User:RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Floyd County

Guide to Floyd County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Prestonburg
Organized: December 13, 1799
Parent County(s): Fleming, Montgomery, Mason[1]
Neighboring Counties
Johnson  • Knott  • Magoffin  • Martin  • Pike
See County Maps
Courthouse
Floyd County Courthouse, Prestonburg, KY
Location Map
Floyd County svg.png
Adoption
Kylogosm.gif This user is a member of KYGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Floyd County Courthouse
3rd Avenue
Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Phone: 606-886-3816
Floyd County Website[2]

Floyd County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1808 1852 1810 1866 1810
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Record Loss

1808-- A disaster destroyed some records.

Boundary Changes

1820 Perry County was created from Clay and Floyd counties.
1821 Pike County was created from Floyd County.
1821 Lawrence County was created from Floyd and Greenup counties
1822 Morgan County was created from Floyd and Bath Counties.
1843 Johnson County was created from Floyd, Lawrence and Morgan Counties.
1860 Magoffin County was created from Floyd, Johnson and Morgan counties.
1870 Martin County was created from Floyd, Lawrence, Johnson, and Pike counites.
1884 Knott County was created from Breathitt, Floyd, Letcher, and Perry counties.

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Floyd County, Kentucky:

  • Allen City
  • Alvin
  • Amba
  • Arkansas
  • Auxier
  • Banner
  • Bays Branch
  • Beaver
  • Beaver Junction
  • Betsy Layne
  • Blue Moon
  • Blue River
  • Bonanza
  • Brainard
  • Buckingham
  • Bull Creek
  • Burton
  • Cliff
  • Colliver
  • Craynor
  • Dana
  • David
  • Dema
  • Dotson
  • Drift
  • Dwale
  • East McDowell
  • Eastern
  • Emma
  • Endicott
  • Estill
  • Galveston
  • Garrett
  • Glo
  • Goodloe
  • Grethel
  • Halo
  • Harold
  • Hi Hat
  • Hippo
  • Hite
  • Honaker
  • Hunter
  • Ivel
  • Jacks Creek
  • Justell
  • Lackey
  • Lancer
  • Langley
  • Ligon
  • Martin
  • McDowell
  • Melvin
  • Midas
  • Minnie
  • New Allen
  • Northern
  • Orkney
  • Osborn
  • Porter Junction
  • Prestonburg
  • Price
  • Printer
  • Pryamid
  • Risner
  • Sloan
  • Stanville
  • Teaberry
  • Thomas
  • Tram
  • Warco
  • Watergap
  • Wayland
  • Weeksbury
  • Welco Station
  • West Garrett
  • West Prestonburg
  • Wheelwright
  • Wheelwright Junction
  • Witaker
  • Wonder
  • Woods

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Floyd, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Floyd county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18103,485
18208,207135.5%
18304,347−47.0%
18406,30245.0%
18505,714−9.3%
18606,38811.8%
18707,87723.3%
188010,17629.2%
189011,25610.6%
190015,55238.2%
191018,62319.7%
192027,42747.3%
193041,94252.9%
194052,98626.3%
195053,5001.0%
196041,642−22.2%
197035,889−13.8%
198048,76435.9%
199043,586−10.6%
200042,441−2.6%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21071.txt

For tips on accessing RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36 census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Family Files at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.
Family Gedcom Files at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.
KYGenWeb, Floyd County page

  • [Huff] Pratt, Warren C. "Finding the Father of Henry Pratt of Southeastern Kentucky," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 100, No. 2 (June 2012):85-103. Digital version at NGS website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng.
  • [Pratt] Pratt, Warren C. "Finding the Father of Henry Pratt of Southeastern Kentucky," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 100, No. 2 (June 2012):85-103. Digital version at NGS website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Kentucky Land Warrants at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Floyd County, Kentucky at Wikipedia

Maps and Gazetteers

Kyfloyd.png

Kentucky Digital Map Library Scroll down the page for links to early Floyd County maps.

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Floyd County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Companies A, B, C, and D.
- 13th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company F.
- 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company A.
- Dudley's Independent Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company A.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company B.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company C.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company D.

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Floyd County:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36 newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36 Clerk of Court and are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36 Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36 Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 36 Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records..

Birth

Marriage

Death

Deaths at KYGenWeb, Floyd County page.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=User:RogersBA/Sandbox_KY_36&oldid=3080782"