User:Sjkennedy/sandbox-classes1

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Slovakia Gotoarrow.png Sjkennedy/sandbox-classes1

Guide to Bratislava Region (Bratislavský kraj), Slovakia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Slovakia Wiki Topics
Bratislava Danube.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Slovakia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources




Getting started with Slovak research

Welcome to the Bratislava Region (Bratislavský kraj) page!

FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Bratislava Region (Bratislavský kraj) Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Slovak records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. The Slovakia Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!


Bratislava region is the smallest region in Slovakia, bordering with Austria and Hungary. It features the capital city - Bratislava, the Little Carpathians and wonderful lowlands of vineyards.[1]. The Bratislava Region lies in south-western margin of Slovakia and consists of five Bratislava City districts, three rural districts (Pezinok, Malacky and Senec) and 73 municipalities. With some 300 inhabitants per square kilometre the Bratislava region is the most densely populated part of Slovakia.[2]


Researching in Bratislava Region

The records for genealogical research are available at the state archive "Statny Archiv in Bratislava, Slovakia. Ministerstvo vnutraSR, Prininova 2,81272 Bratislava 1, Križkova 7 There are a few big registers and archives in Slovakia: parish registers, obituaries, birth record registers or the national Slovak archives, which are situated in bigger cities like Bratislava the capital. If searching for an aristocratic member you can reach up to the 13th century. All documents after 1895 are stored at the Town Halls. Just relatives or a person entrusted can have a look at them. Roman Catholic church records (births/marriages/deaths): 1686-1899 .

There are 13,908,374 results for Slovakia in Historical Records at Familysearch.org [3]

Slovakia
Stairs at Bratislava castle hill
469px-Stairs at Bratislava castle hill.jpg
ISO 3166 Code: SK SVK 703
Timezone: CET(UTC+1)
Summer(DST): CEST(UTC+2)
Postal code: 8XX XX
Phone prefix: 421 2
Website: Bratislava
Map of Bratislava Region, Slovakia
Flag of Bratislava


Online Records

http://www.slovak-republic.org/genealogy/

http://search.ancestry.com/Places/Europe/Slovakia/Default.aspx

http://www.slovak-republic.org/genealogy/

http://www.iabsi.com/gen/public/table_of_contents.htm


References