Ny Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Ny Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References:
Ny parish in western Värmlands län (county) is part of historical Jösse härad (district) and is included in the modern Arvika kommun (municipality). With the municipal reform of 1862 Ny parish became responsible for only ecclesiastical affairs and Ny landskommun (rural municipality) responsible for civil matters. In 1952, Ny landskommun was merged into Älgå landskommun and, since 1971, it is included in Arvika kommun.
The parish had 834 inhabitants in 2000 with some of the populated area Åmotfors included. It is a wooded area with a number of small lakes.
(Use caution, other parishes have similar names including one in Värmlands.)
|Ny Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy|
|Militär indelning||add here|
Beatelund, Berg, Bergsjöåas, Björkenäs, Brevik Västra, Brevik Östra, Brobacken
Fiskevik krono, Fiskevik skatte, Flåtbråten
Grea, Gräsmossen, Gräsmyren, Gästgivaregården Ottebol, Gästgivaregården Strand
Kleven, Kroppstad, Kroppstadsbråten Västra, Kyrkebol, Käringerud
Lyckan, Läppetan, Lövnäset
Mosstorpet, Myre, Myren
Norserud, Nyckelmyren, Nytorpet under Tostebol, Nytorpet under Vagge, Nytorpet under Västra Brevik
Olsbyn frälse, Olsbyn skatte, Ottebol, Ottebol Gästgivaregård
Samängen, Sjöbotten, Skattebol, Skogsdalen, Smoga, Sten. Stjälpet, Stommen, Strand, Strand Gästgivaregård, Strandbråten, Svensbråten, Svensbråten Östra, Sättra
Tanderud, Tjärntorpet under Berg, Tostebol
Vagge, Vippentorp, Västra Brevik, Västra Kroppstadsbråten, Västra Svensbråten
Åsen under Norserud, Åsen under Västra Brevik
Ängen under Björknäs, Ängen under Västra Brevik
Öna, Östra Brevik, Östra Kroppstadsbråten, Östra Svensbråten
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
Arvika landssocken, Eda,Gunnarskog, Köla, Älgå
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Ny Husförhörslängd 1840-1845 Ortregister