To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox TN 93

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to White County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Sparta
Organized: September 11, 1806
Parent County(s): Smith[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cumberland  • DeKalb  • Putnam  • Van Buren  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
White county tennessee courthouse.jpg
Location Map
White County Tennessee.png
Adoption
TGW 45x45.jpg This user is a member of TNGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John White (1751-1846), a Revolutionary War soldier, surveyor, and frontiersman who was the first known white settler of the area. The County is located in the central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

White County Courthouse
1 East Brockman Way
Sparta,TN 38583
White County CourthousePhone: 931-836-3205
White County Clerk Phone: 931-836-3712

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[3] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[4] (male)

White County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1838 1881 1806 1806 1806 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost census: 1810
  • Marriage records: Records start in 1809, but are incomplete.
  • Probate records: Records start in 1806, but are incomplete.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1806--White County was established 11 September 1806 from Smith County. Early records may be found under Smith County.
  • County seat: Sparta[7]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Bakers Crossroads Doyle Macedonia Shady Grove
Bethesda Drop (hist.) Methodist (hist.) Sparta
Black Oak Eastland Mobra Spring Hill
Board Valley Elijah (hist.) Mount Pisgah Stringtown
Bon Air Fanchers Mills Old Zion Taylors
Cassville Findlay Oliveville (hist.) Walling
Center Point Foot (hist.) Peeled Chestnut Yankeetown
Clarktown Grace (hist.) Perilla (hist.) Yateston
Clifty Gum Spring Pollard (hist.) Young (hist.)
Darkey Springs Heads (hist.) Quebeck
De Rossett Joppa Ravenscroft
Dodson Lost Creek River Hill

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information
Middle Tennessee county.

The county is named after "John White, Revolutionary War soldier and the first European-American settler in the county."[8]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes White County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of White County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 4,028
1820 8,701 116.0%
1830 9,967 14.6%
1840 10,747 7.8%
1850 11,444 6.5%
1860 9,381 −18.0%
1870 9,375 −0.1%
1880 11,176 19.2%
1890 12,348 10.5%
1900 14,157 14.7%
1910 15,420 8.9%
1920 15,701 1.8%
1930 15,543 −1.0%
1940 15,983 2.8%
1950 16,204 1.4%
1960 15,577 −3.9%
1970 17,088 9.7%
1980 19,567 14.5%
1990 20,090 2.7%
2000 23,102 15.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of White County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See White County, Tennessee census assignments, including links to transcribed files and scanned images of census microfilm. The USGenWeb Census Project®.

1810 Lost, but a substitute is available:

  • Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. Google Books

1810-1891

1820

  • Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
  • Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. IncludesAfrican Americans in this county.

1820 Manufactures

The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. Aonline index, provided by Lineages,will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Covers this county.

1870

  • McComb, Joyce B. White County, Tennessee, 1870 Federal Census. Lexington, South Carolina: J.B. McComb, 1990. FHL 976.866 X2m 1870

1880

  • Sistler, Barbara and Byron H. Sistler. 1880 Census White County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler and Associates, 1999. FHL 976.866 X2s 1880

1891 Male Voters

1920

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1809-1975 - Tennessee, White County Records, 1809-1975 at FamilySearch. This is a collection of records from White County including marriages, 1950-1975; chancery court records 1825-1937, and circuit court records, 1809-1900. The county court records include primarily probate records. The chancery and circuit court records include disputed estate and property records, some wills, and divorces.
  • Free online index to the court records transcribed by the WPA, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells a set of five White County CDs, which include a digitized version of these court records, and a variety of other local records. The court records that are included are:
  • County Court Minute Book 1806-1811
  • County Court Minute Book 1812-1814
  • County Court Minute Book, Parts 1 & II 1814-1817
  • Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes 1817-1819
  • Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes 1819-1820
  • Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes 1820
  • Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes, Vol. 6, Part I 1820-1823
  • Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes, Parts I, II & III 1824-1827
  • Court of Pleas & Quarter Sessions, Minutes, Parts I & II 1835-1841

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. [9] January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

  • Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. IncludesAfrican Americans in this county.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

DNA

  • DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following White County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
  • Brown - Descendant of Dempsey Brown, b. 1836 White County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 25 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 103773). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 10), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.
  • Brown - Multiple descendants of Richard Brown, b. 1785 North Carolina, resident of White County, Tennessee 1800s-1828, d. 1850 Polk County, Missouri. Y-DNA 25 and 37 Marker Tests, FTDNA (Kits 5292, 5233). Genetic signatures available online (labeled Group No. 6), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. A match has been found.

