User:RogersBA/Sandbox MO 71

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Morgan County

Guide to Morgan County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Versailles
Organized: January 5, 1833
Parent County(s): Cooper[1]
Neighboring Counties
Benton  • Camden  • Cooper  • Miller  • Moniteau  • Pettis
See County Maps
Location Map
Missouri Morgan County Map.svg.png

County Information


County Courthouse

Morgan County Courthouse
100 E Newton Street
Versailles, MO 65084-1298
Phone: 573.378.5436
Morgan County Website

Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records; Probate Court has probate records from 1834; Clerk of the Circuit Court has court records; County Clerk has birth and death records.[2]

Morgan County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1841 1833 1883 1834 1834 1840

Record Loss

1887 Courthouse burned on March 12, 1887; some records destroyed.

Boundary Changes

  • 1833--Morgan County was created 5 January 1833 from Cooper County.
  • County seat: Versailles[4]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Morgan County, Missouri:

History Timeline


Bible Records


All of the family biographies from the History of Morgan County, Missouri (1889) by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations


Cemeteries of Morgan County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information


  • Dorothy & Bill Williams have cataloged 27,000 plus burials in 150 cemeteries in Morgan County, MO. They have Last Name, First Name, Birth, Death, Cemetery, Addition, Block, Lot, Grave. They will try to answer any inquiries (within reason) sent to
  • Missouri Cemeteries Missouri Access Genealogy

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes



Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox MO 71. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A Sheaf of Memories - An address given by R. F. Walker at Versailles, MO on Aug. 4, 1904 at the First Annual Meeting of the Old Settlers Association of Morgan County.

  • History of Cole, Moniteau, Morgan, Benton, Miller, Maries and Osage counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present, including a department devoted to the preservation of sundry personal, business, professional and private records, besides a valuable fund of notes, original observations, etc., etc. Chicago : Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1889.
  • Moser, Royce, Mrs. "Early history of Morgan County, Missouri and the city of Versailles".The Leader-Statesman, Versailles, Mo. 1957.

Maps and Gazetteers


Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records

Civil War

Online Records


Service men in Morgan County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County, Missouri:

- 60th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox MO 71 newspapers in online catalogs like:


Other Records


Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.





Research Facilities


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.




  • Montgomery Co Genealogical Society,
    112 W Second Street,
    Montgomery City, MO 63361

Morgan County Historical Society
120 N Monroe
Versailles MO 65084.
Phone: (573) 378-5530


Sites with online indexes or images of records Morgan County:

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Sites that search for links pertaining to Morgan County:

  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at