To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox Al 16

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Coffee County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Elba
Organized: December 29, 1841
Parent County(s): Dale[1]
Neighboring Counties
Covington  • Crenshaw  • Dale  • Geneva  • Pike
See County Maps
Courthouse
Coffee County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Coffee County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named after John R. Coffee, a hero in the Creek War of 1813-14. The County has Elba as its seat and the County was created December 29, 1841. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Coffee County Courthouse
230 N. Court Ave
Elba, AL 36323
Phone: (334) 347-2519
Coffee County Website

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1877 and land records from early 1800s. Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.

Coffee County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1907 1877 1907 1811 1851 1862 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Coffee County had destructive courthouse fires in 1851, 1863, and 1877. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 26 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Coffee County was formed December 29, 1841 from Dale County. Dale was formed in 1824 from Covington and Henry Counties. Covington was formed from Henry in 1821 and Henry was formed from Conecuh in 1819. Conecuh was formed from Monroe in 1818 and Monroe was the original County formed from Washington County (Mississippi Territory) and the Creek cession in 1815.
  • Elba and Enterprise[5]
  • County seat: Elba[6]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Coffee County:[7]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Forest Park
  • Foxhill
  • Frisco
  • Goodman
  • Holley Store
  • Honeysuckle Hills
  • Idlewood
  • Indian Lakes
  • Indian Springs
  • Indigo
  • Ino
  • Jack
  • Jamestown Colony
  • Java
  • Keyton
  • Lowry Mill
  • Mixson


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Coffee, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Coffee county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Coffee County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Coffee County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1850 5,940
1860 9,623 62.0%
1870 6,171 −35.9%
1880 8,119 31.6%
1890 12,170 49.9%
1900 20,972 72.3%
1910 26,119 24.5%
1920 30,070 15.1%
1930 32,556 8.3%
1940 31,987 −1.7%
1950 30,720 −4.0%
1960 30,583 −0.4%
1970 34,872 14.0%
1980 38,533 10.5%
1990 40,240 4.4%
2000 43,615 8.4%
2010 49,948 14.5%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Coffee County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Barbour County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2010. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.134 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Coffee County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

CrenshawPikeDaleGenevaCovingtonAL COFFEE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Coffee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Coffee County:

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company F
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Coffee County Rangers"
- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A (Bullock Guards)
- 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 33rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and F
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (formerly Co. "D", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)
- 61st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and G

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Coffee County has one book.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 16 Probate Court. Most records are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 16 Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry $. Coffee County is in District 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Enterprise Alabama Family History Center
110 Shell Field Rd
Enterprise, AL, United States
Phone: 334-347-3631
Hours: Tues & Thurs 10 am -2pm Wed 4pm-8pm; other times by appt.
Closures: Closed on Holidays

Family History Center Locator

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Coffee Enterprise Public Library
101 E. Grubbs St.
Enterprise, Alabama 36330
Phone: 334-347-2636
Fax: 334-393-6477
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Pea River Historical and Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 310628
108 Main Street
Enterprise, AL 36330
334-393-2901
Website
Publication: Pea River Trails
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Coffee, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coffee_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Coffee County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coffee_County,_Alabama, accessed 8 October 2018.