Steps to work on the Localities and Topics Google Doc[edit | edit source]
First Steps[edit | edit source]
Select 10 pages you want to work on[edit | edit source]
- Place your name under Team member
- Go to the page in the Wiki, use the Google Doc to evaluate what to do on the Wiki page.
- Look at each of the columns, evaluate and if needed add needed items to the Wiki page and place the answer either the page already has the correct item(yes), does not have it(no), or you put it in (added). Some exceptions see below
- Moderator(Name or None),
- Most Active Contributor Search History for the last person who really added to the page. if there is someone On Hold for now (Send Email) Example:Email to Contributor below
- Needed for this page Example:red links,
- Red or Black links:place the number of links in red or black
- On Hold for Now Add a Help Wanted on the Page or Place "Needed" How to do This is the Button
- Adopter Name or none
- Links to Sub-sheet do this only if you create a sub sheet and then all the information will be on it. (On hold)
- Bread crumbs (Y or N) or added Example of breadcrumbs United States Missouri(Name of the page) Breadcrumb Trails
- On Hold Link to sub-categories, How: copy the following and place just above the help are of the page.
Copy this out of Wikitext
- Categories corrected (put Corrected after you correct it or OK if all right) Help:Categorization All countries should be on the Category:Countries and on one of the Category:Regions pages
- On Hold for Now SEO Example: Guide to American Samoa family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. Just change name of the country. See FamilySearch Wiki:Search engine optimization project
- Basic Research Look to see if there are links to pages that cover Vital records (Y or N) if you have the time Search for this page name and add all the links to FamilySearch Historical Records to a section titled Example: American Samoa#Wiki_Pages
- Sidebar(Y or N),Topic box on the left side of the page. All Done
Examples of Email to Contributor below[edit | edit source]
We want to thank you for the contributions you have made to the FamilySearch Wiki and to the _______________ page. We would like to encourage you in your contributions to the Wiki. And ask you if you would like to become a Moderator or Adopter of this page. The following pages will give you a better understanding of what it means to be a moderator, (FamilySearch_Wiki:Moderator) or an Adopter, Help:Adopt-a-page.
Please send you response to .
FamilySearch Wiki Support Team