User:RogersBA/Sandbox KY 110

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Todd County

Guide to Todd County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Elkton
Organized: December 30, 1819
Parent County(s): Christian, Logan[1]
Neighboring Counties
Christian  • Logan  • Montgomery (TN)  • Muhlenberg  • Robertson (TN)
See County Maps
Todd County Courthouse, Elkton, KY
Location Map
Kylogosm.gif This user is a member of KYGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.
Old Todd County Courthouse, Elkton, KY

County Information


County Courthouse

Todd County Courthouse
PO Box 307
Elkton, KY 42220-0157
Phone: 270-265-2363[2]
Todd County Website

Todd County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1820 1852 1820 1820 1820
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1819--Todd County was created 30 December 1819 from Christian and Logan Counties.
  • County seat: Elkton[3]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the website.

County Pronunciation

Populated Places

The following are locations in Todd County, Kentucky:

  • Allegre
  • Allensville
  • Anderson
  • Bradshaw
  • Britmart
  • Cedar Grove
  • Claymour
  • Clifty
  • Darnell
  • Daysville
  • Elkton
  • Guthrie
  • Hadensville
  • Hermon
  • Jason
  • Kirkmansville
  • Liberty
  • Mount Tabor
  • Pinchem
  • Sharon Grove
  • Tabernacle
  • Trenton
  • Tress Shop
  • Tyewhoppety
  • Wilhelmina
  • Zion

History Timeline

Additional Information

Todd County, Kentucky Courthouse Marker

The county is named after Revolutionary War hero Col. John Todd (1750-1782).


Bible Records


Business, Commerce, and Occupations


Cemeteries of Todd, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Todd county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1820 5,089
1830 8,680 70.6%
1840 9,991 15.1%
1850 12,268 22.8%
1860 11,575 −5.6%
1870 12,612 9.0%
1880 15,994 26.8%
1890 16,814 5.1%
1900 17,371 3.3%
1910 16,488 −5.1%
1920 15,694 −4.8%
1930 13,520 −13.9%
1940 14,234 5.3%
1950 12,890 −9.4%
1960 11,364 −11.8%
1970 10,823 −4.8%
1980 11,874 9.7%
1990 10,940 −7.9%
2000 11,971 9.4%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Todd County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes


  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp.
  • [Kennedy] Smith, Ruth Hightower and Urban Ewing Kennedy. The Early Settlements of Todd County, Kentucky: Sketches by Urban Ewing Kennedy and the Kennedy Family History. Murray, Ky.: M.H. Smith, 1991. FHL Book 976.977 H2s.
  • [Kimbrough] Kimbrough Genealogy The history, biographies, and genealogies of the Kimbrough plantation.
  • [Page] Page, Richard Channing Moore. Genealogy of the Page Family in Virginia. Also a Condensed Account of the Nelson, Walker, Pendleton and Randolph Families, With References to the Bland, Burwell, Byrd, Carter, Cary, Duke, Gilmer, Harrison, Rives, Thornton, Wellford, Washington, and Other Distinguished Families in Virginia. New York: Press of the Publishers' Printing Co., 1893. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • [Sassin] Allen, Cameron. "Francois Sasin/Sassin of Manakin Town: The First Six Generations of the Sassin/Sasseen Family in America," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1993):3-17; Vol. 37, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1993):99-116; Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1993):193-205; Vol. 37, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1993):259-271. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).
  • [Taliaferro] Amundson, Margaret R. "Who Did Elizabeth Taliaferro, Daughter of Margaret French and Robert Taliaferro, Mary?" The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 41, No. 3 (Jan.-Mar. 1997):3-14. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.


Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox KY 110. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers



Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Todd County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Woodward's) - CSA - Company D.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox KY 110 newspapers in online catalogs like:


Other Records


Probate Records

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 110 Clerk of Court and are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 110 Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 110 Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the RogersBA/Sandbox KY 110 Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records..





Research Facilities


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.





Research Guides


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at

Retrieved from ""