General

  • Heritage of White County, 1806-1999. (Sparta, Tenn.): White County History Book Committee, 1999. FHL 976.866 H2h

Bibliography

  • Allen - Bailey, Chris. H. Eliakim Potter's Bible. Microfilmed 1995. FHL 1750789 Item 98. 1 page.
  • Austin - Boyd, Larry C. and Austin Family Association of Lost Creek. Austin Family Association of Lost Creek Annual Reunion. Newsletter. McMinnville, Tenn.: Austin Family Association of Lost Creek, 1965-1991. FHL 929.27305 Au76b
  • Austin - Sampson, Douglas H. Some Inter-related Families of Livingston County, Missouri. Boulder, Colo.: D.H. Sampson, 1985. FHL 929.273 Au76s
  • Austin - Moore, Mabel Joyce Austin. John Austin, Sr. Family 1779-1999. Sparta, Tenn.: M.J.A. Moore, 1999. digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 Au76mm.
  • Boyd - Boyd, R. Vernon. The Boyds of Sequatchie Valley, Tn. Typescript, microfilmed in 1993. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 1750733 Item 37.
  • Cameron - Cameron, James Griffith. The Story of our Cameron, Freeman, Griffith, Masterson and Allied Families in America. Bellevue, Wash.: J.G. Cameron, 1983. FHL 929.273 C145cj
  • Charles - Smith, Sybil Roberts. The Charles Branch of My Sunshine Tree. Grove, Okla.: S.R. Smith, 1983. FHL 929.273 C38s
  • Connelly - Wallace, Anita Margie Bailey. Connelly History: with Branches of Platte, McConnell, Pennington, Evans, Simpson, Gallagher. Tulsa, Oklahoma: A.M.B. Wallace, 1973. FHL 929.273 B151wa
  • Cope - Barry, Fredrick M. and Geneva Barry. The Family of Isaac Denton Cantrell and Sindrilla Cope. Franklin, N.C.: Genealogical Pub. Service, 1993. FHL 929.273 C169bf
  • Crain - Crain, Solon P. and Marguerite Starr Crain. Ten Sons of Oliver. Midland, Texas: S.P. & M.S. Crain, 1972. FHL 929.273 C846cs
  • Creech - Heinemann, Martha. Creeches Who were Legal Heirs of Thomas Robertson of White County, Tennessee. Typescript. Microfilmed in 2000. FHL 1425281 Item 6.
  • Defreese - Gart, Jeanne Brooks. John Defreese and His Descendants. Mitchellville, Md.: J.B. Gart, 2002. FHL 929.273 D362g
  • Derossett - Daniels, Jeanette K.B. The Derossett Family and Allied Lines. Salt Lake City, Utah?: Know Your Heritage Organization, (1990). FHL 929.273 D447dj
  • Dibrell - McMahan, Mary Louise and Marian Carter. Descendants of James Crockett Dibrell and Margaret Virginia Mooney Dibrell. McKinney, Texas: M.L. McMahan & M. Carter, 1998. FHL 929.273 D546m
  • England - Austin-Raichart, Deb and Jan Fodrocy. Descendants of Aaron England. Sparta, Tenn.: D. Austin-Raichart, (199?). FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 En34a.
  • Evett - Baer, Frank L. The McNew Family of Washington Co., Va. Typescript, National Library, DAR. Microfilmed 1971. FHL 874716 Item 4.
  • Fergus - Fergus-O'Brien, Adele. Fergus, Loos, Snyder Histories: Photocopies of Original Publications by Other Authors. n.p.: A. Fergus-O'Brien, 1945, 1959, 1964. FHL 929.273 F38fo
  • Gillentine - Miller, Lynne D. Texas Ballards. Lincolnton, N.C.: L.D. Miller, 2000. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 B212mtx.
  • Glenn - Glenn, Wayne. The Glenn Family of Lancaster County, Pa., Orange County, N.C., Caswell County, N.C., Lincoln County, N.C., White County, Tenn., Marshall County, Tenn., and Christian County, Mo.: Related Families Include Ramsay, Simpson, Reynolds, Wilson, Simmons, Clark, Grigg, Phillips, Beard, Collins. Nixa, Missouri: W. Glenn, 1985. FHL 929.273 G487gw.
  • Goad - Worland, Wanda June Goad. Goad: Including Descendants of James Isham Goad, 1842-1989 and Related Families. Hemet, Calif.: W. Worland, 1992. FHL 929.273 G534w
  • Hinesly - Nicolaides, Ray. Hinesly Family History. Typescript, microfilmed 1978. FHL 1036741 Item 19.
  • Howard - Landis, Carolynn Butler. The Ancestors & Dependants [i.e. Descendants] of William Thomas Howard and Missouri Isabelle Hampton of Hamilton County, Illinois: and Allied Families of Brown, Burch, Buttery, Crouse, Hamilton, Harrington, Melton & Others. Fort Jones, Calif.: C.B. Landis, 1984. FHL 929.273 A1 no. 4381
