To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox/PA 9

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bucks County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Doylestown
Organized: November 10, 1682
Parent County(s): Original county
Neighboring Counties
Northampton  • Hunterdon (NJ)  • Montgomery  • Mercer (NJ)  • Philadelphia  • Burlington (NJ)  • Warren (NJ)  • Lehigh
See County Maps
Courthouse
Bucks County, Pennsylvania Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Bucks County PA Map.png
Adoption
Pa-rootsbuttonwiki.gif This user is a member of PA Roots and its members, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

It is named after the English county of Buckinghamshire. It is located in the Southeast corner of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Bucks County Courthouse
55 East Court Street
Doylestown, PA 18901
Clerk of Courts
Orphans Court, 215-348-6271, Email: orphanscourt@co.bucks.pa.us
Coroner
Prothonotary, 215-348-6191, Fax: 215-348-6184
Recorder of Deeds
Register of Wills, 215-348-6265, Email: registerofwills@co.bucks.pa.us
Bucks County Website

Naturalization Papers for the years 1802 to 1906 and Term Papers from 1733 to 1920 have been microfilmed and are available for public review in the Prothonotary's office.
All papers recorded in the office of Recorder of Deeds are public information, with the exception of Military Discharge Papers. Earliest records are for 1684. Indexes are available. Research Center is open to the public. No appointment is required to visit. Records date back to 1684.

Bucks County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1885 1893 1682 1684 1684 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1906. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Original county formed from colonial lands 10 March 1682.[3]
  • County seat: Doylestown[4]

For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Bucks County, Pennsylvania:

  • Boroughs: Bristol . Chalfont . Doylestown . Dublin . Hulmeville . Ivyland . Langhorne . Langhorne Manor . Morrisville . New Britain . New Hope . Newtown . Penndel . Perkasie . Quakertown . Richlandtown . Riegelsville . Sellersville . Silverdale . Telford . Trumbauersville . Tullytown . Yardley
  • Townships: Bedminster . Bensalem . Bridgeton . Bristol . Buckingham . Doylestown . Durham . East Rockhill . Falls . Haycock . Hilltown . Lower Makefield . Lower Southampton . Middletown . Milford . New Britain . Newtown . Nockamixon . Northampton . Plumstead . Richland . Solebury . Springfield . Tinicum . Upper Makefield . Upper Southampton . Warminster . Warrington . Warwick . West Rockhill . Wrightstown
  • Unincorporated communities: Brittany Farms-Highlands . Churchville . Cornwells Heights-Eddington . Croydon . Erwinna . Fairless Hills . Fallsington . Feasterville-Trevose . Holland . Lahaska . Levittown . Lumberville . Newtown Grant . Point Pleasant . Plumsteadville . Richboro . Southampton . The Devil's Half-Acre . Uhlerstown . Upper Black Eddy . Village Shires . Warminster Heights . Washington Crossing . Woodbourne . Woodside

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Indentured Servants

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe. Online at: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes list of imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Bucks County, Pennsylvania online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links and tips on using Federal (or United States) census records online for Bucks County, see: Pennsylvania Census.

There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.
County-wide Database
(Multi-denominational)

Bucks county pennsylvania churches.png
Contains church records of:
  • The Reverend Simon K. Gross Pastoral Records
  • Bensalem: Bensalem Methodist Churchyard; Vandgrift Cemetery
  • Blooming Glen: Blooming Glen Mennonite Cemetery
  • Bristol: John Black Funeral Homes, Record Books
  • Buckingham: Forest Grove Presbyterian Cemetery; Forestville Presbyterian Church; Trinity Episcopal Church
  • Churchville: North and Southampton Reformed Church
  • Doylestown: Doylestown Mennonite Church Records; St. Paul's Episcopal Church
  • Durham: Durham Reformed Church; Lutheran Church
  • Fallsington: All Saints Episcopal Church
  • Ferndale: St. Luke's Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Haycock Run: St. John the Baptist Catholic Church
  • Hilltown: Hilltown Baptist Church; Kratz Diaries; St. Peter's Lutheran Church
  • Hulmeville: Beechwood Cemetery; Grace Episcopal Church; Lewis Preston Townsend Funeral Ledger
  • Langhorne: Langhorne Presbyterian Church; St. James Episcopal Church
  • Milford: East Swamp Mennonite Cemetery; West Swamp Mennonite Cemetery
  • Milford Square: Jacob Clymer Justice of the Peace Dockets; William Z. Gottshalk Family Records
  • Morrisville: First Presbyterian Church
  • Newportville: Ascension Church
  • Newtown: St. Andrew's Roman Catholic Church; St. Luke's Church
  • Northampton: Richboro Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Perkasie: Deep Run Mennonite Church Records; St. Andrew's United Church of Christ
  • Philadelphia: Southampton Baptist Church; Jonathan Worrall, J.P./Misc. Marriage Licenses, 1890-1915; Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Pleasant Valley: Trinity United Church of Christ
  • Quakertown: Emmanuel Church; First United Church of Christ; St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church; Swamp Mennonite Charge Church Bulletin; Swamp Mennonite Church Class Records; Swamp Mennonite Meetinghouse Construction; Union Cemetery
  • Richboro: Dutch Reformed Church; Union Cemetery
  • Richland: Flatland Mennonite Cemetery
  • Ridge Valley: The Reverend Simon K. Gross Pastoral Record
  • Riegelsville: St. John's United Church of Christ; St. Peter's Lutheran Church
  • Sellersville: Bucks County Historical Society
  • Southampton: St. Columba Church; William Grant Funeral Home
  • Springfield: Springfield Mennonite Cemetery; St. Paul Salem United Methodist; Trinity Lutheran Church
  • Springtown: Christ Lutheran Church
  • Torresdale: All Saints Episcopal Church
  • Trevose: Scottsville United Methodist Church
  • Trumbauersville: Christ Lutheran Church
  • Upper Black Eddy: Upper Tinicum Lutheran Church
  • West Rockhill: Ridge Valley Reformed Church
  • Wrightstown: Holy Nativity Episcopal Church; Penns Park Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Yardley: St. Andrew's Episcopal Church
  • 1682 -1800 Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, Bucks County, 1682-1800 Washington, D.C.: Humphrey Publications, 1993. FHL Book 974.821 K2h.

