User:RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Gallatin County

Guide to Gallatin County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Warsaw
Organized: December 14, 1798
Parent County(s): Franklin, Shelby[1]
Neighboring Counties
Boone  • Carroll  • Grant  • Owen  • Switzerland (IN)
See County Maps
Gallatin County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Gallatin County svg.png
Kylogosm.gif This user is a member of KYGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information


County Courthouse

Gallatin County Courthouse
100 Main
PO Box 616
Warsaw, KY 41095-0616
Phone: 859-567-5411
Gallatin County Website[2]

Gallatin County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1799 1852 1798 1800 1810
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1798--Gallatin County was created 14 December 1798 from Franklin and Shelby Counties. 
  • County seat: Warsaw[3]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Gallatin County, Kentucky:

History Timeline


Bible Records


Business, Commerce, and Occupations


Cemeteries of Gallatin, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Gallatin county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.
Est. 20068,1533.6%

For tips on accessing RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39 census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes



Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers



Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39 newspapers in online catalogs like:


Other Records


Probate Records

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39 Clerk of Court and are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39 Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39 Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 39 Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records..





Research Facilities


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.




  • Gallatin County Historical Society
    PO Box 405
    Warsaw, KY 41095


Research Guides


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at

Retrieved from ""