To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox TN 90

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Washington County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Jonesborough
Organized: November 15, 1777
Parent County(s): Washington district[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carter  • Greene  • Hawkins  • Sullivan  • Unicoi
See County Maps
Courthouse
Washington County , Tennessee Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Location of Washington County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
TGW 45x45.jpg This user is a member of TNGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for George Washington. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Washington County Courthouse
100 East Main Street P O Box 219
Jonesborough, TN 37659
Washington County Courthouse Phone: 423-753-1736
Washington County Clerk Phone: 423-753-4716
Washington County Register of Deeds Phone: 423-753-1644
Friends of the Archive Facebook
County Clerk has birth records 1908-1912 and 1925-1938, marriage records from 1787
and probate records from 1779.
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (female)

Washington County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1787 1908 1778 1778 1778 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1839 Fire damaged courthouse records.[7]
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1777--Washington County was created 15 November 1777 from Washington district.
  • County seat: Jonesborough[8]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Adams Mill Embreeville Kincheloe Mill North Johnson City
Asbury Fairview Kitzmiller (hist.) Oak Grove
Austin Springs Fall Branch Knob Creek Mill Oakland
Barnes Flourville Leesburg Painter Spring
Big Cherokee Gabtown Liberty Philadelphia
Big Sandy Garber Limestone Piney Grove
Boone Gladstone Little Cherokee Pleasant Valley
Boones Creek Glendale Locust Mount Princeton
Bowmantown Graham Mill Luke (hist.) Reeves
Brownsboro (hist.) Gray Matuta (hist.) Roan Hill
Broylesville Greenwood Maucks (hist.) Spurgeon
Buffalo Ridge (hist.) Hacker (hist.) Mayday Stewart Hill
Camp Wildwood Hale Mayflower (hist.) Sulphur Springs
Carnegie Harmony McKinley Taylor Mill
Cherokee Hartmantown Midway Telford
Christie (hist.) Haws Crossroads Mill Brook The Y
Clarkson (hist.) Johnson City Miller Washington College
Conklin Jonesborough Mitchell Springs Watauga Flats
Crouch Crossroad Kansas City Mount Carmel Wheelocktown (hist.)
Dove (hist.) Keebler Crossroads Nanatluqunyi (hist.) Woodlawn
Dry Creek Keys Mill New Victory
Ducktown Keystone Nolichucky (hist.)

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1776 - Settlers in what would eventually become Tennessee successfully petitioned North Carolina to recognize the Washington District. The District included all of modern Tennessee except two small settlements (North-of-Holston, Fincastle (VA) County, and Pendleton, Washington (VA) County) in the far northeast that were considered part of Virginia at the time.
  • 1777 - From the Washington District, North Carolina created Washington County as the western county of North Carolina.[9]
  • 1784 - In August 1784 delegates from Washington and two other western North Carolina counties which had split off from Washington (all now in Tennessee), declared their Independence from North Carolina because of perceived neglect, and misuse by North Carolina’s legislature.
  • 1784 to 1788 - Part of the pioneer Watauga Settlements.
  • 1785 - By May 1785 they had petitioned to be admitted to the United States as the new State of Franklin. The Franklin statehood request was denied.
  • 1789 - Hopes for a State of Franklin faded. North Carolina refused to recognize several counties created by Franklin out of Washington County.[10]
  • 1789 - North Carolina became a state and ceded her westernmost counties to the United States. The ceded counties, including most of Washington County, became the Southwest Territory.
  • 1792 - North Carolina annexed back some land from Washington County that would later become Alleghany (NC), Ashe (NC), and Watauga (NC) counties in North Carolina and attached it to Wilkes (NC) County, North Carolina.[11]
  • 1796 - The remainder of Washington County and the rest of the Southwest Territory became the new State of Tennessee.