  • Jackson - Jackson, Michael Stephen. A Jackson Family History: Putnam County, Tennessee and Beyond... Freeburg, Ill.: M.S. Jackson, 1993. FHL 929.273 J132jm
  • Johnson - England, Ruth Helon Johnson. Johnson and Related Families. Sparta, Tenn.: R.H.J. England, 1988. FHL 929.273 J633er
  • Ketcherside - Ketcherside Family Association et al. Ketcherside Newsletter. Maryville, Tenn.: N.E.K. Howard, 1990-present. FHL 929.27305 K494k
  • Ketcherside - Ketchersid, Burrell Monroe, Harry Lee Howard and Nancy Ellen Ketchersid Howard. Thomas Ketcherside and His Descendants, 1745-1995. Maryville, Tenn.: Ketchersid Family History Project, 1995. FHL 929.273 K494k
  • McGowen - Love, Terry M. The Descendants of William McGowen of Tyrrell County, North Carolina [sic]. Lakeville, Minn.: T.M. Love, 1998. FHL 929.273 M177L
  • McPeak - McPeak, Hugh Ray and Carroll Leroy. The William McPeak Family History [S.I.:s.n.], 1967. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 M24.
  • Martin - Boyd, Harold L. and Shirley R. Martin Boyd. Footprints to the Past: Boyd--Martin Genealogy, 1415-1993. Clay Center, Kansas: H.L. & S.M. Boyd, (1993). FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 B692bh.
  • Ogle - Reagan, Donald B. Smoky Mountain Clans. 3 vols. Knoxville, Tenn.: D.B. Reagan, 1978-1983. FHL 929.273R22b 1978. The Ogle family is discussed in Vol. 1.
  • Parker - Parker, Gladys Harris, Anna Beth Heffernan and Pearl Scott Rattan. Robert Arthur Parker, a Texas Pioneer: Ancestors, Descendants, Related Families. Irving, Texas: A. B. Heffernan, 1985. FHL 929.273 P228p
  • Pennington - Barnes, Josephine Auner and Irma Beghtol Kate. Genealogies of Kate--Beghtol--Vance--Boone--Pennington Families. West Des Moines, Iowa: J.A. Barnes, 1986. FHL 929.273 K156b
  • Pennington - Jones, Marvin T. Some Descendants of Ephraim Pennington of Rowan County, North Carolina: Including those of Pennington's Point, McDonough County, Illinois. Wyndmere, North Dakota: M.T. Jones, 1994. FHL 929.273 P384j
  • Plumlee - Houp, J. Randall. The Descendants of Isaac & Margaret (Bradshaw) Plumlee, White County, Tennessee. Alma, Ark.: J. Randall Houp, 1991. FHL 929.273 P735h.
  • Porter - Keenan, Gene and Frances. Eight Generations of Porters: from 1750 in Tennessee to 1922 in California. Sparks, Nevada: E. and F. Keenan, 1992? FamilySearch Digital Library; Family History Library.
  • Robertson - Robertson, Frank Allen. William Crockett Robertson, Ancestors - Descendants & Related Families. Houston, Texas: F.A. Robertson, 1984. FHL 929.273 R549rf
  • Robertson - Heinemann, Martha. Thomas Robertson of Gum Springs, White County, Tennessee. Microfilmed in 1992. FHL 1697742 Item 32.
  • Robertson - Heinemann, Martha. John Robertson. Typescript. Microfilmed in 1992. FHL 1697742 Item 27.
  • Robertson - Heinemann, Martha. Creeches Who were Legal Heirs of Thomas Robertson of White County, Tennessee. Typescript. Microfilmed in 2000. FHL 1425281 Item 6.
  • Scarbrough - Scarbrough, John Frederick. The Scarbrough's and Houlette's of the Cumberlands. Murfreesboro, Tenn.: J.F. Scarbrough, (1994?). FHL 929.273 Sca72sj
  • Stewart - Stewart, Larimore. Dempsey Stewart of South Carolina and Tennessee. Sparta, Tenn.: L. Stewart, (198-?). FHL 929.273 St49st
  • Walling - Davis, Betty Smith. Our Walling Family: Texans, Tennesseans and Others. Humble, Texas: B.S. Davis, 1991. FHL 929.273 W158d.
  • Webb - Webb, Charles C. The Webb Family of White County, Tennessee. 195-?. FHL 929.273 W381wc.
  • Whitaker - Swafford, William Bryson and Jeannette Lain Swafford. The Swafford--Whitaker Connection. Fort Smith, Ark.: W.B. & J.L. Swafford, 199-. FHL 929.273 Sw12sw
  • Whiteley - Graves, Francis Marie. Isaac Whiteley Descendants. MSS., Carroll County Historical Society, Berryville, Ark. Microfilmed 1981. FHL 1035368 Item 3