Contains church records of Falls Friends Monthly Meeting; Middletown Friends Monthly Meeting; Wrightstown Friends Monthly Meeting; Richland Friends Monthly Meeting; Buckingham Friends Monthly Meeting; Southampton Baptist Church; Tinicum Presbyterian, also known as Red Hill; Neshaminy Presbyterian Church, Hartsville in Warwick Township; Newtown Presbyterian Church in Newtown Township; Reformed Low Dutch Church of Southampton and Northampton Townships; Dutch Reformed Church, Bensalem; Tohickon Reformed Congregation in Bedminister Township; Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church, also known as Tinicum Lutheran Church in Tinicum Township; Tohickon Lutheran Congregation in Bedminister Township; Christ Reformed Church, Trumbauersville in Milford Township; Springfield Lutheran Church in Springfield Township; St. Matthew's Evangelical Lutheran Church in Bedminister Township, also known as Keller's Lutheran Church; Springfield Reformed Church in Springfield Township; Evangelical Lutheran Church in Nockamixon Township; St. Luke's Reformed Church, Ferndale in Nockamixon Township; Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church, Trumbauersville in Milford Township. Also includes the journal of John Dyer, Plumsteadville, Plumstead Township, beginning in 1769.

PAGenWeb, list of Bucks County churches.

Catholic

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
The Blue Ridge District of the Eastern States Mission comprised church members living in southeastern Pennsylvania. District headquarters were in Lancaster, with branches located in Bucks, Fulton, Lancaster, and York counties.

Dutch Reformed
Reformed Dutch Church, Churchville

Southampton Dutch Reformed Church

  • 1710 -1800 Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1710-1800: Southampton Dutch Reformed Church at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages.

Episcopalian
St. James's Church, Bristol

Early registers "were stolen to prevent their evidence in a lawsuit."[6]

Lutheran
Keller's Lutheran Church, Bedminster Township

  • 1751 -1798 Keller's Lutheran Church (Bucks County, Pennsylvania: Keller's Church, Bedminster Township) at Ancestry ($).

Nockamixon

  • 1770 -1820 Bucks County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1770-1820: Nockamixon Township at Ancestry ($). Includes baptisms, marriages, and deaths from Nockamixon Evangelical Lutheran Congregation, Nockamixon Lutheran Congregation, and Nockamixon Reformed Congregation.

Tohickon

Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church, Springfield Township

  • 1751 -1795 Hinke, William J. Trinity Union Church, Record of the Lutheran Congregation, Springfield Township, Bucks Co., Pennsylvania, 1751-95 at Ancestry ($).
  • 1760 -1800 Hinke, William J. Trinity Union Church, Record of the Reformed Congregation, Springfield Township, Bucks Co., Pennsylvania, 1760-1800 at Ancestry ($).
  • 1760 -1829 Hinke, William J. Trinity Union Church, Springfield Township, Bucks County, Pennsylvania Records of the Reformed Church, 1760-1829 at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, deaths.
  • 1801 -1829 Trinity Union Reformed Church, Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1801-29 at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.

