To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox AL 17

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Colbert County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Tuscumbia
Organized: February 6, 1867
Parent County(s): Franklin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Franklin  • Lauderdale  • Lawrence  • Tishomingo (MS)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Colbert County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Colbert County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named named in honor of brothers George and Levi Colbert, Chickasaw Indian chiefs. The County has Tuscumbia as its seat and the County was created February 6, 1867. [2]The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Colbert County Courthouse
201 North Main Street
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
Phone:(205) 386-8512
Colbert County Website

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1877 land records from about 1867
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records [4]

Colbert County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1881 1867 1881 1867 1867 1861 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1867--Colbert County was created 6 February 1867 from part of Franklin County.
  • County seat: Tuscumbia[6]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Colbert County:[7]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Alabama Shores
  • Allsboro
  • Barton
  • Bear Creek
  • Bethel
  • Bingham
  • Bishop
  • Burnstown
  • Buzzard Roost
  • Cave Spring
  • Cedar Hills Estates
  • Chisca
  • Colbert Heights
  • Cottontown
  • Crooked Oak
  • Emco-Listerhill Junction
  • Flatwoods
  • Ford City
  • Fosters Mill
  • Georgetown
  • Hatton
  • Hawk Pride
  • Hobgood
  • James
  • La Grange
  • Lane Springs
  • Ligon Springs
  • Lime Kiln
  • Lime Rock
  • Listerhill
  • Malone
  • Margerum
  • Maud
  • Melrose
  • Mhoontown
  • Midway
  • Milk Springs
  • Mountain Mills
  • Mount Hester
  • Mynot
  • New Bethel
  • Newsome Springs
  • Nitrate City
  • Norala Junction
  • Old Bethel
  • Paradise Points
  • Peytona Points
  • Pride
  • Red Rock
  • Riverton
  • Rock Creek
  • Spring Valley
  • Underwood Crossroads
  • Underwood Heights
  • Valdosta
  • Valley Grove
  • Village Number 1
  • White House Springs
  • Whiteoak
  • Wilson Lake Shores


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Biographies of many notable residents of Colbert County were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online, begins on page 686.
  • Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Colbert County begins on page 103.
  • Colbert County Biographies at The USGenWeb Archives Project

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Colbert, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Colbert county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Colbert County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Colbert County, Alabama
Year Pop.
1870 12,537
1880 16,153 28.8%
1890 20,189 25.0%
1900 22,341 10.7%
1910 24,802 11.0%
1920 31,997 29.0%
1930 29,860 −6.7%
1940 34,093 14.2%
1950 39,561 16.0%
1960 46,506 17.6%
1970 49,632 6.7%
1980 54,519 9.8%
1990 51,666 −5.2%
2000 54,984 6.4%
2010 54,428 −1.0%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Colbert County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Colbert County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Clary, Martin. The Facts about Muscle Shoals. New York: Ocean Pub. Co., 1924. Digital version at Ancestry $
  • Leftwich, Nina. Two Hundred Years at Muscle Shoals: Being an Authentic History of Colbert County, 1700-1900: With Special Emphasis on the Stirring Events of the Early Times. Tuscumbia, Ala., 1935. Digital version at Ancestry $

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

LauderdaleLawrenceFranklinTishomingo , MSAL COLBERT.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Colbert County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Colbert County:

- 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Roddy's), Company C

Online Records

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Colbert County has two books listed, but only Book 1 is accessible at this time.

Book 1

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the RogersBA/Sandbox AL 17 Probate Court. Most records are housed at the RogersBA/Sandbox AL 17 Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Family History Centre Locator

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • In Colbert County there are five public libraries, bookmobiles, and library research services. These public libraries are located in Colbert County, Alabama. Choose a Colbert County County Library to see find the services provided, contact information as well as directions to the location.
  • Cherokee Public Library
    118 Church Street
    Cherokee, AL 35616
    Phone:256-359-4384
    website
  • Colbert Florence/Lauderdale Public Library
    350 N. Wood Ave
    Florence, AL 35630
    Phone: 256-764-6564
    Website
  • Leighton Public Library
    8740 Main Street
    Leighton, AL 35646
    Phone:256-446-5380
    website
  • Muscle Shoals Public Library
    1918 East Avalon Avenue
    Muscle Shoals, AL 35661
    Phone: 256-386-9212
    website
  • Sheffield Public Library
    316 North Montgomery Avenue
    Sheffield, AL 35660
    Phone: 256-386-5633
    website
  • Tuscumbia - Helen Keller Public Library
    511 North Main Street
    Tuscumbia, AL 35674
    Phone: 256-383-7065
    website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Tennessee Valley Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 1568
Huntsville, Alabama
35807
Publication: Valley Leaves
Website

Natchez Trace Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 420
Florence, AL
35631
Publication: Natchez Trace Traveler
Website

Tennessee Valley Historical Society
P. O. Box 149
Sheffield, AL
35660
Publication: Journal of Muscle Shoals History
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Colbert County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Survey, 1939. Digital version at Ancestry $

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Colbert County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/colbert/ 06/02/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Colbert, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colbert_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Colbert County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colbert_County,_Alabama, accessed 8 October 2018.