Västerstad Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Västerstad parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Malmöhus County
Västerstad


Guide to Västerstad Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Västerstad Church

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västerstad Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.
Landskap Skåne
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


The link below will show some of the church/parish history (written in Swedish/Svenska) and photos and current contacts for the parish:

https://www.svenskakyrkan.se/hoerby/vasterstads-kyrka

Previous spellings for the parish include Westerstad.

Place Names

Amalietorp, Askeröd

Farborret

Gummastorp

Hus, Högås

Klockarebostället, Kulla

Prästgård, Påarp

Sersvig, Soldattorp, Stenhuset

Västerstad, Västerstad Torp, Västra Wedåkra

Östra Vedåkra


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References 

Västerstad Parish 1844-1852 AI;26, Husförhörslängd. No ortregister.