Utrecht, The Netherlands Genealogy
|Utrecht Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Utrecht Province ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Background Information
- 3 Jurisdictions
- 4 Research Methods
- 5 Civil Registration (Burgelijke Stand)
- 6 Church Records (DTB)
- 7 Population Registers (Bevolkingregisters)
- 8 Reading the Records
- 9 Tips for Finding Your Ancestor in the Records
- 10 Websites
The Bishopric of Utrecht was established in 695 when Saint Willibrord was consecrated bishop of the Frisians at Rome by Pope Sergius I. With the consent of the Frankish ruler, Pippin of Herstal, he settled in an old Roman fort in Utrecht. After Willibrord's death the diocese suffered greatly from the incursions of the Vikings.
In 1527, the principality became an integral part of the Habsburg dominions, which already included most other Dutch provinces. The chapters transferred their right of electing the bishop to Charles V and his government, a measure to which Pope Clement VII gave his consent, under political pressure after the Sack of Rome. However, the Habsburg rule did not last long, because Utrecjt became a part of the Dutch Republic. In World War II, Utrecht was held by German forces until the general capitulation of the Germans in the Netherlands on May 5, 1945.
- Utrecht is a province in the middle of the Netherlands. It borders on Gelderland in the east, Gelderland and Zuid-Holland in the south, Zuid-Holland and Noord-Holland in the west and Noord-Holland and Flevoland in the north.
- For Geographical and Historical information see: Utrecht
- The capital city of Utrecht is Utrecht. See: Utrecht (City)
- Other larger towns are:
- There were no particular naming traditions in Utrecht that researchers have to take into account. People used regular last names long before the introduction of the civil registration.
- People in Utrecht were relatively well-to-do so the province wasn’t particularly struck by any of the big emigration waves. There were quite a few entrepreneurs in the province, so there have been people who emigrated to newly founded colonies or tradeposts all over the world. In the middle of the 19th century, Utrecht members of the seceder church settled in Pella, Iowa.
Most of your genealogical research for Utrecht will be in three main record types: civil registration, church records and population registers. This article will teach you methods for locating and searching these three record groups.
Civil Registration (Burgelijke Stand)
- Civil registration records are government records of births, marriages, and deaths. Access to Netherlands Civil Registration records online is excellent. There is usually no longer any need to use microfilms from the Family History Library, or to visit archives. Nearly all records have survived, since two copies were made of each record and stored separately.
- Dates: Civil registration began 1 March 1811 while under French rule. Law allows birth records up to 1915, marriage records up to 1940 and death records up to 1965 to be released to the public as of 2016. Archives can be up to 10 years behind putting them online.
- Births(Geboorten): Child’s name, birth date and place; parents’ names, ages, residence, and occupation: witnesses’ name, ages, occupations, residences; yearly indexes.
- Marriages(Huwelijken): Bride and groom names, ages, residences, occupations, birth places; date and place of the marriage; parents' names, residences, occupations, whether living; the names of the witnesses, their ages, occupations, residence, and relationship to the bride or groom, if any; and officer who performed ceremony, former spouses, yearly indexes.
- Marriage supplements(Huwelijksbijlagen): Copies of birth or baptism records of bride and groom; military conscription record of groom, containing name, birthdate, and parents, and sometimes a physical description; copies of death or burial records of deceased former spouses; copies of death or burial records of parents, if the marrying person is under 30 (and sometimes if they are over 30); (pre-1850), if both parents are dead, death or burial records of grandparents.
- Death registers(Overlijdens): Deceased's name, age, death date and place, occupation, birth place; name of spouse(s), parents’ names; names of the witnesses, their ages, occupations, residence, and relationship if any.
- To learn more about The Netherlands Civil Registration, read Netherlands Civil Registration.
Online Digital Records for Civil Registration
Digital copies of civil registration can be searched online:
- HetUtrechtsArchief is the provincial archive for Utrecht and has images and indexes.
- WieWasWie, basic version free, index with some images.
- Netherlands, Utrecht Province, Civil Registration, 1811-1950, free, partial index with complete images
- Zoekakten.nl is a Dutch website that helps in locating Dutch images on FamilySearch.org. It breaks down films into smaller segments by year and record type for easier browsing. See Zoekakten instructions.
