Usworth, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Usworth, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Chester le Street|
|Registration District||Chester le Street|
|Parish registers: 1835|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1837|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
USWORTH, GREAT and LITTLE, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Washington, union of Chester-le-Street, E division of Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham, 5 miles SE from Gateshead.
Holy Trinity Usworth was entirely rebuilt about 1831, and again enlarged in 1883. Usworth was an ancient chapelry in the parish of Washington. The parish register dates from 1603, but the date of the first recorded rector is as early as 1278, his name being William de Clifford.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Usworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Usworth Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Usworth (see Washington) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.