Säby Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Säby Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History
(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)| Säby Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift | Västerås |
| Pastorat | -1916 Säby, 1917-1961 Kolbäck and Säby |
| Län | 1634-1651 Strömsholm (del av Livgedinget), 1652-1660 Västmanland, 1661-1718 Strömsholm (del av Livgedinget), 1719- Västmanland |
| Landskap | Västmanland |
| Härad | Snevringe |
| Tingslag | -1970 Snevringe härad |
| Domsaga | -1718 Strömsholms län, 1719-1795 Siende, Tuhundra, Åkerbo and Snevringe, 1796-1928 Siende, Tuhundra and Snevringe, från 1850-talet benämnd Västmanlands södra, 1929-1970 Västmanlands västra, 1971- Köping |
| Fögderi | 1720-1870 Strömsholm, 1870- Västerås |
| Kommun | 1863-1951 Säby, 1952-1970 Kolbäck, 1971- Hallstahammar |
| Militär indelning | Vestmanlands Regemente: Vesterås Kompani Västmanlands Regemente: Västerås kompani |
| NAD Ref Code | SE/ULA/11505 |
Place Names
Boda Lilla, Boda Lilla ägor, Boda Stora, Borgby, Borgby ägor
Fattigstugan
Grippeby
Håskesta, Håskesta Boställe, Håskesta Komministerboställe, Håskesta ägor,Hällby, Hällby ägor
Kaplansgården
Lilla Boda, Lilla Boda ägor, Lilla Åskebro, Löpdal, Löpdal ägor
Mölntorp, Mölntorp kvarn, Prästgården, Prästgården ägor
Stora Boda, Säby Postgård, Säby by ägor, Sörgården
Timmersta, Timmersta ägor
Ulvsta, Ulvsta ägor, Utnäs
Vallby
Åskebro, Åskebro Lilla, Åskebro ägor
Övernäs, Övernäs ägor
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
Collections
Census Records
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Church Records
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- FamilySearch Historical Records.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR ($).
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.
Military Records
Related Sources
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
References
Säby, Husförshörslängd 1840-1850, Ortregister
Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Säby Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/