Upper Tinicum Lutheran Church

  • 1883 -1928 Upper Tinicum Lutheran Church Burials 1883-1928 at PAGenWeb

Presbyterian
Several Presbyterian churches were built in Bucks County to accommodate Scotch-Irish settlers. Neshaminy Presbyterian Church in Warwick Township was organized in 1726. A Presbyterian Church was organized at "Craig's Settlement" by 1737. Mount Bethel Presbyterian Church was organized in 1738 in "Hunter's Settlement" in Lower and Upper Mount Bethel Townships. The latter two churches fell within the bounds of Northampton after it split off in 1751. Neshaminy Presbyterian Church

  • 1788 -1885 Neshaminy Presbyterian Church of Warminster and Warwick, Hartsville, Marriage Index 1788-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M535091
  • 1788 -1885 Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1788-1885: Neshaminy Presbyterian Church at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.

Newtown Presbyterian Church

Presbyterian Church, Bensalem

Solebury Presbyterian Church

  • 1812 -1867 Solebury Presbyterian Church, Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1812-67 at Ancestry ($).

Reformed
Durham Union Church, Durham Township

First Reformed Church, Quakertown

  • Snyder, Elam J. Historical Sketch of First Reformed Church and Auxiliary Organizations, Quakertown, Pa.: Including a List of Present Members of Congregation and Societies 1919. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Nockamixon

  • 1770 -1820 Bucks County, Pennsylvania Church Records, 1770-1820: Nockamixon Township at Ancestry ($). Includes baptisms, marriages, and deaths from Nockamixon Evangelical Lutheran Congregation, Nockamixon Lutheran Congregation, and Nockamixon Reformed Congregation.

Reformed Dutch Church, Smithfield

Reformed Nether Dutch Church, Southampton

St. Paul's Reformed Church, Applebachsville Township

Tohickon Union Reformed Church

  • 1744 -1801 Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1744-1801: Tohickon Union Reformed Church at Ancestry ($).
  • 1745 -1869 Tohickon Union Reformed Church Baptism Index 1745-1869 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C507551[8]
  • 1750 -1800 Hinke, William J. A History of the Tohickon Union Church, Bedminster Township, Bucks County, Pennsylvania: With Copy of Church Records, Reformed Congregation, Lutheran Congregation Meadville, Pa.: Tribune Pub. Co., 1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.
  • 1755 -1855 Tohickon Union Reformed Church Marriage Index 1755-1855 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M507551

Trinity Union Reformed Church

  • 1801 -1829 Trinity Union Reformed Church, Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1801-29 at Ancestry ($). Baptisms, marriages, burials.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.

  • 1677 -1687 "A Partial List of the Families Who Resided in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, Prior to 1687, With the Date of Their Arrival," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 9 (1885):223-233. For online access, see WeRelate.

Indentured Servants

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe. Online at: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes list of imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[9]

  • Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans' Court
    55 East Court Street, 3rd Floor
    Doylestown, PA 18901
    Phone: 215-348-6265 (Register of Wills)
    Phone: 215-348-6271 (Orphans’ Court)
    Website
    The Archive Research Center is open to the public. No appointment is required to visit. The Center has birth records prior to 1907.

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.

Land records in Bucks County began in 1684. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Doylestown, Pennsylvania.

Online Land Records

  • 1980 – present Bucks County offers online access to land records. Fees apply.

Land Records on Microfilm

Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Bucks County
  • United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Bucks County (more than 2000 entries)
    (may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)

Maps

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to Bucks County for European settlers included:

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
Local men served in the Bucks County Associators and the Bucks County Militia. A guide at the Pennsylvania State Archives website identifies townships where specific companies recruited soldiers, see Revolutionary War Militia Battalions and Companies, Arranged by County.

Bucks County men also served in the 2nd Pennsylvania Regiment[10] and the 5th Pennsylvania Regiment[10].

During the Revolutionary period, committees of safety governed local communities. Minutes of the Bucks County Committee have been published:

  • "Minutes of the Committee of Safety of Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1774-1776," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 15 (1891):257-290. For online access, see WeRelate.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.

Newspapers of Bucks County

Online Newspapers

To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Index

  • McNealy Terry A. (compiler), Index to Bucks County references in the Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1789 (Doylestown, Pennsylvania:Bucks County Genealogical Society) FHL book 974.821 B3m Alphabetically arranged by surnames and subjects. "Bucks County had no newspaper of its own in the 18th century.--Intro."

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.

Online Obituary Abstracts

Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts

  • A Record of deaths in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, and territory immediately contiguous, 1934-1956: compiled mainly from the newspapers of the county; also burials in Richlandtown, Doylestown, Deep Run Mennonite, Kellers Church, and New Britain Beulah cemeteries (SLC, Utah, 1958) FHL film 172930 (first of 4)

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate matters in Bucks County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.

In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.

