User:RogersBA/Sandbox MO 73

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Newton County

Guide to Newton County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Neosho
Organized: December 30, 1838
Parent County(s): Barry[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barry  • Cherokee (KS)  • Jasper  • Lawrence  • McDonald  • Ottawa (OK)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Newton County MO Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Newton County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Newton County Courthouse
101 S Wood Street
Neosho, MO 64850
Phone: 417-451-8220
Newton County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and land records.[2]

Newton County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1865 1883 1839 1839 1840

Record Loss

1862 Courthouse burned in 1862, destroying many county records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1838 Newton County was created 30 December 1838 from Barry County.
  • County seat: Neosho[4]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Newton County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Newton County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox MO 73. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Newton, Lawrence, Barry and McDonald Counties, Missouri. 1888. Chicago, The Goodspeed Pub. Co. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Newton County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Newton County, Missouri:

- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company C
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company K

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War Battles were fought in Newton County:

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox MO 73 newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Neosho Newton County Library
    P.O. Box 314
    Neosho, MO 64850-0314
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Montgomery County Genealogical Society
    112 W Second Street
    Montgomery City, MO 63361
  • Newton County Historical Society and Museum
    121 North Washington and McCord
    Neosho, MO 64850
    Phone: 417-451-4940
    Website

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.