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The organization Strictly By Name providesonline indexes to early White County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

DeKalb CountyWarren CountyVan Buren CountyBledsoe CountyCumberland CountyPutnam CountyTN WHITE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following White County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1961):122-124. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes White County pensioners (p. 123).

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in White County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in White County:

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from White County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
  • 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The White County Court and County Clerk have responsibility for the probate records.Many records are held by the White County Archives (click here for more information.)

Online Records


Free online index to the probate records transcribed by the WPA, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells a set of five White County CDs, which include a digitized version of these probate records, and a variety of other local records. The probate records that are included are:

  • Inventories and Will Book A 1810-1828
  • Inventories and Will Book B (not complete) 1831-1840

The organization Strictly By Name providesonline indexes to early White County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1841-1855 - Hickerson, Elma Lee. Tennessee Records of White County Wills, 1841-1855. 2 volumes. Nashville, Tennessee: Filmed by the Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1968. Volume 1 is an indexed, volume is not. (FHL film 464153-464154 Item 1.)
  • 1810-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.
  • 1810-1828 - Strictly By Name (see above).

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

The original White County tax records are held at the County Courthouse. Julia Cauble Smith's "White County Tax Districts -- Overview," hosted online by TNGenWeb, will help researchers understand how the county was divided into tax districts.

Images of White County's original tax records have been reproduced multiple times:

  • 1811-1815 - White County Tax Book 1811-1815. TSLA Reel #123, Nashville, Tenn.
  • 1811-1876 - Haston, Wayne. 1811-1876 Tax Lists: White County, Tennessee. CD-ROM. Purchase at The Heritage of Daniel Haston. Free transcripts of Militia/Civil District for Caney Fork-Cane Creek Area 1811-1839, taken from this resource, are available online.
  • 1811-1965 - White County Tax Books 1811-1865. FHL 507969 28 microfilm reels
  • 1816-1829 - White County Tax Books 1816-1829. FHL 464154 Items 2-4
  • 1832-1836 - White County Tax Books 1832-1836. FHL 464155 Item 1
  • 1955-1966- Federal tax liens for White County, Tennessee, 1955-1966. Nashville: TSLA, 1967. FHL 507938 Item 2

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1811-1815 - Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. Google Books. Cites White County Tax Book, 1811-1815 as a source.
  • 1811 - Hughes, T.P.. "White County, Tennessee 1811 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):106-118. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see White.
  • 1811-1815 - Historical Records Survey.Tax books, 1811-1815, White County, Tennesssee. Nashville: TSLA, Typescript. FHL 24870
  • 1811, 1825 Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. (Includes 1811 and 1825 tax lists.)
  • 1811-1826 - Select abstracts of White County, Tennessee Tax Lists 1811-1826, available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. (Source: FHL US/CAN Film 507969.)
  • 1812 "White County, Tennessee: Census of Taxable Inhabitants, 1 Jan. 1812," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 12, No. 4 ():189-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1812 Gant, Wanda. "White County, TN 1812 Tax List," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives. Source: TSLA Roll# 123 Book 1812.
  • 1813 "White County Sheriff Reports Some Unpaid 1813 Taxes," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 46, No. 3 (Fall 1999):39. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
  • 1813 Sheriffs Report, Unpaid Taxes, 1813, Past Finder, Vol. 6, No. 5 (Sep. 1999).
  • 1814 - "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3 (Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. (Includes White County.)
  • 1820-1821 - Road Docket, 1820/21, Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 4 (Winter 1991).
  • 1826 "A List Containing the Names and Number of Free Male Inhabitants of the Age of Twenty-one Years and Upwards. Resident Citizens of White County, Tennessee, on the 1st Day of January 1826," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 9, No. 2 ():42-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1836 "White County, Tennessee Civil District Boundaries 1836," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 9, No. 3 ():80-; Vol. 10, No. 1 ():7-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1844 "White County, Tennessee: District 9 Taxpayers 1844," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 12, No. 2 ():92-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1848 "White County, Tennessee: Delinquent Taxpayers 1848," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 13, No. 2 ():77-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1851 "White County, Tennessee: Eligible Voters as of 1 January 1851," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 17, No. 2 ():68-; Vol. 17, No. 3 ():101-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1854 "White County, Tennessee: A List of Some White County, TN Voters, 1854," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 10, No. 3 ():83-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1860s - "White County, Tennessee: Civil War Tax List," The Upper Cumberland Researcher, Vol. 3, No. 5 ():3-. For access, see Periodicals.
  • 1862 Assessments, 1862, Past Finder, Vol. 6, No. 4 (Jul. 1999).
  • 1862 Persons Released from Paying Taxes, 1862, The Upper Cumberland Genealogical Association Bulletin, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1987). For access, see Periodicals.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