Online Probate Indexes

Online Probate Records

  • 1684 -1958 Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org. Includes Bucks County Will Index (1684-1831), Will Abstracts (1685-1825), Will Books 1-32 (1684-1906), Wills and Letters of Administration (1684-1693); Estate Index (1684-1939); Inventories (1684-1688); Orphans' Court Record Index (1683-1958), Orphans' Court Records Vols. 1-16 (1752-1866); Register's Dockets Vols. 4-9 (1839-1913).
  • 1684 -1693 "Bucks County Wills, 1684-1693," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 1 (Jul. 1897):198-224. For online access, see WeRelate

Online Probate Abstracts

Original Probate Records on Microfilm

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

  • 1726 -1930 Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
  • 1852 -1855 Bucks County Birth Index 1852-1855 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C524001[11]
  • 1852 -1854 Pennsylvania Births Ancestry $

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officals. Contact Bucks County Courthouse

Death[edit | edit source]

Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

Death Substitutes

  • Bucks County (Pennsylvania). Coroner. Coroner's Views and Inquisitions, 1710-1906; Index, 1722-1946. Coroner's reports supply information on accidental or suspicious deaths.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.

  • The Archive Research Center, located on the third floor of the Bucks County Courthouse
    Genealogical and Archival Search Requests is available for the public. The site lists what records can be searched by staff and the cost.
Open to the public for genealogical research. The Bucks County Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphan's Court has microfilm records dating back to 1684. Some original records are stored off-site and are available by advance request. Copy services (by fee) include the following:
1684 -1950 Genealogical Search Request, index search by name
1684 -1987 Index printout with name, death year, index number
1987 - present Index printout also includes date of death
1885 - present Marriage Application Record, Certified Application, Marriage Certificate
1893 -1906 Certified Birth/Death Record


  • National Archives at Philadelphia
    14700 Townsend Road
    Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
    Phone: (215) 305-2044
    Fax (215) 305-2052
    Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Bucks County Library Network
    Website
Bucks County Free Library is a seven-branch county library system. An online catalog is available, and shows a sizable genealogy and biography collection.
  • The Mennonite Heritage Center
    565 Yoder Road
    Harleysville, PA 19438-1020
    Phone: 215-256-3020
    Email: library@mhep.org
    Website
The Mennonite Historians of Eastern Pennsylvania support the John L. Ruth Historical Library and Museum at the Mennonite Heritage Center. Located in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania the records and resources of this treasure also cover the counties of Bucks, Chester, Berks, Lehigh, Northampton, and Philadelphia. The website provides a comprehensive overview of library resources, online cemetery database, manuscript collections, photo collections, archival collections, and more.

Museums[edit | edit source]

The village of Fallsington was significant as a religious, social and market center for the surrounding area and a stop for stagecoaches. There are several historic homes and buildings as well as a manuscript collection with genealogical and historical records.

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Bucks County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 826
    Washington Crossing, PA 18977
    Website
The BCGS was formed in February 2012 and has about 150 members. Monthly meetings feature informative speakers on topics of interest to genealogists. One of its projects is a Cemetery Assessment Project, with the goal of gathering information such as location of burial records and contact information for all the cemeteries in Bucks County.
  • Bucks County Historical Society
    84 South Pine Street
    Doylestown, PA 18901
    Phone: 215-345-0210
    Website
RolloPAC/ onine catalog is the Online Catalog of the Bucks County Historical Society.
The Bucks County Historical Society operates the Mercer Museum and the Fonthill Castle. The research library of the museum is the major research center for local and family history related to Bucks County and the surrounding region. The Library houses over 20,000 books, periodicals and pamphlets, 2500 feet of county archives, over 800 manuscript collections, over 12,000 images, and maps and other records that document local history, and more. The online catalog searches collections of the Archives, the Museum, and the Library as well as an obituary collection from 2000 to the present.

The Library is the repository for many Bucks County government records dating from 1683. These records come from the offices of the Court of Quarter Sessions, Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans Court, Prothonotary and the County Commissioners. Special indexes to county collections include the following: naturalization records (1802-1906), criminal papers (1697-1786), quarter sessions (1684-1700), coroners papers (1700-1900), divorces (1806-1948), marriage licenses (1852-1854, 1885-1946), vendues (1784-1884), tavern licenses (1742-1923), deed books and grantor/grantee index (1684-1919), wills and administrations (1684-1900), and mechanics liens (1836-1949).

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bucks_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/1/2017
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/86/Igipennsylvaniabb.pdf.
  6. Philip Syng Physick Conner,"Registers of the Anglican Church in Pennsylvania prior to 1800," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12 (1888):341-349. For online access, see WeRelate.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/2/23/Igipennsylvaniac.pdf.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/2/23/Igipennsylvaniac.pdf.
  9. The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012
  10. 10.0 10.1 John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977). Digital version at Family History Archive.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/86/Igipennsylvaniabb.pdf.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/86/Igipennsylvaniabb.pdf.