Additional Information

President George Washington (1732-1799)
In the 1780s, this county's land fell within the bounds of the State of Franklin

The county was named after George Washington (1732-1799) who became the First President of the United States in 1789.[12]

See also Washington (old) (NC), originally called Washington District, North Carolina, for further information about Washington County, Tennessee.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

  • Watauga Association of Genealogists. Tennessee Bible and Family Records. Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 1996. FHL 976.8 V2wa. Free Lookups Available! Washington County families are the primary focus.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Washington County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Washington County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

  • Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
  • Bennett, Charles M. Washington County, Tennessee Tombstone Inscriptions by Charles M. Bennett and Watauga Association of Genealogist, compiled by Loraine Bennett Rae in 3 volumes. Nashville, TN: TRAECO Printing, 1977.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 5,872
1800 6,379 8.6%
1810 7,740 21.3%
1820 9,557 23.5%
1830 10,995 15.0%
1840 11,751 6.9%
1850 13,861 18.0%
1860 14,829 7.0%
1870 16,317 10.0%
1880 16,181 −0.8%
1890 20,354 25.8%
1900 22,604 11.1%
1910 28,968 28.2%
1920 34,052 17.6%
1930 45,805 34.5%
1940 51,631 12.7%
1950 59,971 16.2%
1960 64,832 8.1%
1970 73,924 14.0%
1980 88,755 20.1%
1990 92,315 4.0%
2000 107,198 16.1%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Washington County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Washington County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®.

1790 Lost Only statistics survive[13], but substitutes are available see Washington, and:

  • Eakle, Arlene. Tennessee Research. 2010. Purchase information at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog. Includes a reconstructed 1790 census, sources: "Contemporary lists–tax lists, militia rolls, land grants and deeds, claims for pre-emption lands, names recorded in diaries and journals. And numerous histories compiled by local historians from records that we have not seen or read ourselves."
  • Jackson, Ronald Vern. Ohio, 1790, Volume Two. North Salt Lake, Utah: Accelerated Indexing Systems, 1986. FHL 977.1 X2o 1790. Includes "Territory Southwest of the River Ohio," i.e. East Tennessee.[14]
  • McGhee, Lucy Kate. Partial Census of 1787 to 1791 of Tennessee as Taken from the North Carolina Land Grants. 3 Parts. Microfilmed in 1990. FHL 1728882 Item 4 and FHL 1683130 Item 3.

1800 A substitute is available, see Washington.

1810 Lost A substitute is available:

  • Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL 976.8 X2s 1810; Google Books.

1810-1891

1820 Lost [15]

1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL 1024517 - FHL 1024518.

Published abstracts:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Covers this county.
  • 1820 Census of Manufactures: Washington County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 8, No. 4 ():247. For availability and an online description, see Washington.

1830

  • Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL 976.8 X2p 1830.
  • Streleski, Nelda. Washington County, Tennessee, 1830 Census. Champaign, Ill.: Decatur Genealogical Society, 1968. FHL 976.897 X2p.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1860

  • Padgett, Hilda Britt. Washington County, Tennessee 1860 Census. n.p.: H.B. Padgett, 2000. FHL 976.897 X2p 1860.

1870

  • Padgett, Hilda Britt. Washington County, Tennessee 1870 Census. n.p.: H.B. Padgett, 1997. FHL 976.897 X2p 1870.

1880

1890 Lost Substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL 976.8 X2r v. 7 1891. Washington County is included in Vol. 7.
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL 976.8 X2s 1890.

1891 Male Voters

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Superior Court

  • Rogers, Pauline and WPA. Washington County, Tennessee, Superior Court Minutes 1791-1804. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, 1999. FHL 976.897 P2r.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. [16] January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding 8 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Washington County. Ancestry $ [17]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Deeds

The original Washington County Deed Books are kept at the County Courthouse. In 1969, TSLA microfilmed Deed Books 1 to 53 (1782-1887) and an Index (1783-1900). FHL copies: FHL 825522 - FHL 825541.

The organization Strictly By Name provides online indexes to early Washington County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  • c1771-1815 - Pruitt, A.B. North Carolina Land Warrants in Tennessee, Valid and Invalid. Whitakers, N.C.: A.B. Pruitt, 2004. FHL 976.89 R2p.
  • 1775-1817 - Rae, Lorraine. Washington County, Tennessee, Deeds (1775-1817). 2 vols. Greenville, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1991. FHL 976.897 R2r v. 1.
  • 1778-1783 - Meier, Oveda. Entry Taker's Report, 1778-1783, Washington County, Tennessee, Sullivan County, Tennessee. Salt Lake City, Utah: O. Meier, 1987. FHL 976.89 R2m.
  • 1779-1866 - Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.). General Index to Deeds, 1779-1866, Washington County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA, Nashville, Tenn. Microfilmed in 1940. FHL 24850 Items 1-2.
  • 1780-1820 - Meier, Oveda. Washington County, Tennessee, Index to Early Land Owners, 1780-1820. Salt Lake City, Utah: O. Meier, 1989. FHL 976.897 R2m index.
  • 1802-1904 - Pruitt, A.B. Washington Co., TN, Land Entries: 1802-1805, 1824-1875, 1879-1904. n.p.: A.B. Pruitt, 2007. FHL 976.897 R2pa.
  • 1803-1899 - Toms, Gary R. and William R. Gann. Widows’ Dowers of Washington County, Tennessee, 1803-1899. Milford, Ohio: Little Miami Pub. Co., 2004. FHL 976.897 P2t.

