To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RogersBA/Sandbox/PA 36

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lancaster County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lancaster
Organized: October 14, 1728
Parent County(s): Chester[1]
Neighboring Counties
Berks  • Chester  • Harford (MD)  • York  • Cecil (MD)  • Dauphin  • Lebanon
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Lancaster County PA Map.png
Adoption
Pa-rootsbuttonwiki.gif This user is a member of PA Roots and its members, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Lancaster, Lancashire. It is located in the Southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lancaster County Courthouse
50 N. Duke St.
P.O. Box 83480
Lancaster, PA 17608-3480
Phone: 717-299-8041
Fax: 717-295-3599
Clerk of Courts: 717-299-8275
Prothonotary: 717-299-8282
Register of Wills/Orphan's Court: 717-299-8242 or 299-8243, 717-295-2001
Website

Lancaster County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1885 bef 1906 1729 1729 1729 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1906. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Formed from Chester County 14 October 1728. [4]
  • County seat: Lancaster[5]
  • 14 October 1749: York County set off.
  • 14 October 1751: Berks County set off.
  • 27 January 1750: Cumberland County set off.
  • 21 March 1772: Northumberland County set off.
  • 16 October 1813: Lebanon County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Some Biographies of Lancaster County courtesy USGenWeb.org

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Indentured Servants

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe. Online at: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes list of imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

  • Cemeteries of Lancaster County in Adamstown & Akron Boroughs and Bart, Brecknock, & Caernarvon Townships. Lists of cemeteries, some with lists of burials

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links and tips on using Federal (or United States) census records online for Lancaster County, see: Pennsylvania Census.

There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.

County-wide Database - Multi-denominational

Lancaster County Pennsylvania Churches
Contains the church records of:
  • Columbia: Presbyterian Church; United Church of Christ
  • Eden: Mount Hope United Methodist Church
  • Ephrata: Bethany United Church of Christ
  • Lancaster: First Presbyterian Church; Salem United Church of Christ; St. John's Episcopal Church
  • Leacock: Christ Episcopal Church
  • Lititz: St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Maytown: St. John's Lutheran Church
  • Millersville: St. Paul Lutheran Church
  • Mohnton: Swamp Lutheran Church
  • Reamstown: Salem Lutheran Church
  • Rohrerstown: Trinity Lutheran Church
  • Rothsville: Jerusalem Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • 1723-1800 Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, Lancaster County, 1723-1800 2 vols. Washington, D.C.: Humphrey Publications, 1997. FHL Book 974.815 K2h.
Contains records from the following churches: Sadsbury Monthly Meeting, Sadsbury Township; Little Britain Monthly Meeting, Little Britain Township; St. James' Protestant Episcopal Church, Lancaster; Muddy Creek Lutheran Church, East Cocalico Township; Emanuel Lutheran Church, Elizabeth Township, also called Old Warwick Lutheran Church; Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, Lancaster; Moravian Church, Lancaster; First Reformed Church, Lancaster; Trinity Lutheran Church, New Holland; St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Lancaster; Zion Lutheran Church, Manheim; Muddy Creek Reformed Church, East Cocalico Township; Bangor Protestant Episcopal Church, Caenarfon [sic] Township; Bergstrasse Lutheran Church, Ephrata Township; Records of Rev. John Waldschmidt; Records of Rev. John Cuthbertson; Records of Rev. Traugott Frederick Illing; Christ Lutheran Church, Elizabethtown; St. Michael's Lutheran Church, Strasburg; Swamp Reformed Church, West Cocalico Township; Zion Reformed Church, Elizabeth Township, also known as Reyer's Reformed Church; Blasser Reformed Church, West Donegal Township; White Oak Lutheran and Reformed churches, Penn Township; Zeltenreich/Seltenreich Reformed Church, Earl Township; Maytown Reformed Church, East Donegal Township; St. Paul's Reformed Church, Manheim; Pequea Reformed, Strasburg Township; Maytown Lutheran Church, East Donegal Township; Cocalico Reformed Church, Ephrata; Records of Rev. John Casper Stoever, Jr.; Moravian Church, Lititz.

Amish
Lancaster County had one of the largest Mennonite and Amish populations in Pennsylvania in the 1800s.

Catholic

  • 1787-1804 St. Mary's Catholic Church, Lancaster, PA Marriages, Baptisms, Burials 1787-1804 at PAGenWeb

Church of the Brethren

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
The Blue Ridge District of the Eastern States Mission comprised church members living in southeastern Pennsylvania. District headquarters were in Lancaster, with branches located in Bucks, Fulton, Lancaster, and York counties.

Ephrata Community

  • 1728-1853 Sachse, Julius F. "The Registers of the Ephrata Community," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Burials 1728-1853: Vol. 14 (1890):297-312, Burials 1730s-1813: 387-402. For online access, see WeRelate. Also available on the Church of the Brethren Network website.

