User:RogersBA/Sandbox GA 158

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Wilkinson County

Guide to Wilkinson County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Irwinton
Organized: May 11, 1803
Parent County(s): Creek Indian lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baldwin  • Bleckley  • Johnson  • Jones  • Laurens  • Twiggs  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
Wilkinson County Courthouse Irwinton, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Wilkinson County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Wilkinson County Courthouse
PO Box 250
Irwinton, GA 31042
Phone: 478-946-2221
Wilkinson County Website

Clerk Superior Court has some divorce records and land records from 1852.[2]

Wilkinson County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1854 1855 1854 1810

Record Loss

1828 The courthouse at Irwinton burned on 16 March. All of the county courthouse records were lost.[3]
1854 The courthouse burned down on 7 February and all county records were destroyed.[3]
1864 During the American Civil War sometime between 23 and 26 November 1864 Wilkinson County's courthouse was razed. Very few of the county's probate records dating before the Civil War are available; however, some other types of records survived (for example, deeds starting in 1854). Superior Court minutes begin in 1864.[3]
1924 Fire burned the courthouse on 15 February, destroying some records. There are significant gaps in Wilkinson County's records between 1864 and 1924. [3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1803 Wilkinson County was created 11 May 1803 from Creek Indian lands.
  • County seat: Irwinton[4]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Wilkinson County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Wilkinson, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Wilkinson County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for RogersBA/Sandbox GA 158. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Davidson, Victor. History of Wilkinson County. n.p.: John Ball Chapter, D.A.R., c1930. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Gawilkinson.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Wilkinson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wilkinson County:

- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F and I
- 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F and I
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 57th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies D, I and K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Wilkinson County Historical Society
    PO Box 1076
    Gordon, GA 31031-1076
    Phone: 478-946-2723
    Website
  • Savannah River Valley Genealogical Society
    c/o Hart County Library, Benson St.
    Hartwell, GA 30643
    Website
  • Wiregrass Genealogical Society
    45 25th Ave.
    Eastman, GA 31023
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 60-62. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.