To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox TN 62

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Monroe County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Madisonville
Organized: November 13, 1819
Parent County(s): Cherokee Indian Lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Blount  • Cherokee (NC)  • Graham (NC)  • Loudon  • McMinn  • Polk  • Swain (NC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Monroe County, Tennessee Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Location of Monroe County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
TGW 45x45.jpg This user is a member of TNGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for President James Monroe. The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Monroe County Courthouse
103 College St.
Madisonville, TN 37354
Monroe County Courthouse Phone: 423-442-5940
Monroe County Clerk Phone: 423-442-2220
Monroe County Register of Deeds Phone: 423-442-2440

County Clerk has marriage record from 1838,
probate records from 1833 and court record from 1868.
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (female)

Monroe County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1838 1881 1820 1820 1833 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost census: 1820
  • Lack of marriage records: 1819 to 1837
  • Lost probate: 1819 to 1835

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1819--Monroe County was established 13 November 1819 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
  • County seat: Madisonville[8]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Acorn Conasauga Mill Ivy Rural Vale
arden East Sweetwater Jalapa Sandy Lane
Belltown Ellis Mill Kincaid Smithfield
Belltown Mill Epperson Lakeside Stakely Mill
Bethlehem Eve Mills Little River (hist.) Sweetwater
Big Creek Fagin Madisonville Tariffville
Brakebill (hist.) Fairlane McGhee Tellico Plains
Bullet Creek Fort Loudon Mialoquo (hist.) Tennessee (hist.)
Caringer (hist.) Gudger Mountainville (hist.) Tommotley (hist.)
Cataska Halfway Town (hist.) Mount Vernon Toqua
Chestnut Valley Hiwassee College Mount Zion Towee Falls (hist.)
Chestuee Ho (hist.) Northpoint Tuskeegee (hist.)
Chilhowey (hist.) Holly springs Notchy Creek Vonore
Chota (hist.) Hopewell Mill Oak Grove Waucheesi
Christianburg Hopewell Springs Old Sweetwater Wood
Citico (hist.) Howard Rafter
Citico Beach Ipe (hist.) Rockville
Coker Creek Ironsburg Rocky Spring

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

President James Monroe (1758-1831)

Additional Information

East Tennessee county. Established 1819.

The county is named after President James Monroe (1758-1831).[9]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

The Tennessee State Library and Archives at website has digitized a large collection of family bible records. The images show the handwritten entries that provide birth, death, and marriage information. The images are available for download in pdf format. The records are indexed by the principle surnames.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Monroe County Biography Indexes available online at TNGenWeb.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Monroe County.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Monroe County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Monroe County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Monroe TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®.

1810-1891

1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.

The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. A free online index, provided by Lineages, which cites the original document numbers, will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Covers this county.
  • 1820 Census of Manufactures: Monroe County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 5, No. 4 ():180. For availability, see Monroe.

1830

1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

1880

1891 Male Voters

1920

  • Wolfe, Violet Kirkpatrick, Kathleen Miller, Jim Steed, Carolyn Snider, and Vonore Historical Society. 1920 Monroe County, TN Census. 2 vols. Vonore, Tenn.: Vonore Historical Society, 2000. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8883 X29w 1920 v. 1 ff.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.

  • Monroe County Church Records
- FamilySearch Catalog - Monroe County Church Records
  • If the records you need are not in the Family History Library collection, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Monroe County are:
- List of Monroe County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- List of Monroe County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)

In 1936, a helpful guide to early Monroe County church records was published by the Works Project Administration.[10] Use this guide to locate which church records exist and where they were housed in 1936. The Tennessee State Library and Archives has filmed some of these records. To locate which records are available at the TSLA, go to the Genealogical Fact Sheet About Monroe County on the TSLA Web site and scroll down to "selected manuscript material". All filmed church records at the TSLA for Monroe County are listed. Many of these filmed records are also available at the Family History Library.