Church Records (DTB)
- Church records are the main sources for births, marriages and deaths in the Netherlands between about 1550 and 1811.They recorded baptisms (or circumcisions), marriages and burials and sometimes confirmations, membership records and conversions.
- In the late 1500s Churches began to mandate that registers of baptisms and marriages were kept. Burials were often not recorded at first. Records do not always exist for the period before 1700.
- Records kept by Catholics are written in Latin. Most other records will be written in Dutch.
- The main types of Church records are
- Baptisms(Dopen): Child’s name,baptism date, sometimes birth date, parents’ names and residence: witnesses’ name.
- Marriages(Trouwen): Bride and groom names, sometimes ages, residences and/or birthplace, date and place of the marriage; parents' names,; the names of the witnesses and relationship to the bride or groom, if any, former spouses.
- Burials(Begraven): Deceased's name, death date and place, name of spouse(s),
- Church records continued to be kept after the introduction of civil registration, but after 1811 they were mostly superseded by Civil Registration.
- To learn more about church records, see Netherlands Church Records.
Online Digital Records for Church Records
- HetUtrechtsArchief has images and indexes for most records.
- Netherlands, Utrecht Province, Church Records, 1542-1955, free, browseable images.Best browsed via Zoekakten
- Van Papier Naar Digitaal has images, indexes and transcriptions.
Population Registers (Bevolkingregisters)
See Netherlands Population for further information.
From 1850 onwards the Government has recorded the address and basic details such as name, birthdate, birthplace, occupation and religion of all residents of the Netherlands.
- From 1850-1940 these are on paper and public.
- From 1940-1994 these are on paper and can be viewed on request (see below)
- From 1994-present these are in digital format and can be viewed on request (see below)
Accessing Population Registers
- From 1850-1940
- Geneaknowhow. Click on "Internet" under Utrecht in the left sidebar.
- FamilySearch collection Netherlands Census and Population Registers, 1574-1940
- HetUtrechtsArchief has indexed population registers for the city Utrecht 1900-1912.
- HetUtrechtsArchief has information about accessing other population registers.
- From 1940 onwards. The records are only public if the person has been deceased for about two years. You must contact the Central Bureau for Genealogy, fill in an application form and pay the fee as explained on their website. Email it to firstname.lastname@example.org or post to
- CBG/Center for Family History
- Section Personcart and Personlist
- PO Box 11755
- 2502 AT, The Hague
- The Netherlands
- CBG/Center for Family History
If the record is found, it will also contain details about the main person's parents, spouse and children. Some information may be blanked out in the case of people deceased relatively recently.
Reading the Records
- Records are most commonly written in Dutch or Latin. You do not have to be fluent these languages to read your documents! Genealogical records usually contain a limited vocabulary. Use this Dutch Genealogical Word List to translate the important points in the document.
- Also, the handwriting can be slightly different, so you will want to watch these lessons, as needed, depending on the pre-dominant language in the region your ancestors lived:
Tips for Finding Your Ancestor in the Records
- Effective use of civil registration and church records includes the following strategies:
- Identify your ancestor by finding his birth or christening record.
- When you find an ancestor’s birth or baptismal record, search for the births of siblings.
- Search for the parents’ marriage record. Typically, the marriage took place one or two years before the oldest child was born.
- Search for the parents' birth records. On the average, people married in their early 20s, so subtact 25 or so years from the marriage date for a starting year to search for the parents' birth records.
- Search the death registers for all family members.
- If you do not find earlier generations in the parish registers, search neighboring parishes.
- Marriages were usually performed and recorded where the bride lived.
- Do not overlook the importance of death records. Death records are especially helpful because they may provide important information about a person’s birth, spouse, and parents. Civil death records often exist for individuals for whom there are no birth or marriage records.
- Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Miscellaneous Records at FamilySearch — index
- Utrecht Archive, the archive of the city Utrecht as well as the province Utrecht. There is a tab for genealogical research and if one has question there is also a contact link.
- WieWasWie, marriage records of the civil registration.