Local Land Entries Issued by North Carolina

The original Washington County land entries issued by North Carolina are kept at the North Carolina State Archives in Raleigh. On their website, users can bring up a list of land entries issued in Washington County, both before and after its land became a part of the state of Tennessee. Years covered: 1770-1803.

Instructions:

  1. Follow this link to conduct a "Call Number Search" using the MARS Catalog on their site.
  2. Using the pull down window, change "Call Numbers starting" to "A MarsID matching."
  3. Type 12.14.20 (Windows Vista users may need to include a period after the last digit, for example 12.14.20.) and click Search. This is the specific MarsID for Washington County.
  4. Click on the entry that is returned: "Tennessee, Washington County."
  5. In the window that pops up, click Show List of Child Records and a list of Washington County land entries will be produced. Browse to find abstracts of the original records.[18]

N.B. You can also search by name through the Basic Search, but it lacks soundex capabilities.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Cox, Joyce and W. Eugene (eds). History of Washington County, Tennessee. Jonesborough TN: Washington County Historical Assn., 2001.
  • Watauga Association of Genealogists. History of Washington County, Tennessee, 1988. Johnson City TN: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 1988. LC 88-51330.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Carter CountyUnicoi CountyGreene CountyHawkins CountySullivan CountyTN WASHINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • 1777-1985 - Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
  • 1779 Reeves, Charles A. Sullivan & Washington Counties [Tennessee], the County Bounds in 1779. Published 2000. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.

Lusk identified 82 early land grants on the Watauga River and prepared a map showing their locations, along with abstracts of the grants, in:

  • Lusk, Ann. "Early Settlers on the Watauga River," Bulletin of the Watauga Association of Genealogists, Vol. 35, No. 1 (2006):60-71.

Migration[edit | edit source]

Lusk identifies many residents of Augusta (VA) who migrated to pioneer Washington County, Tennessee in:

  • Lusk, Ann. "Some Early Settlers in Washington County, Tennessee," Bulletin of the Watauga Association of Genealogists, Vol. 34, No. 3 (2005):143-145.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following Washington County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional information

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. See Tennessee, Eastern District, Washington County on page 154.
  • Allen, Penelope Johnson. Tennessee Soldiers in the Revolution: A Roster of Soldiers Living During the Revolutionary War in the Counties of Washington and Sullivan. n.p.: Tennessee Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1935. FHL 976.89 M23a.
  • King's Mountain Participants (sel.), Holston Pastfinder, Vol. 20, No. 1 (Sep. 2001).
  • Loyalists, 1778-82 (selected), Greene County Pioneer, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Feb. 1991).
  • Pension Office Names, 1836, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 25, No. 2 (1996).
  • Pension Roll, 1835, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 29, No. 1 (2000).
  • Pensions, 1834, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 23, No. 2 (1994).
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry. Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.
  • Rejected or Suspended Revolutionary War Pensions, June 7, 1832, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 36, No. 1 (2007).
  • Revolutionary & Military Pensioners, Ansearchin' News, Vol. 30, No. 2 (Summer 1983).
  • Revolutionary War Stub Indents Books, 1782, North Carolina Genealogical Society Journal, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1975).
  • Washington County Tennessee Men at Kings Mountain, Holston Pastfinder, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Sep. 1999).

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1961):122-124. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Washington County pensioners 8(3):95, 8(4):122.
  • War of 1812 - Soldiers from Washington County, Tennessee Courtesy:TNGenWeb

Online Records

Indian Wars

  • Service against Chickamaugas, 1790 Claims, Tennessee Ancestors, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Dec. 1989).
  • Certificates of Capt. J. Hadley, 1788, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 24, No. 1 (1995).