Episcopalian

St. James's Church, Lancaster

Registers begin in 1755.[6]

  • 1755-1759 Private Marriage Register of Rev. Thomas Barton, in York County, Pennsylvania in "Private Church Registers to 1800, York County, Pennsylvania" at Ancestry ($).
  • 1755-1756, 1783-1796 St. James Church, Lancaster, Baptism Index 1755-1756 and 1783-1796 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C507311

St. John's Church, Pequea

Registers are lost, but some parishioners appear in the registers of St. James's Church, Lancaster.[6]

St. Thomas's Church, Caernarvon

Registers are lost, but some parishioners appear in the registers of St. James's Church, Lancaster.[6]

Bangor Church, Caernarvon

Registers are lost, but some parishioners appear in the registers of St. James's Church, Lancaster. An old trunk was discovered at Bangor Church with "sundry account-books and ancient title-deeds."[6]

Evangelical

Salem Church of the Evangelical Association, Lancaster

Trinity Church, Lititz

Evangelical Lutheran

Rev. John Casper Stoever's Records, 1730-1779:

Book: Records of Rev. John Casper Stoever, Baptismal and Marriage, 1730-1779. (Harrisburg, PA: Harrisburg Pub.,1896). Digital version: Internet Archive.
Transcripts:
- Rev. John Casper Stoever’s Baptisms in Alphabetical Order
- Marriage Records of Rev. John Casper Stoever with all 1,429 marriages compiled by Mildred Smith (Lancaster County Genealogy Project).

Augustus Evangelical Lutheran Church, New Providence

Bergstrasse Evangelical Lutheran Church, Ephrata Township

Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church, Elizabethtown

Lutheran

  • Weiser, Frederick Sheely. Parochial Registers for Lutheran Congregations in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, 1729-1960: A Guide to Genealogical Resources in the Parish Records of Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, As Well As to Translations and Copies in Print in Public Institutions Lancaster, Pa.: unknown, 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Cocalico Evangelisch Luttnusche

Evangelical Church, Lutheran County

Evangelical Lutheran Congregation, Mount Joy

Swamp Lutheran Church, Reinholds

Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church, New Holland

White Oaks Lutheran and Reformed Church, Penn Township

Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church, Manheim

Mennonites
Lancaster County had one of the largest Mennonite and Amish populations in Pennsylvania in the 1800s.

Presbyterian
The first Scotch-Irish settlement in Lancaster County was made at Chickies Creek in 1714. Donegal Presbyterian Church was built there shortly thereafter. Pequea Presbyterian Church, constructed at another early Scotch-Irish settlement, was built in 1724.[7]

Paxtang Church and Derry Church were both organized in 1729.

  • 1741-1810 Marriage Record of Paxtang and Derry Churches, 1741-1810 (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 2, Vol. 8, Part 10) at Ancestry ($); Google Books

The Hanover Presbyterian Church was built in 1736 in a Scotch-Irish settlement. This ground later fell within the bounds of Dauphin County and still later Lebanon County after those counties split off.[8]

Cedar Grove Presbyterian Church, East Earl

Middle Octorara Presbyterian Church, Quarryville

Seltenreich Presbyterian Church

Quaker

  • 1800s-1900s Pennsylvania Quaker Records: Warrington, York County, Little Brittain, Lancaster County, Centre, Centre County, West Branch, Clearfield County, Dunnings Creek, Bedford County n.p. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive

Reformed

First Reformed Church, Lancaster

Keller's Reformed Church, Cocalico

Muddy Creek Reformed Church, East Cocalico Township

Reformed Church of Cocalico

Reformed Church of Maytown

  • 1774-1819 - Transcript of baptismal record of the Reformed Church of Maytown, Lancaster County, 1765 (1774)-1819. Typescript held at the Franklin and Marshall College, Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Zion's Reformed Church, Brickerville

Roman Catholic

St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church

Court Records[edit | edit source]

For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.

Prothonotary
Office of Prothonotary
Katherine Wood-Jacobs – Prothonotary
50 N. Duke St
P.O. Box 83480
Lancaster, PA 17608-3480
Phone: 717-299-8282
Fax: 717-293-7210
Email: kwoodjacobs@co.lancaster.pa.us

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.

Major Scotch-Irish Settlements in the 1730's Lancaster County, Pennsylvania

Huguenots
Shirk, Willis L., Jr. "Assimilating into the Amerian Milieu: French Huguenots in Eighteenth Century Lancaster County", Lancaster Historical Society Journal, 95:3, 74.

Indentured Servants

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe. Online at: Immigrant Servants Database. Includes list of imported servants and transported convicts who served labor terms in Colonial York County, Pennsylvania.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[9]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.

Land records in Lancaster County began in 1728. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Online Land Records

Land Records on Microfilm

Maps

  • MacInnes, Sharon Cook and Angus MacInnes. Early Landowners of Pennsylvania: Atlas of Township Warrantee Maps of Lancaster County, PA Apollo, Pennsylvania: Closson Press, 2008. FHL book 974.815 E7ms
  • Gilbert, Geri. The Warrant Maps of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania: Including an Every-name IndexMorgantown, Pennsylvania: Masthof Press, 2005. FHL Q book 974.815 R2g

Note that the "Maps" section below also includes maps related to land ownership.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Media:Lancaster county pennsylvania townships.pngLancaster county pennsylvania townships.png
About this image

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Lancaster County

Maps

Click the image to view an enlarged version

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War
In 1756, Colonel Armstrong recruited many Scotch-Irish men from Lancaster County. They attacked and destroyed the Indian village at Kittanning (present-day Armstrong County).[10]

Colonel Henry Bouquet led a group of Scotch-Irish men from Lancaster County to rescue Fort Pitt. They decisively defeated the Indians at the Battle of Bushy Run.

