To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox AL 18

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Conecuh County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Evergreen
Organized: February 13, 1907
Parent County(s): Monroe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Butler  • Covington  • Escambia  • Monroe
See County Maps
Courthouse
Conecuh County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Conecuh County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for an American Indian from the Indian word for "land of cane." The County has Evergreen as its seat and the County was created February 13, 1818. [2]The County is located in the south central area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Conecuh County Courthouse
Jackson Street
Courthouse Square
111 Court Square
Evergreen, AL 36401
Phone:(251) 578-2066
County Website

Probate Judge has marriage probate and land records [4]

Conecuh County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1881 1866 1881 1881 1866 1881 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Conecuh County had destructive courthouse fires in 1868, 1875, 1885, 1895 and 1900. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 26 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1818--Conecuh County was created 13 February 1818 from Monroe County.
  • County seat: Evergreen[7]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Conecuh County:[8]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Belleville
  • Bermuda
  • Bethel
  • Bookers Mill
  • Bowles
  • Brantley Crossing
  • Brooklyn
  • Brownville
  • Burnt Corn
  • Centerville
  • China
  • Cohassett
  • Commerce
  • Cooks Crossroads
  • Deans
  • Fairnelson
  • Fairview
  • Flat Rock
  • Fowler
  • Georgiaville
  • Green Street
  • Harpers Store
  • Herbert
  • Janes Mill
  • Jay Villa
  • Johnsonville
  • Lenox
  • London
  • Loree
  • Lyeffion
  • Melrose
  • Mixonville
  • Mount Union
  • Nichburg
  • Nymph
  • Old Sparta
  • Old Town
  • Owassa
  • Paul
  • Rabb
  • Ramah
  • Range
  • Sand Cut
  • Shreve
  • Skinnerton
  • Spring Hill
  • Stokes
  • Travis Bridge
  • Wilcox


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Conecuh, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Conecuh county cemeteries.

  • Interment.net Alabama cemetery records by county.
  • FamilySearch Books Online "The Evergreen Old Historical Cemetery in Evergreen, Alabama, Conecuh County" by Riley, Elizabeth d'Autrey. Brewton, Ala.: Escambia Ptg. and Office Supplies, 1971.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Conecuh County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Conecuh County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1820 5,713
1830 7,444 30.3%
1840 8,197 10.1%
1850 9,322 13.7%
1860 11,311 21.3%
1870 9,574 −15.4%
1880 12,605 31.7%
1890 14,594 15.8%
1900 17,514 20.0%
1910 21,433 22.4%
1920 24,593 14.7%
1930 25,429 3.4%
1940 25,489 0.2%
1950 21,776 −14.6%
1960 17,762 −18.4%
1970 15,645 −11.9%
1980 15,884 1.5%
1990 14,054 −11.5%
2000 14,089 0.2%
2010 13,228 −6.1%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder.census.gov.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Conecuh County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Riley, Benjamin Franklin. History of Conecuh County Alabama. Columbus, Ga.: T. Gilbert, Printer, 1881. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

MonroeButlerCoviingtonEscambiaAL CONECUH.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Conecuh County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Conecuh County:

- 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E(Conecuh Guards)
- 16th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- 23rd Battalion, Alabama, Company F
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and H
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E

Online Records

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Conecuh County has one book.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox AL 18 Probate Court. Most records are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox AL 18 Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry$. Conecuh County is in District 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Family History Centre Locator

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Conecuh Evergreen-Conecuh Public Library
    201 Park Street
    Evergreen, AL 36401
    Phone: 251-578-2670
    website


  • Evergreen Public Library
    119 Cemetery Ave
    Evergreen, Alabama 36401
    Phone:251-578-2670
    Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Canebrake Genealogical and Historical Society
    P. O. Box 851342
    Mobile, AL 36685
    website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Conecuh County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Survey, 1938. Digital version at Ancestry $

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Conecuh County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/conecuh/ 06/02/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Conecuh, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conecuh_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Conecuh County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conecuh_County,_Alabama, accessed 9 October 2018.