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Washington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Washington County:

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Washington County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Washington County click on the following cities or towns:

  • 1891-1907 - Burns, William A. Abstracts of Death and Obituaries Notices Garnered from Herald-Tribune, Washington County. Phoenix, AZ: W.A. Burns, 1967-1973.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Wills

The original Washington County Wills are kept at the County Courthouse. They have been microfilmed twice:

  1. Will Books 1 to 4 (1779-1889). Microfilmed in 1969 by TLSA. FHL copies: FHL 825521; FHL 1012321.
  2. Wills and Index 1779-1889. Microfilmed in 1999 by the Genealogical Society of Utah: FHL 2138815 Items 2-3, FHL 2138830.


The organization Strictly By Name providesonline indexes to early Washington County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1777-1872 - Burgner, Goldene Fillers. Washington County, Tennessee, Wills, 1777-1872. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1983. FHL 976.897 P28w. Free Lookups Available!
  • 1778-1820 - Huffine, Ethel Depew and Ruth Stuart. Washington County, Tennessee, Marriages and Wills. Johnson City, Tenn.: Parrish Print., 1961. FHL 976.897 V2h.
  • 1779-1860 - Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.). Washington County Will Books, 1779-1860; Estate Records, 1779-1860. Typescript, TSLA, Nashville, Tenn. Microfilmed in 1940. FHL 24849, FHL 24852 - FHL 24853.
  • 1779-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's wills. Free Lookups Available!
  • 1779-1889 - Strictly By Name (see above).
  • 1790-1841 - Shell, Vera E. and WPA. Washington County, Tennessee, Settlements of Estates (1790-1841). Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, 1999. FHL 976.897 P2s.
  • 1790-1841 - Lucas, Silas Emmett and Ella Lee Sheffield. Washington County, Tennessee Settlement of Estates: 1790-1841. Greenville, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1999. FHL 976.897 P2L.
  • 1803-1899 - Toms, Gary R. and William R. Gann. Widows’ Dowers of Washington County, Tennessee, 1803-1899. Milford, Ohio: Little Miami Pub. Co., 2004. FHL 976.897 P2t.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

The original Washington County Tax Books (1778-1885) are held at the County Courthouse. TSLA microfilmed these records in 1969. FHL copies: FHL 825545 - FHL 825548.

The 1778 tax records for Washington County contain an accounting of the name of every tithable freeman over 21 years of age, the poll tax, amount of the estate, and the sum to pay.

The original Washington County Record of Land Sales 1911-1914 for Delinquent Taxes were microfilmed by TSLA in 1969. FHL copies: FHL 1012303 Item 2.

The earliest Washington County tax records, through 1850, have been published and indexed:[20]

  • 1778 Taxpayers, 1778,East Tennessee Historical Society Publications. Knoxville TN: 1962. Issues 34 and 35.
  • 1778, 1814, 1819 Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing Company, 1964), FHL 976.8 R4c. Includes 1778, 1814, and 1815 tax lists.
  • 1778, 1787 Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL 976.8 R4cp index. Includes 1778 and 1787 tax lists.
  • 1778-1850 - Rasmussen, Geoffrey D. East Tennessee Tax Records Index. [1778-1850] 3 vols. Westminster, Md.: Heritage Books, 2005. FHL 976.897 R42r v. 1.
  • 1778-1801 - McCown, Mary Hardin, Nancy E. Jones Stickley and Inez E. Burns. Washington County, Tennessee Records, Vol. 1: Washington County Lists of Taxables, 1778-1801; Abstract of Washington County Minutes; Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions, 1778-1801; Lists of Officers of Washington County, 1778-1801; Miscellaneous Records in Washington County. Johnson City, Tenn.: Mary Hardin McCown, 1964. FHL 976.897 N2m.
  • 1787-1799 - Tax Lists, 1787-99, Tennessee Ancestors, Vol. 17, No. 2 (Aug. 2001).
  • 1787-1790 - Taxpayers, 1787-90, Tennessee Ancestors, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Aug. 1989).
  • 1788 East TN Taxpayers, 1788, Tennessee Ancestors, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Apr. 1989).
  • 1790 DeLoach, Javan Michael. "Washington County 1790 List of Taxables," [4 parts] available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives. Source: MSS., Washington County Courthouse.
  • 1798-1852 - List of Taxables, 1798-1852, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 24, No. 1 (1995). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1814-1819 - Historical Records Project. Tax List, 1814-1819, Washington County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA, Nashville, Tenn.; FHL 24853 Item 2.
  • 1814, 1819 Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL 976.8 R4s. Includes 1814 and 1819 tax lists.
  • 1814 Tax List, 1814, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Summer 1973). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1815 Tax List, 1815, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 11, No. 1 (1982). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1815-1819 - Washington County, Tennessee, Lists of Taxables, 1815-1819 (photocopies), in Watauga Association of Genealogists Collection, Accession No. 295, Archives of Appalachia, East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, Tenn.
  • 1816 Tax List, 1816, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 12, No. 1 (1983); Vol. 12, No. 2 (1983). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1817 Tax List, 1817, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 13, No. 1 (1984); Vol. 13, No. 2 (1984). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1818 Tax List, 1818, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 13, No. 2 (1984); Vol. 14 Iss. 1 (1985). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1819 Tax List, 1819, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 14, No. 2 (1985); Vol. 15, No. 1 (Spring 1986). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1830 - Williams, Sherman (Mrs.). "Washington County, Tennessee Tax Lists-1830," Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Summer 1972):63-78. FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w v. 1. For further access, see Periodicals. Source: original manuscripts, Courthouse, Jonesboro, Tenn.
  • 1831-1833 - Washington County, Tennessee, Lists of Taxables, 1831-1833 (photocopies), in Watauga Association of Genealogists Collection, Accession No. 295, Archives of Appalachia, East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, Tenn.
  • 1840 Tax List, 1840, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 4, No. 1 (1975). For further access , see Periodicals.
  • 1850 Tax List, 1850, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 4, No. 2 (1975). For further access, see Periodicals.
  • 1890 "Washington County 1890 Tax List Images," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.
  • 1891 "Washington County 1891 Tax List Images," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online indexes and Records