Transcribed Monroe County church histories and membership lists are available online at TNGenWeb

  • St. Paul's Luthern Church
  • Chestua Baptist Church
  • Hiwassee Baptist Association (including Sweetwater Association)
  • Williamsburg Baptist Church
  • Bethlehem Baptist Church
  • Hickory Grove Church

Baptist

  • 1824-1860 - Pond Creek Baptist Church. Church minutes, 1824-1860. Nashville, Tennessee: Historical Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention, 196-? Manuscript. FHL 984308 Item 2
  • 1853-1972 - Notchey Creek Baptist Church Records. Madisonville, 1853-1972. TSLA Reel #428
  • 1853-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to Notchey Creek Baptist Church Records. Madisonville, 1853-1972.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

  • Monroe County TN, Chancery Court Records- 1832 - 1887 from the Monroe County GenWeb Archives, website.

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

  • Monroe County Funeral Home Records - from the Tennessee State Archives, website.

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Monroe, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 50,000 entries.

  • Monroe County Heritage Book Committee. Monroe County, Tennessee Heritage, 1819-1997: Established 1819, Monroe County, Tennessee. Salem, W.Va.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1997. FHL 976.8883 H2m
  • Vonore Historical Society. Vonore Families: Yesterday and Today. 2 vols. Vonore, Tenn.: Vonore Historical Society, 1996-1997. FHL 976.8883/V1 H2v v. 1

Bibliography

  • Bell - Buland, Geraldine Joy Brown. Silas Bell of Wayne County, Kentucky (1787-186-): Blount and Monroe Counties, Tennessee; Murray County, Georgia; Titus County, Texas [and] Sons and Daughters to Dade and Lawrence Counties, Missouri; Pawnee County, Oklahoma; and Fayette County, Texas: Allied Lines [of] Aley, Byerly, Carter, Hall, Harrell, Loy, Mashburn, Wilson. Sepulpa, Oklahoma: Buland, Geraldine Joy Brown, 1978. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B413f.
  • Bent - See Carson.
  • Blankenship - Blankinship, Leslie C. The Blankenship Family History. New Orleans, La.?: J. Q. Blankinship, 1967. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B611bL; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • Blankensop - See Blankenship.
  • Blankingship - See Blankenship.
  • Boggs - See Carson.
  • Carson - McClung, Quantrille D. Carson-Bent-Boggs Genealogy. Denver: Denver Public Library, 1962. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C239; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • Davis - Shepard, Kelly Rae Wilson. The Descendants of Clem Davis and Rachel Emaline Peak: with an Emphasis on the Descendants of James Ervin Davis and the Connecting Lines of John C. Payne, Thomas C. E. Davis, William Robert Daniell and Henry Lenderman. The Colony, Texas: K. Shepard, 1997. FHL 929.273 D291s
  • Day - Day, James Edward. Descendants of Christopher Day of Bucks County, Pennsylvania. Los Angeles?: J.E. Day, 1958. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D33d; FHL US/CAN Film 978076; digital versions at Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • Dodd - Austin, Kim The Descendants of George Berry Dodd and Martha Lavinna Teffteller S.I. s.n., 1995 FHL book 929.273 D661. Digital version available at FamilySearch Digital Library .
  • Harmon - Banes, Verna Baker. Harmon Family Research: Taken from the Verna Baker Banes Genealogical Collection. MSS., microfilmed 1996. FHL 1598444 Item 4
  • Hart - Hart, Charles Coffin. Joseph Hart and His Descendants. St. Louis, Mo.: R.P. Studley & Co., 1901. FHL 928166 Item 4. Free digital version online.
  • Henderson - Mitchell, Reba Henderson. The Family of Samuel Henderson (1786-1867) of Monroe County, Tennessee: A Genealogical and Historical Record of Samuel Henderson and His Wife, Nancy Blair, Their Twelve Children and Their Descendants to the Present Generation. Manisonville, Tenn.: R.H. Mitchell, 1980. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 3154.
  • Hensley - Schreibman, Laura and Laura Hensley. The Hensleys of Ballplay, Monroe County, Tennessee. Hazel Park, Michigan: L. Schreibman, 199-?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 6391.
  • Jones - Hall, Evelyn Cook and William C. Hall. The Jefferson Thomas Jones Genealogy: Being a History of Jefferson Thomas Jones, Born 14 Aug. 1828 near Madisonville, Monroe Co., Tenn. and Later Living in Park, Greene Co., Ind. and His Descendants of Tennessee, Indiana, Iowa, etc.: Also Allied Families. Nevada, Iowa: E.C. Hall, 1985. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 J718h.
  • Moser - Corder, Lula Lee and Pauline Moser Shook. Moser Family History, Monroe County, Tenn.:
    Descendants of Leonard Moser, c1716-1782
    . 2 vols. Sandpoint, Idaho: P.M. Shook, 1983. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M853cs ff.
  • Moses - Ward, Edith Croft. The Moses Families of Big Creek: The Family Pages of Joshua and Sarah Samples Moses and Related Families, Monroe County, Tennessee. Clinton, Tenn.: E.C. Ward, 1995. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M853w.
  • Peak - Shepard, Kelly Rae Wilson. The Descendants of Clem Davis and Rachel Emaline Peak: with an Emphasis on the Descendants of James Ervin Davis and the Connecting Lines of John C. Payne, Thomas C. E. Davis, William Robert Daniell and Henry Lenderman. The Colony, Texas: K. Shepard, 1997. FHL 929.273 D291s
  • Wolfe - Feezell, Mina Belle Wolfe and Violet Kirkpatrick Wolfe. John Peeler Wolfe: Ancestors and Descendants, 1765-1992. [Englewood, Tenn.]: M. Feezell, [1993]. FHL 929.273 W832fm; digital version at BYU Family History Archives.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

