To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox Al 12

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Choctaw County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Butler
Organized: December 29, 1847
Parent County(s): Washington, Sumter[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clarke (MS)  • Lauderdale (MS)  • Marengo  • Sumter  • Washington  • Wayne (MS)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Choctaw County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Choctaw County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Choctaw tribe of American Indians. The County has Butler as its seat and the County was created December 29, 1847. [2]The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Choctaw County Courthouse
117 S. Mulberry St.
Butler, AL 36904
Phone:(205) 459-2155
Choctaw County Website

County Clerk has marriage probate and land records from 1873
Clerk Circuit Cout has court and divorce records. [4]

Choctaw County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1881 1873 1881 1871 1873 1873 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Choctaw County had destructive courthouse fires in 1859 and 1871. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 26 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1847--Choctaw County was created 29 December 1847 from Washington and Sumter Counties.
  • County seat: Butler[7]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Choctaw County:[8]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Aquilla
  • Ararat
  • Barrytown
  • Bladon Springs
  • Brightwater
  • Chapel Hill
  • Chappell Hill
  • Choctaw City
  • Contwell
  • Cromwell
  • Cyril
  • Deas
  • Edna
  • Eiler
  • Emory
  • Evansboro
  • Flatwood
  • Hinton
  • Hodgewood
  • Indian Springs
  • Isney
  • Jachin
  • Jackson Spur
  • Land
  • Lavaca
  • Little Walker
  • Lou
  • Lusk
  • Melvin
  • Mollie
  • Morgan Chapel
  • Mount Sterling
  • Naheola
  • Oakchia
  • Okatuppa
  • Old Samuel
  • Paragon
  • Pelham
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Pushmataha
  • Red Springs
  • Rescueville
  • Riderwood
  • Robjohn
  • Rock Springs
  • Slater
  • Souwilpa
  • Spring Hill
  • Thornton Springs
  • Tompkinsville
  • Turner
  • Water Valley
  • West Butler
  • Wimbly
  • Womack Hill
  • Yantley
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Choctaw, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Choctaw county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Choctaw County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Choctaw County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1850 8,389
1860 13,877 65.4%
1870 12,676 −8.7%
1880 15,731 24.1%
1890 17,526 11.4%
1900 18,136 3.5%
1910 18,483 1.9%
1920 20,753 12.3%
1930 20,513 −1.2%
1940 20,195 −1.6%
1950 19,152 −5.2%
1960 17,870 −6.7%
1970 16,589 −7.2%
1980 16,839 1.5%
1990 16,018 −4.9%
2000 15,922 −0.6%
2010 13,859 −13.0%
Sources:[9][10][11][12]

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Choctaw County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

SumterMarengoClarkeWashingtonLauderdale County, MSClarke County, MSWayne County, MSAL CHOCTAW.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Choctaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Choctaw County:

- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A, Ruffin Dragoons
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Brownrigg Warriors"
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, E and F
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C (formerly Co. "B", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (formerly Co. "F", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)

Online Records

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Choctaw County has two books:

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 12 Probate Court. Most records are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 12 Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry $

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Toxey Alabama Family History Center
21290 Highway 17
Gilbertown, Choctaw, Alabama, United States
Phone: 205-673-2344
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Choctaw Choctaw County Public Library
124 N Academy Ave
Butler, Alabama 36904
205-459-2542
Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Choctaw County Historical Museum
P O Box 162
40 Melvin Rd
Gilbertown, Alabama 36908
Phone:251-843-2501
Facebook Page
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Choctaw County Genealogical Society
4244 County Rd. 43
Butler, AL 36904
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Choctaw County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/choctaw/ 06/02/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Choctaw, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choctaw_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 25. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Choctaw County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choctaw_County,_Alabama, accessed 7 October 2018.
  9. "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml. 
  10. through 1960
  11. Columbia-Lippincott Gazeteer. (New York: Columbia University Press, 1952) p. 403
  12. 2006 World Almanac, p. 525