User:RogersBA/Sandbox Co 49

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Phillips County

Guide to Phillips County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Holyoke
Organized: March 27, 1889
Parent County(s): Logan [1]
Neighboring Counties
Chase (NE)  • Logan  • Perkins (NE)  • Sedgwick  • Yuma
See County Maps
Courthouse
ColoradoPhillipsCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Colorado Phillips County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Phillips County Courthouse
221 S Interocean Ave
Holyoke, CO 80734-1534
Phone: 970.854.3131
Phillips County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1893 and land records;
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[2]

Phillips County, Colorado Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1903-1905 [3]*
1889 [3]*
1902-1905 [3]*
1889
1889
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1889--Phillips County was created 27 March 1889 from Logan County.
  • County seat: Holyoke[1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in Phillips County, Colorado:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Phillips County, Colorado online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Colorado Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado.[4] See links listed below.

For tips on accessing RogersBA/Sandbox Co 49 census records online, see: Colorado Census.

  • 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Local Histories

Template:CO History Intro

Maps and Gazetteers

Cophillips.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as RogersBA/Sandbox Co 49 newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [5]

Marriage

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [5]

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for RogersBA/Sandbox Co 49 in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Haxtun Public Library
141 S Colorado Ave
Haxtun, CO 80731
Telephone 970-774-6106
Website

Holyoke/Heginbotham Library
539 S Baxter
Holyoke, CO 80734
Telephone 970-854-2597
Website

Museums

Societies

Phillips County Colorado Historical Society and Museum
109 S. Campbell
Holyoke, CO 80734
Telephone: 970-854-2129
E-mail:pcmuseum@pctelcom.coop
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Phillips County, Colorado. Page 100 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
  4. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov