User:RogersBA/Sandbox OH 8

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Brown County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Georgetown
Organized: March 1, 1818[1]
Parent County(s): Adams, Clermont[2]
Neighboring Counties
Clermont  • Warren  • Clinton  • Highland  • Adams  • Mason (KY)  • Bracken (KY)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Brown County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
OH brown.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Major General Jacob Brown, an officer in the War of 1812 who was wounded at the Battle of Lundy's Lane. It is located in the South Western area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Brown County Courthouse
101 S Main St
Georgetown, Ohio 45121
Phone: 937-378-3100
Brown County Website

Probate Judge has birth, marriage and probate records from 1800’s.
County Health Department has death records from 1800’s.
Court Clerk has divorce and court records from 1800’s.
County Recorder has land records.[4]

Brown County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1818 1867 1818 1818 1817 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1977 A courthouse fire may have damaged records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Populated Places
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.


Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Brown County, Ohio online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 13,356
1830 17,867 33.8%
1840 22,715 27.1%
1850 27,332 20.3%
1860 29,958 9.6%
1870 30,802 2.8%
1880 32,911 6.8%
1890 29,899 −9.2%
1900 28,237 −5.6%
1910 24,832 −12.1%
1920 22,621 −8.9%
1930 20,148 −10.9%
1940 21,638 7.4%
1950 22,221 2.7%
1960 25,178 13.3%
1970 26,635 5.8%
1980 31,920 19.8%
1990 34,966 9.5%
2000 42,285 20.9%
2010 44,846 6.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.

  • Morrow, Josiah, The History of Brown County, Ohio: Containing a History of the County, Its Townships, Towns, Churches, Schools, Etc., General and Local Statistics, Portraits of Early Settlers and Prominent Men, History of the Northwest Territory, History of Ohio, Map of Brown County, Constitution of the United States, Miscellaneous Matters, Etc., Etc. (Chicago: W. H. Beers & Co., 1883) Digital version at Google Books; FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Williams, Byron, History of Clermont and Brown Counties, Ohio: from the earliest historical times down to the present. (Milford, Ohio: Hobart Pub. Co., 1913.) Digital version at Google Books; FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Ohio Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Warren CountyClinton CountyHighland CountyAdams CountyClermont CountyMason CountyBracken CountyOH BROWN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Brown County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Ohio newspaper information see Ohio Newspapers and Obituaries.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Brown County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Brown County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Brown County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Brown County Public Libraries -Georgetown Library
200 W Grant Ave
Georgetown, OH 45121
937-378-3197
Email: marysheltonlibrary@gmail.com
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

John Rankin House
6152 Rankin Hill Road
Ripley, OH 45167
800-752-2705
Website

John P. Parker Museum
300 North Front Street / P.O. Box 246
Ripley, Ohio 45167
937-392-4188
Website

The Ulysses S. Grant Homestead Association
219 East Grant Ave
Georgetown, OH, 45121
877-372-8177
Website

Riley Museum
219 North Second Street
Ripley, OH 45167
937-392-4660
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Brown County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.

Brown County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
PO Box 83
Georgetown, OH 45121-0083
Email: br.co.genealogy@gmail.com
Website

Brown County Historical Society
PO Box 238
Georgetown, OH 45121-0238
937-446-3226 or 937-378-2355

The John P. Parker Historical Society
300 North Front Street / PO Box 246
Ripley, OH 45167-0246
513-242-4521
Website

Brown County Genealogical Society
200 East Cherry Street
Georgetown, OH 45121-0083
937-378-2746
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Ohio Ohio: Individual County Chronologies. Copyright The Newberry Library 2007
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/brown/ accessed 2/14/2017
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Brown County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brown_County,_Ohio, accessed 4 November 2018.