User:RogersBA/Sandbox IN 92

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Whitley County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Columbia City
Organized: 1838
Parent County(s): Elkhart, Allen[1]
Neighboring Counties
Kosciusko  • Noble  • Allen  • Huntington  • Wabash
See County Maps
Courthouse
Indiana, Whitley County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Indiana, Whitley County Locator Map.png
Adoption
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This user is a member of Indiana Genealogical Society, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Col. William Whitley, who was killed in the Battle of the Thames in the War of 1812.[2] The County is located in the Northwest part of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Whitley County Courthouse
101 W Van Buren Street
Columbia City, IN 46725
Phone: 219-248-3102
County Website

Whitley County Health Department
220 West Van Buren Street, Suite 111
Columbia City, IN , 46725
Health Officer: Mark A. Burkett, DO
Phone Number: 260-248-3121
Fax: 260-248-3129
Email: lweigold@whitleygov.com
Health Department

County Clerk has marriage records from 1836 divorce and court records from 1853 and probate records.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882.
County Recorder has land records. [4]
Health Department has birth records and death records. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Whitley County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1836 1882 1853 1813 1853 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Whitley County, Indiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Whitley County census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 1,237
1850 5,190 319.6%
1860 10,730 106.7%
1870 14,399 34.2%
1880 16,941 17.7%
1890 17,768 4.9%
1900 17,328 −2.5%
1910 16,892 −2.5%
1920 15,660 −7.3%
1930 15,931 1.7%
1940 17,001 6.7%
1950 18,828 10.7%
1960 20,954 11.3%
1970 23,395 11.6%
1980 26,215 12.1%
1990 27,651 5.5%
2000 30,707 11.1%
2010 33,292 8.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Whitley County courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Whitley County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.

  • Goodspeed, Weston Arthur, and Charles Blanchard. 1970. Counties of Whitley and Noble, Indiana: historical and biographical, illustrated. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, inc.) Available online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive
  • Gradeless, Donald E. 1979. Index, History of Whitley County Indiana, Weston A. Goodspeed Charles Blanchard.([s.l.]: Gradeless.) FHL Collection
  • Kaler, S. P., and R. H. Maring. History of Whitley County, Indiana. (B. F. Bowen and Company, 1907). Available online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Kosciusko CountyNoble CountyAllen CountyHuntington CountyWabash CountyIN WHITLEY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Whitley County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Whitley County.

Civil War Books:

  • Goodspeed, Weston Arthur, and Charles Blanchard. 1970. Counties of Whitley and Noble, Indiana: historical and biographical, illustrated. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, inc.) Available online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; ("War History" Chapter, page 76-97).

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Whitley County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Huntington Indiana Family History Center
1190 500 N
Huntington IN 46750
260-356-7171
E-mail:geraldmckenzie1942@gmail.com
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Genealogical Society of Whitley County
PO Box 224
Columbia City, IN 46725-0224
Website

Whitley County Historical Society
108 W. Jefferson St.
Columbia City, IN 46725-1744
260-244-6372
E-mail: wcmuseum@whitleymuseum.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Whitley County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/whitley/ accessed 04/05/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Whitley County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitley_County,_Indiana accessed 04/05/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Whitley County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitley_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Whitley County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitley_County,_Indiana, accessed 16 January 2020.