1866 were lost in a fire in 1873.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1843-1925.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Vågan: 1749, 1843-1883, 1899-1926

Vågan / Gimsøy: 1852-1915

Vågan / Svolvær: 1923-1942

Vågan / Vågan: 1884-1941

Lødingen: 1691-1697, 1714-1863, 1897-1913, 1920-1942

Census Records

  • 1664-1666, 1701 see Lødingen clerical district.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Vågan clerical district includes the parishes of Vågan and Gimsøy and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet.
  • Folketellinga 1865 for [nr.] 1865 Vågan. An index to the 1865 census is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellinga 1875 for Vågan (Nordland). An index to the 1875 census for Vågan clerical district is available on microfiche at the Family History Library..
  • Folketellingen for Norge den 1te desember 1910. The 1910 census for Vågan clerical district include the parishes of Vågan and Svolvær and is available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet and at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

Aamensplasset, 37 Aarstein, Aasen, Aaserød, 11 Altervaag, Apelhaugen, Asgautsplasset, Askelund, Askvoll, Astridvikjo, Aunheim

Baakjen, Barane, Berga, Berga Søre, Berge Lille, Berge Nordre, Berge Østre, Berglund, Bergly, Bergshagen, Bergstad, Birkelund, Bjørgheim, Bjørkhaug, Bjørkli, Bjørklund, 42 Bjørndal, Bjørnebø, Bossheim, Botn, Brakaloen, Bratland, Brattabakka, 39 Brettesnes, Bruhaug, Brustykket, Bråthen, Bærheim, Båsnes, Bøig

30 Digermulen, 3 Djupfjord, Dreierplasset, Dueland

Eikebakken, Eikeland, Eikeurene, Eikjehaugen, Eivindsplasset, Eivindsvikjo, Elvadalen, Elvatun, Elvavad, Eriksplasset, Espeland, Espelandsplasset, Espelid

Fagerheim, 34 Fagerbakken, Favnabø, Fehusstølen, 4 Festvaag, 14 Finneset, Fjellstad, Fjelltun, Flatabø, Flato, Flåto, Fredheim, Frydenlund, Frøndsdal, Frøndsdal Nedre, 23 Følstad

Gamlestølen, Gjerdavik, Gjerdavik Litle, Gjerdavik Store, Gjerdet, Gjerdet Ytre, Gjøaplasset, Gotskalkplasset, 46 Grundstad, 44 Gulbrandsøen, 6 Guldvik

Haga, Hagatun, Hagen, Hagland, Hammaren, Haraldsvang, Hatlelid, 48 Hatvik med Kuholmen, Haug, Haugabrotet, Haugane, Haugateigen, Haugen, 43 Haverdal, 24 Haversand, Heimdal, Heimstrand, Heio, 40 Helland, 19 Helle, 5 Henningsvær, Hesthaug, Hetland, 35 Holand, Holene, Holene Indre, Holene Ytre, 8 Hopen, Hullesteinen, Hålo, Høgekro

13 Kabelvaag, 7 Kalle, 16 Kirkevaag, 24 Kjepsøen, 17 Kongsmarken, Krossen, Kvassanes, Kvile, Kåta Indre, Kataneset, Kirkehaug, Kjelland, Kjellasvik, Kolbeinshaug, Kolbeinsjordo

23 Langstrand, Larsabøen, Larsahagen, Lille Berge, 21 Laupstad, 16 Leirosen, 22 Liland, Litledale, Longhammarplasset, Lundaneset, Lunde, Lunde Øvre, Lundheim, Luratre, 1 Lyngvær

Markastykkje, Mekrevik, Mekrevikjo, Moberg, 29 Mollgavlen, Myrane, Myro, Mæland, Måle, 3 Mølnosen

Nathoug, Naustflåto, Nausthaugen, Nedrebø, Nera-Lunde, Nera-Viland, Neset, Nesflaten, Nesheim, Nesodden, Noaplasset, Nora-Berge, Nora-Vaka, Nore-Vågen, Norheim, Notahaugen, Nybø, Nyheim, Nyland

Perajordo, 15 Præstskeen, 32 Pundsletten, Pådlaplasset

Rabbane, Rabben, Raunehaugen, 26 Reknes, Rotten, 27 Rørhopen, 2 Rørvik

40 Saarnøen, Sande, 45 Sandøen, 5 Sauøen, 40 Silsandøen, Sjostølen, Sjostølen Nedre, Sjostølen Øvre, 40 Skjoldvær, Sjurajordo, Sjøstrand, Skien, 47 Skraaven, Skrogly, 28 Slaatholmen, Slettebø, 12 Smedvik, Smoje, Solbakken, Solhaug, Solheim, Solstad, Solstrand, Soltun, Solvik, 22 Steinraet, 36 Storfjeld, 11 Storvaagen, Striaplasset, Stykket, Styvo, Svalejordo, Svingen, 18 Svolvær, Sørhaug, Stavanes, Stavnes, Støkkje, Støkkjeplasset, Stølen, Stølheim

Teigaplasset, Teigen, Tongjen, Toppen, Torahagen, Torbjørnsplasset, Torpet, Tre, Treet, Treplasset, Tunghaugsplasset

38 Ulvaag, Ulvanes, Urebøen, Uro, Utsikten

Vaka, Vaka Sore, Vaka Øvre, Vakalio, Vakaplasset, Vakasjo, 31 Valen, Vangsnes, Varhaug, 33 Vatnvaag, 20 Vestpollen, 41 Vikan, Viland, Viland Nera, Viland Øvre, Vonheim, Vågen, Vågen Nore, Vågen Søre, Vågslio, Vågsneset, Vågstreet, Vågstræet, Våtteplasset

25 Øihelle, 28 Øihellehavn, Ørlandshagen, 9 Ørsnes, 10 Ørsvaag, Øvrabø, Øvretun,

Source: Haugland, Anders, Bygdebok for Ølen, v. 2 (1986, Ølen Bygdeboknemnd), Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Probate Records

1673-1879: Probates are found in Lofoten og Versterålen judicial district.

Historical Society

Vågan Historielag

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names