Västanfors Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Västanfors parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Västmanland County
Västanfors Parish


Guide to Västanfors Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Västanfors Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1810 Norberg and Västanfors, 1811-1961 Västanfors, 1962- Västanfors and Västervåla
Län 1634- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Gamla Norbergs bergslag
Tingslag -1899 Gamla Norbergs Bergslag, 1900-1928 Gamla Norberg and Vagnsbro, 1929-1970 Gamla Norberg
Domsaga -1857 Gamla Norberg, Norrbo, Vagnsbro and Skinnskatteberg, 1858-1928 Västmanlands norra, 1929-1973 Västmanlands mellersta, 1974- Sala
Fögderi 1720-1946 Bergslag, 1946- Fagersta
Kommun 1863-1943 Västanfors, 1944-1970 Fagersta stad, 1971- Fagersta
Militär indelning Vestmanlands Regemente:
Bergs Kompani
Västmanlands Regemente:
Bergslag (Bergs) kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11708


Place Names

Aspbenning, Aspbenning Nergården, Aspbenning Uppgården

Bastmora, Bastmora Backgården, Bastmora Sörgården, Bondtorpet, Brandbo

Dammen

Eriksberg

Fagersta, Fattighuset, Flobo, Flobo, Flobo Lilla, Flyten, Fäktbyn,

Gokärra

Hedkärra, Hedkärra Jönsbacken, Hyppenbenning, Hyttbacken, Högby

Jävebo

Klingbo, Kolarbyn, Kulan, Kärrbo

Lilla Flobo, Lilla Meling, Lilla Västanfors, Lindbo

Medling, Medling Lilla, Moren, Moren Backgården, Moren Bengtsgården, Moren Jönsgården, Morsjön Norra, Morsjön Södra, Mortorpet,

Norra Morsjön, Norrby, Nyby

Onsjö

Prästgården,

Semla, Skeppmora, Skrikbo, Smedsbo, Stenhammarö, Strömen, Stöberget, Sundbo, Sundbo Backstugan, Sveberget, Södra Morsjön

Trehörningen

Uddnäs

Vall, Västanfors, Västanfors Lilla

Åvestbo, Åvestbo Backgården, Åvestbo Källgården, Åvestbo Nedra Gatgården, Åvestbo Nergården, Åvestbo Nygården, Åvestbo Uppgården, Åvestbo Östra Gatgården

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Västanfors, Husförhörslängd 1826-1835, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Västanfors Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/