User:RogersBA/Sandbox NC 64

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Nash County

Guide to Nash County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Nashville
Organized: 1777
Parent County(s): Edgecombe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Edgecombe  • Franklin  • Halifax  • Johnston  • Wake  • Warren  • Wilson
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaNashCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-nash.png
Adoption
Logonew small.gif This user is a member of NCGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information

Description

Nash County is located in the eastern portion of North Carolina and was named for Revolutionary War General Francis Nash.[2]

County Courthouse

Nash County Courthouse
120 W. Washington Street
Nashville, NC 27856
Phone: 252-459-9836
Nash County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913 and marriage records from 1872.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records 1876.[3]

Nash County, North Carolina Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1777 1913 1777 1776 1790

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1777 Nash County was created from Edgecombe County.
  • County seat: Nashville[4]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Nash County, North Carolina:

History Timeline

Nash County was formed in 1777 from the western part of Edgecombe County. It was named for American Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Nash (1742-1777) of Hillsborough, who had been mortally wounded at the Battle of Germantown that year while fighting under General George Washington. Nashville, the County seat, was settled in 1780 and chartered in 1815. After the Revolutionary War, the County settled down to a pace that made it one of the State's leading farm areas. Since the Civil War, it has been known primarily as a leading agricultural County, but it has experienced steady industrial growth since that time.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Nash County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Baptist

  • Falls of Tar. Constituted 1757.[5]
  • Poplar Spring. Constituted 1793.[5]

Presbyterian

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African American

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Boddie] Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
  • [Pridgen] Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online Pridgen family of Sapony Creek, Nash County, North Carolina some descendants of William Pridgen, d. ca. 1762, Vol. II.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The first land grants in the area date from 1743.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

NC Nash

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Nash County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nash County:

- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company A
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company E
- 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain D W William's Company

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • 1799-1893 Nash County marriages. Included in Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
  • Nash County newspapers. Listing of newspapers published in the county. (Library of Congress)
  • North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project. Full-text papers from 1752-1890s.
  • Nash County deaths. County area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

The county's oldest will is at the Dept of Archives, Raleigh, NC.

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

  • Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Tar River Connections Genealogical Society
    PO Box 8764
    Rocky Mount, NC 27803-8764
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/nash
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. 5.0 5.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488; 2:566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Falls of the Tar Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.


Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=User:RogersBA/Sandbox_NC_64&oldid=3477534"