User:RogersBA/Sandbox IN 88

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Washington County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Salem
Organized: December 21, 1813
Parent County(s): Clark, Harrison, Jefferson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Lawrence  • Jackson  • Scott  • Clark  • Floyd  • Harrison  • Crawford  • Orange
See County Maps
Courthouse
Indiana, Washington County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Indiana, Washington County Locator Map.png
Adoption
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This user is a member of Indiana Genealogical Society, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for George Washington.[2] The County is located in the South Central part of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Washington County Courthouse
99 Public Square
Salem, IN 47167
Phone: 812-883-5748
County Website

Washington County Health Department
806 Martinsburg Road, Suite 100
Salem, IN, 47167
Health Officer: Jeffery Morgan, MD
Phone Number: 812-883-5603
Fax: 812-883-5017
Email: sgreen@washingtoncounty.in.gov
Health Department

County Health Department birth and death from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, probate and court records from 1814 and newspapers from 1891.
County recorder has land records.
County Historical Society has many family records. [4]
Health Department has birth records and death records. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Washington County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1814 1882 1814 1814 1814 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Washington County, Indiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Washington County census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 9,039
1830 13,064 44.5%
1840 15,269 16.9%
1850 17,040 11.6%
1860 17,909 5.1%
1870 18,495 3.3%
1880 18,955 2.5%
1890 18,619 −1.8%
1900 19,409 4.2%
1910 17,445 −10.1%
1920 16,645 −4.6%
1930 16,285 −2.2%
1940 17,008 4.4%
1950 16,520 −2.9%
1960 17,819 7.9%
1970 19,278 8.2%
1980 21,932 13.8%
1990 23,717 8.1%
2000 27,223 14.8%
2010 28,262 3.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org"

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Lutheran

  • Records of Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Washington County courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Washington County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.

  • History of Washington County Indiana: A Re-Production of the Original "History of Lawrence, Orange and Washington Counties" 1884. (Salem, Ind: Washington County Historical Society, 1965.) Available at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Lawrence CountyJackson CountyScott CountyClark CountyHarrison CountyCrawford CountyOrange CountyFloyd CountyIN WASHINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Washington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Washington County.

Civil War Books:

  • History of Washington County Indiana: A Re-Production of the Original "History of Lawrence, Orange and Washington Counties" 1884. (Salem, Ind: Washington County Historical Society, 1965.) ("Military History", Chapter 7, page 793-815, Regiment, Companies) Available at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Washington County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

New Albany Indiana Family History Center
1534 Slate Run Road
New Albany IN 47150-6210
Phone: 812-913-5271
E-mail: IN_NewAlbany@familyhistorymail.org
Website

Bedford Indiana Family History Center
1010 22nd Street
Bedford IN 47421-4822
Phone: 812-275-6672
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

The John Hay Center
307 East Market Street
Salem 47167-2119
Telephone Number: 812-833-6495
E-mail: info@johnhaycenter.org
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Pekin Historical Society
5260 S. State Road 60
Pekin, IN 47165-7222

Southern Indiana Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 665
New Albany, IN 47151-0665
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Washington County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/washington/ accessed 04/05/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Indiana accessed 04/05/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Indiana, accessed 15 January 2020.