To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox Al 11

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Chilton County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Clanton
Organized: December 30, 1868
Parent County(s): Bibb, Autauga, Perry, Shelby[1]
Neighboring Counties
Autauga  • Bibb  • Coosa  • Dallas  • Elmore  • Perry  • Shelby
See County Maps
Courthouse
Chilton County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Chilton County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of William Parish Chilton, Sr. (1810-1871) who was a lawyer who became Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court and later represented Montgomery County in the Congress of the Confederate States of America. On February 4, 1861, Wm. Chilton gaveled the Confederacy into existence, as acting leader of the Provisional Congress. [2] The County has Grantville as its seat and the County was created December 30, 1868. The County is located in the center area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Chilton County Courthouse
501 2nd Avenue N.,
Clanton, AL 35045,
Phone: (205) 755-4275
Chilton County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has probate and divorce records, also court records from 1868. Probate Judge has marriage and land records.[4]

Chilton County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1908 1870 1908 1868 1868 1868 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Baker County (later known as Chilton County) had a destructive courthouse fire in 1870.[6]


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1868 Chilton County was created 30 December 1868 from part of Bibb, Autauga, Perry, and Shelby Counties.
  • County seat: Clanton[7]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Chilton County:[8]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Adams
  • Bessie
  • Campbell
  • Center Hill
  • Collins Chapel
  • Cooper
  • Dixie
  • Enterprise
  • Fairview
  • Falakto
  • Gap of the Mountain
  • Highland
  • Hubbard
  • Ocampo
  • Parnell
  • Pleasant Grove
  • Pletcher
  • Pools Crossroads
  • Poseys Crossroads
  • Riderville
  • Rocky Mount
  • Samaria
  • Stanton
  • Union Grove
  • Verbena
  • Wessington


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Biographies of many notable residents of Chilton County were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Begins on page 642.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Chilton, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Chilton county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Chilton County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Chilton County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1870 6,194
1880 10,793 74.2%
1890 14,549 34.8%
1900 16,522 13.6%
1910 23,187 40.3%
1920 22,770 −1.8%
1930 24,579 7.9%
1940 27,955 13.7%
1950 26,922 −3.7%
1960 25,693 −4.6%
1970 25,180 −2.0%
1980 30,612 21.6%
1990 32,458 6.0%
2000 39,593 22.0%
2010 43,643 10.2%
Baker County until 1874
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Chilton County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Wyatt, Thomas Eugene. Chilton County and Her People: A Brief History. Clanton, Ala.: The Union-Banner, 1960. Digital version at Ancestry $

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

ShelbyCoosaElmoreAutaugaDallasPerryBibbAL CHILTON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

  • Chilton County was not yet established for the 1867 Voting Registers.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 11 Probate Court. Most records are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox Al 11 Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Family History Center Locator

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Chilton Chilton-Clanton Public Library
100 1st Ave
Clanton, AL 35045
205-755-1768
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Chilton County Genealogy Society
P.O. Box 703
Thorsby, Al 35171
Website

Chilton County Historical Society
P. O. Box 644
Clanton, AL 35046
205-755-1768
Publication: Chiltonian
Facebook Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Chilton County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/chilton/ 05/30/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Chilton, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chilton_County,_Alabama 05/30/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Baker County and it’s people, a county without a history in Alabama Pioneers (accessed 5 March 2014).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Chilton County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chilton_County,_Alabama, accessed 6 October 2018.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.