Book Abstracts and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Johnson City/Watauga Tennessee Family History Center
211 Mayflower Rd.
Johnson City, TN 37601
Phone: 423-926-6152
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Washington County Public Library
200 Sabin Dr.
Jonesborough, TN 37659-1306
Phone 423-753-1800
Fax: 423-753-1802
Website

Home of the Jonesborough Genealogical Society

Johnson City Public Library
100 West Millard St.
Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone: 423-434-4450
E-mail: phoneroom@jspl.net
Website

Genealogical Research: The Special Collections in the "Tennessee Room" contains many books and periodicals relating to local, regional and state history and also holds census and county records.

Charles C. Sherrod Library, East Tennessee State University
P.O. Box 70665
Johnson City, TN 37614
Phone: Information desk 423-439-4307
Website

The Sherrod Library has genealogical information concerning the East Tennessee Region.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Watauga Association of Genealogists
P.O. Box 117
Johnson City, TN 37605-0117
Website

Jonesborough Genealogical Society
c/o Washington County-Jonesborough Library
200 Sabin Dr.
Jonesborough, TN 37659-1306
Facebook
Website

East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay St.
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

For early settlers, Fischer's book is a great place to start searches. She created a comprehensive index to pre-1800 Washington County court, land, marriage, probate, and tax records, see:

  • Fischer, Marjorie Hood. Tennesseans before 1800: Washington County. Galveston, Texas: Frontier Press, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 N22f.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington, Tennessee" in wikipedia accessed 09 Jan 2019
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Voice of Betty Jane Hylton, County Co-coordinator, Washington County, Tennessee TNGenWeb; Editor, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (2010).
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Joyce Cox, and W. Eugene Cox, History of Washington County Tennessee (Jonesborough, Tenn.: Washington County Historical Assoc., 2001), 54.
  10. “State of Franklin” in North Carolina History Project at NC (accessed 27 June 2010).
  11. Arthur L. Fletcher, Ashe County: A History (Jefferson, N.C.: Ashe County Research Assoc., 1963), 33-34.
  12. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  13. Arlene Eakle, "Reconstructing the 1790 Census of Tennessee," Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog, 20 May 2010.
  14. Arlene Eakle, "Territory Southwest of the River Ohio," Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Genealogy Blog, 5 June 2009.
  15. Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: A Compiled List of Residents of the Area Covered in 22 East Tennessee Counties for Which There is (sic) No Census Records Prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964) [FHL 976.8 R4c].
  16. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  17. Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 372-378 (see East Tennessee). FHL US/CAN 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  18. J. Mark Lowe, "The Land Grant Processes of North Carolina and Tennessee," Lecture, Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference, Knoxville, Tenn., August 21, 2010.
  19. Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
  20. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  21. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at Media:Igitennessees.pdf.