The original White County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. Marriages were not officially recorded in White County until 1809. However, the early marriage records are incomplete until 1838 when a law was passed mandating the practice.[11] The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:

State Marriage Records

The following White County marriage records are microfilmed:

  • 1838-1994 - Available at the TSLA. 1838-1910 can be interlibrary loaned.
  • 1838-1967 - Available at the Family History Library. Each volume is indexed. FHL 507886

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1809-1859 - Mitchell, Mary Fancher. White County, Tennessee Oldest Marriage Book, 1809-1859. [S.l.]: Doliante, J. Sharon Johnson, c1977. Available at FHL 976.866 V25m Digital version available at World Vital Records ($).
  • 1809-1870 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1988. FHL 976.8 V2sb v. 2 Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage or marriage bond dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.
  • 1838-1933 - White County Marriage Index 1838-1933 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[12]
  • 1838-1860 - Marriage Records, 1838-1860, White County, Tennessee. Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1940. Typescript. FHL 24865 Item 1
  • 1859-1881 - Rhinehart, Margaret. White County Marriage Records: Part of book 1, January 11, 1859 to June 11, 1881. Spencer, Tennessee: Van Buren County Historical Society, 1985. FHL 976.866 V2w
  • 1921-1957 - Austin-Raichart, Deb, Jan Fodrocy and Mary W. Holland. White County, Tennessee, Marriages March 1921-August 1957. Sparta, Tennessee: D.Austin-Raichart, 199-?. FHL 976.866 V28a
  • 1812-1843 - Marriage Records. [13]
  • 1809-1850 - Marriage Records: Early–1850. [14]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

White County Public Library
11 North Church St.
Sparta, TN 38583
931-836-3613
Website

Genealogical resources include regional history books, family history books, and White County records on microfilm.
A computer provides Internet access and the full texts of obituaries from The Expositor in recent years, with an index for each year.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

White County Genealogical-Historical Society
1 E. Bockman Way, Room 304 Courthouse
Sparta, TN 38583-2035
Website

Publication: PastFinder. Quarterly since 1994. Table of Contents online.
The society collects materialto establish or illustrate the genealogies and history of the area: its exploration, settlement, development, and activities in peace and in war; it's progress in population, wealth, education, arts, science, agriculture, manufacturing, trade and transportation. It collects printed histories, genealogies, biographies, descriptions, gazetteers, directories, newspapers, pamphlets, catalogs, circulars, handbills, programs, and posters; manuscript material such as letters, diaries, journals, memoranda, reminiscences, rosters, service records, account books, charts, surveys, and field books; and museum material such as pictures, photographs, paintings, portraits, scenes, aboriginal relics, and material objects illustrative of life, conditions, events, and activities of the past and the present.

Bon Air Mountain Historical Society
9479 Crossville Hwy
Sparta, TN 38583
931-935-6463
website

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
Website

The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which White County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "White, Tennessee" in wikipedia accessed 09 Jan 2019
  3. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  4. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Robert M. McBride, Tennessee County Data (Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee States Library and Archives, 1966), 49.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at Media:Igitennessees.pdf.
  11. Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL 973 B2ng v. 81 1993
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at PDF.
  13. Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1994. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 2.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.
  14. Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1992. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 229.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.