To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox Al 13

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Clarke County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Grove Hill
Organized: December 10, 1812
Parent County(s): Washington[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baldwin  • Choctaw  • Marengo  • Monroe  • Washington  • Wilcox
See County Maps
Courthouse
Clarke County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Clarke County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of General John Clarke of Georgia. The County has Grove Hill as its seat and the County was created 10 December 1812. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clarke County Courthouse
114 Court Street
Grove Hill, AL 36451
(251) 275-3363
Clarke County Website

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1814 and land records from 1820 Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records Health Clinic has birth and death records [3]

Clarke County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1908 1814 1908 1813 1820 1814 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1812--Clarke County was created 10 December 1812 from Washington County.
  • County seat: Grove Hill[5]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Clarke County:[6]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Gosport
  • Greenwood
  • Manila
  • Mays Crossroads
  • McEntyre
  • McVay
  • McWer
  • Midway
  • Morvin
  • Nettleboro
  • Opine
  • Peacock
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Rock Springs
  • Roundhill
  • Rural
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Clarke, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Clarke county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Clarke County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Clarke County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1820 5,839
1830 7,595 30.1%
1840 8,640 13.8%
1850 9,786 13.3%
1860 15,049 53.8%
1870 14,663 −2.6%
1880 17,806 21.4%
1890 22,624 27.1%
1900 27,790 22.8%
1910 30,987 11.5%
1920 26,409 −14.8%
1930 26,016 −1.5%
1940 27,636 6.2%
1950 26,548 −3.9%
1960 25,738 −3.1%
1970 26,724 3.8%
1980 27,702 3.7%
1990 27,240 −1.7%
2000 27,867 2.3%
2010 25,833 −7.3%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Clarke County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Clarke County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2008. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.1245 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Clarke County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Ball, Rev. T. H. A Glance into the Great South-East, on, Clarke County, Alabama, and its Surroundings, from 1540 to 1877. Grove Hill, AL, USA: n.p., 1882. Digital version at Ancestry $
  • Graham, John Simpson. History of Clarke County. Birmingham, Ala.: Press of Birmingham Print. Co., 1923. Digital version at Ancestry $

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

ChotawMarengoWilcoxMonroeBaldwinWashingtonAL CLARKE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Clarke County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clarke County:

- 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Frank Lyon Rifles"
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Kings Guard"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Dickinson Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, E, G and H
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and I
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D [also called Co. "G"]

Online Records

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

  • There are no 1867 voting registers available for Clarke County.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 13 Probate Court. Most records are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 13 Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1816 Inhabitants of Alabama in 1816. Broken Arrow Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1955. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Onlinee. Includes Clarke County.
  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry $

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Clarke Grove Hill Public Library
    108 Dubose Avenue
    Grove Hill, AL 36451
    Phone: 251-275-8157

Website

  • Thomasville Public Library
    1401 Mosley Drive
    Thomasville, AL 36784
    ​Tel: 334-636-5343
    TvilleLibrary@gmail.com​ email

Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Clarke County Museum is housed at Alston-Cobb House
    116 West Cobb St.
    Grove Hill, AL 36451
    Phone: 251-275-8684
    website and website

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Clarke County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 388
    116 West Cobb St.
    Grove Hill, AL 36451
    251-275-2014 Bookstore
    251-275-8684 Office
    Email: museum@clarkemuseum.com
    Facebook
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Clarke County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/clarke/ 05/30/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Clarke County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarke_County,_Alabama, accessed 7 October 2018.