Information icon.png The FamilySearch Research Wiki will be down for maintenance on Sunday, Sept. 27, at 11:59 pm until Monday, Sept 28, 4:00 am EDT.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox OH 9

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Butler County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Hamilton
Organized: 24 March 1803[1]
Parent County(s): Hamilton[2]
Neighboring Counties
Hamilton  • Warren  • Montgomery  • Preble  • Union (IN)  • Franklin (IN)  • Dearborn (IN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Butler County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
OH butler.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for General Richard Butler, who died in 1791 fighting Indians in northern Ohio. It is located in the Western area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Butler County Courthouse
101 High St.
Hamilton, Ohio 45011-2732
Phone: 513-887-3278
Butler County Website

County Health Department has birth and death records.
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records.
Court Clerk has divorce and court records.
County Auditor has land records.[4]

Butler County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1856 1803 1856 1803 1803 1851 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1912 Although the Butler County Courthouse was reported to have been destroyed by fire on March 14, 1912, it was the original, four-tiered, domed tower which was capped with a statue of Justice that was destroyed. The courthouse still stands and is being used today by the Probate Court. County records were saved by spectators and courthouse employees who carried them out of the building.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Populated Places
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.


Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Butler County, Ohio online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 11,150
1820 21,746 95.0%
1830 27,142 24.8%
1840 28,173 3.8%
1850 30,789 9.3%
1860 35,840 16.4%
1870 39,912 11.4%
1880 42,579 6.7%
1890 48,597 14.1%
1900 56,870 17.0%
1910 70,271 23.6%
1920 87,025 23.8%
1930 114,084 31.1%
1940 120,249 5.4%
1950 147,203 22.4%
1960 199,076 35.2%
1970 226,207 13.6%
1980 258,787 14.4%
1990 291,479 12.6%
2000 332,807 14.2%
2010 368,130 10.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Hamilton

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.

  • A History and biographical cyclopaedia of Butler County, Ohio: with illustrations and sketches of its representative men and pioneers (Cincinnati, Ohio: Western Biographical Pub. Co., 1882) Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Bartlow, Bert S., Centennial History of Butler County, Ohio ([Indianapolis, Ind.] B. F. Bowen & Co., 1905) Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Ohio Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Preble CountyMontgomery CountyWarren CountyHamilton CountyUnion CountyFranklin CountyDearborn CountyOH BUTLER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Butler County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Ohio newspaper information see Ohio Newspapers and Obituaries.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Butler County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Butler County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.
Butler County Records Center and Archives
123 North Third St
Hamilton, Ohio 45011
513-887-3437
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Butler County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Hamilton Lane Library
300 North Third Street
Hamilton, Ohio 45011
513 894-7156
Website

Smith Library of Regional History
A Department of the Oxford Lane Public Library
441 S. Locust Street
Oxford, Ohio 45056
513 523-3035
Website

MidPointe Library - Middletown
125 South Broad Street
Middletown, Ohio 45044
513-424-1251
Website
Midpointe Library System Genealogy Collection

Museums[edit | edit source]

Middletown Historical Society Canal Museum
1605 North Verity Parkway
Middletown, Ohio
513 422-7161
Website

Located along the historic route of the Miami-Erie Canal, the Canal Museum, a relocated lock tenders house, offers Middletown and Miami-Erie Canal history through artifacts, photographs, and videos.

Monroe Historical Society Museum
Main and Elm Streets
Monroe, Ohio 45050
513 539-7310
Website

The Museum houses many displays and artifacts depicting the history of Monroe, platted in 1817, and the surrounding area.

Trenton Historical Society Museum
17-A East State Street
Trenton, Ohio 45067
513 988-9634

The Museum, located in the circa 1890 Adam Shafer house, displays exhibits relating to the development of Trenton, platted 1816, and the surrounding area.

Chrisholm Historic Farmstead
2070 Woodside Road
Hamilton, Ohio
513 867-5835
Website

This home was built in 1830 by Christian Augspurger, leader of the local Amish-Mennonite settlement. The original building was destroyed by fire in 1873 with the present brick farmhouse being built by Samuel Augspurger in 1874.

Butler County Historical Society Benninghofen House
327 North Second Street
Hamilton, Ohio 45011
513 896-9930
Website

This is the restored mansion of Hamilton industrialist, John Benninghofen. The Italianate style structure was the home of Benninghofen family members from 1874-1947. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

Lane-Hooven House
319 North Third Street
Hamilton, Ohio 45011
513 863-1389
Website

This octagonal house is one of only four-hundred in the United States. Built in 1863 by Hamilton industrialist Clark Lane, the home is located in Hamilton's German Village. It is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Elisha Morgan Farm Mansion
6181 Ross Road
Gilbert Farm Park
Fairfield, Ohio 45014
513 867-5300
Website

This brick farmhouse was built in 1817 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The original building was left intact but an addition to the house was completed in 1858 in the Greek Revival style.

Governor Bebb Cabin
1979 Bebb Park Lane (off State Route 126)
513 867-5835
Website

The Cabin was the birthplace and boyhood home of Ohio's 19th Governor, William Bebb. Built in 1799, it is one of seven structures, including a covered bridge, which were moved to the park as part of the pioneer village.

McGuffey Museum
Spring and Oak Sts.
Oxford, Ohio 45056
513 529-2232
Website

The Museum honors William Holmes McGuffey, Miami University professor and compiler of the McGuffey Eclectic Readers. His readers educated generations and earned him the title "Schoolmaster to the Nation." The Museum is located in the house where McGuffey lived from 1833 to 1836.

Pioneer Farm and Museum
Hueston Woods State Park
Brown Road
Oxford, Ohio 45056
513 523-8005
Website

This farmhouse contains furniture, clothing, and toys typical of a 19th century family. The home was originally constructed in the early 19th century and is now under the care of the Oxford Museum Association.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Butler County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.

Butler County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 13006
Hamilton, Ohio 45013
Email:BCOGS@butlercountyogs.org
Website

Butler County Historical Society
327 North Second Street
Hamilton, Ohio 45011
513-896-9930
Email:bcomuseum@fuse.net
Website

Butler-Warren County African American Historical Society
4521 Poppy Drive
P.O. Box 715
Middletown, Ohio
513-424-1791

Southwest Butler County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 243
Hamilton, Ohio 45012
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/butler/ accessed 2/14/2017
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Hamilton, OH Butler County Courthouse Fire, Mar 1912 at GenDisasters: Events that Touched Our Ancestors' Lives (accessed 20 September 2012).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Butler County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butler_County,_Ohio, accessed 4 November 2018.