TSLA microfilmed the original Monroe County Deed Books A to Z (1820-1892), Trust Deed Books A to D (1868-1894) and Indexes to both (1820-1910). FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Microfilms 956238-956248.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Loudon CountyBlount CountyMcMinn CountyPolk CountyCherokee CountyGraham CountyTN MONROE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

A township measures 36 square miles and contains 36 sections of one square mile each.
A section of one square mile is equal to 640 acres. A quarter section divides the section into 4 equal parts containing 160 acres. For a full description of the Public Land Survey System see this webpage: website

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Indian Wars

  • Narrative of Capt. Handly, Capture, 1793, American Historical Magazine, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jan. 1897).

Revolutionary War
The following Monroe County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monroe County:

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Monroe County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Monroe County click on the following cities:

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
  • 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

TSLA microfilmed the original Monroe County Will Books 1 to 4 (1833 to 1922). FHL copy: FHL Film 956237.

Online Records


The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Monroe County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1833-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records. Free Lookups Available!

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

TSLA microfilmed the original Monroe County Tax Books 1868, 1874, 1899-1900. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 956249-956250.

Book Abstracts and Indexes

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online images and Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes


Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Monroe County Archives
105 College Street, Suite 10
Madisonville, TN 37354
Phone: 423-420-0910
website

Monroe County's Tennessee Local History Network Archive
website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Madisonville Public Library
4023 Hwy 411 North Unit C
Madisonville, TN 37354
Phone: 423-442-4085
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

The Vonore Historical Society
C/O The Vonore Library
611 Church St.
Vonore, TN 37885
Website

Monroe County Historical Society, Inc
Affiliate Chapter of the East Tennessee Historical Society
P. O. Box 359
Sweetwater, TN 37874

East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay Street
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Monroe, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_County,_Tennessee accessed 27 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Voice of Joyce Gaston Reece, Friends of the Archives Historical and Preservation Society, Monroe Co., TN., Secretary and American Local History Network, Board of Directors, Vice President (2010).
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  10. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942. FHL 976.8 K23w
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/88/Igitennesseel.pdf.