User:RogersBA/Sandbox MO 74

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Nodaway County

Guide to Nodaway County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Maryville
Organized: January 2, 1841
Parent County(s): Andrew[1]
Neighboring Counties
Andrew  • Atchison  • Gentry  • Holt  • Page (IA)  • Taylor (IA)  • Worth
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriNodawayCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Nodaway County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Nodaway County Courthouse
305 N Main Street
Maryville, MO 64468-0218
Phone: 660-582-2251
Nodaway County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage and divorce records from 1845.
Probate Court has probate records. [2]

Nodaway County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1845 1883 1845 1845 1850

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1841 Nodaway County was created 2 January 1843 from Andrew County.
  • County seat: Maryville[4]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Nodaway County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • A Biographical History of Nodaway and Atchison Counties, Missouri. 1901. Available online at Google Books. Part I contains biographies of national celebrities. Part II (starts on p.219) contains biographies of Atchison and Nodaway county residents.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Nodaway County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
Delores, Ravenwood

  • 1862-1876 Delores, Ravenwood, Baptism Index 1862-1876. Batch C515011 at FamilySearch.
  • 1868-1885 Delores, Ravenwood, Marriage Index 1868-1885. Batch M515011 at FamilySearch.

St. Columban, Conception

  • 1858-1876 St. Columban, Conception, Baptism Index 1858-1876. Batch C511861 at FamilySearch.[5]
  • 1860-1885 St. Columban, Conception, Marriage Index 1860-1885. Batch M511861 at FamilySearch.

St. Mary, Maryville

  • 1869-1876 St. Mary, Maryville, Baptism Index 1874-1875. Batch C511871 at FamilySearch.
  • 1870-1882 St. Mary, Maryville, Marriage Index 1870-1882. Batch M511871 at FamilySearch.

Presbyterian
Graham

  • 1871-1894 Graham Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1871-1894. Batch C530941 at FamilySearch.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox MO 74. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The History of Nodaway County, Missouri. 1882. St. Joseph, Mo. : National Historical. Available online at FamilySearch
  • Past and Present of Nodaway County, Missouri. 1910. Indianapolis : B. F. Bowen. Index available online at FamilySearch; Vol 1 available online at FamilySearch; Vol 2 available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Nodaway County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nodaway County, Missouri:

- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company H
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox MO 74 newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Northwest Missouri Genealogical Society
    412 Felix Street
    Saint Joseph, MO 64501
    Phone: 816-233-0524
    Mailing Address:
    P.O. Box 382
    Saint Joseph, MO 64502
    Website
  • The Nodaway County Historical Society
    110 N. Walnut, Box 324
    Maryville, MO 64468
    Phone: 660-582-8176
    Email: nodawaymuseumresearch@embarqmail.com
    Website
    Facebook

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.