User:RogersBA/Sandbox OK 16

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oklahoma
Comanche County
 

Guide to Comanche County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lawton
Organized: 1901
Parent County(s): Kiowa-Comanche-Apache Wichita-Caddo lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Caddo  • Cotton  • Grady  • Kiowa  • Stephens  • Tillman
See County Maps
Courthouse
Comanche County Oklahoma courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ok-comanche.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Named for the Comanche tribe, Comanche County lies within the Wichita Mountains region and the Red Bed Plains. The county seat of Lawton were created on that day. In 1907 was founded.[2]

County Courthouse

Comanche County Courthouse
305 SW 5th Street
Lawton, Oklahoma 73501
Phone: 580.355-5214

Comanche County Courthouse
305 SW 5th Street
Lawton, OK 73501;
Phone: 580.355-5214 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1901[1]

Comanche County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1906 1901 1893 1901 1907

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1901--Comanche County was created in 1901 from Kiowa-Comanche-Apache and Wichita-Caddo lands.
  • County seat: Lawton[1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in Comanche County, Oklahoma:[3]

  • Bethel
  • Bethel
  • Cache
  • Chattanooga
  • Elgin
  • Faxon
  • Fletcher
  • Geronimo
  • Indiahoma
  • Lawton (county seat)
  • Medicine Park
  • Meers
  • Pumpkin Center
  • Sterling

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Comanche County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information

 

  • Alphabetical Inventories of Indian Cemeteries in Comanche County, Oklahoma. By Kenneth and Barbara Goodin, and Polly Lewis Murphy.FHL book 970.1 G619a WorldCat
  • Deyo Mission and Cemetery, Comanche County, Oklahoma. Transcribed by Larry S. Watson, 1976. The Journal of American Indian Family Research, Vol. 7 No. 1 (1986) FHL 970.1 J825j  page 1-27

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 41,489
1920 26,629 −35.8%
1930 34,317 28.9%
1940 38,988 13.6%
1950 55,165 41.5%
1960 90,803 64.6%
1970 108,144 19.1%
1980 112,456 4.0%
1990 111,486 −0.9%
2000 114,996 3.1%
2010 124,098 7.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing RogersBA/Sandbox OK 16 census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox OK 16. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Okcomanche.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox OK 16 newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Lawton newspapers that covered local news on Comanche County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Comanche - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriage

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Southwest Oklahoma Genealogical Society
PO Box 148
Lawton, OK 73502


Lawton Public Library has an excellent genealogical collection for southwestern Oklahoma.

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/comanche/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Comanche County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comanche_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 5 August 2016.