Reverend John Elder, pastor of Derry and Paxtang churches, recruited Scotch-Irish rangers from his congregation in Lancaster County. Known as the Paxton Rangers or Paxton Boys, they provided security for white settlements between the Blue Mountains and the Susquehanna River. They are remembered for playing a prominent role in Pontiac's War.

Revolutionary War
Local men served in the Lancaster County Militia. A guide at the Pennsylvania State Archives website identifies townships where specific companies recruited soldiers, see Revolutionary War Militia Battalions and Companies, Arranged by County.

Lancaster County men also served in the 1st Pennsylvania Regiment,[11]. Digital version at Family History Archive, the 5th Pennsylvania Regiment, and the 9th Pennsylvania Regiment.[12]

Civil War
Pennsylvania Volunteers of the Civil War lists Lancaster County Pennsylvania Soldiers in the Civil War - Civil War Books, Rosters, Medal of Honor Recipients, and Soldier Biographies.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm

  • 1743 Extract aus der Registratur der Supreem Court zu Philadelphia FHL Collection

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.

Newspaper Collections

Father Abraham 6/12/1868-4/29/1870; 10/25/1872-12/13/1872
Lancaster Intelligencer 12/28/1847-12/27/1871

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers of Lancaster County

Online Newspapers

  • Lancaster Intelligencer 1833-1852
  • Marietta Register 1883-1890
  • Mariettian 1858-1860
  • Marietta Advocate and Farmers' and Mechanic's Intelligencer 1833-1835
  • Marietta Pioneer 9/1827-9/1828
  • Pioneer (Marietta) 9/26/1828-1/8/1830

The Lancaster County Digitization Project is a consortium of institutions interested in digitizing the county's newspaper and manuscript collections. Several Lancaster county newspapers are provided in digital format through this and other collaborative efforts.

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.

Online Obituary Abstracts

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate matters in Lancaster County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.

In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.

Online Probate Indexes

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

The Salt Lake City Family History Library has microfilmed many Lancaster County taxation records, and they are available in Salt Lake City and can be accessed in its satellite Family History Centers.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

The following records are available at the Lancaster County Archives :

Online Resources:

  • 1726-1930 Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
  • 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Births Ancestry $

Old birth records for Lancaster County from 1881 through 1906 are kept by the Register of Wills.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officals. Contact Lancaster County Courthouse

Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Lancaster County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for marriage records from 2004 to the present. It is best to contact the Lancaster County Archives for marriage records prior to 2004.

The following records are available at the Lancaster County Archives :

  • 1852-1855 Marriage Registrations
  • 1885-2004 Marriage License Applications

Online Resources:

Death[edit | edit source]

Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary.

  • 1851-1997 Divorce Records, online index (select Index Book Search)

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.

  • National Archives at Philadelphia
    14700 Townsend Road
    Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
    Phone: 215-305-2044
    Fax: 215-305-2052
    website


  • Lancaster County Archives
    150 North Queen Street, Suite 10
    Lancaster, PA 17603
    Phone: 717-299-8319
    Fax: 717-735-9606
    Email: archives@co.lancaster.pa.us
    Website
    The archives has historic records, such as wills and deeds from the beginning of the county in 1729.


  • Evangelical and Reformed Historical Society (ERHS)] and United Church of Christ Archives (UCC)
    555 W. James Street
    Lancaster, PA 17603
    Phone: 717-290-8734
    Philip Schaff Library Website
    Website
This site has church records and family histories that used to be at the Franklin and Marshall College Library.


  • Bethel Harambee Historical Services
    Hopkins Study Center
    Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church
    450-512 East Strawberry
    Lancaster, PA 17602-4449
    Phone: 717-393-8379
    Website
Has historical documents relating to African American history.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Franklin and Marshall College Library
    Archives and Special Collections
    450 College Ave
    P.O. Box 3003
    Lancaster, PA 17604
    Phone: 717-291-4223
    Website
    Has some genealogical data about College faculty, students and administrators only. All church records and family histories were moved to the Lancaster Theological Seminary in 1967.
  • Winters Heritage House Museum
    Seibert Genealogy Library and Research Center
    Elizabethtown Preservation Associates, Inc.
    P.O. Box 14, 41-47 East High Street
    Elizabethtown, PA 17022
    Phone: 717-367-4672
    Fax: 717-367-9991
    Email: winters-hh@embarqmail.com
    website
The library has historical and family records, maps, photographs, etc. Call ahead to make an appointment with a research librarian. The museum has three original log structures dating from 1750-1847, and a brick house dating to 1877.

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania
    Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania
    300 Gap Road
    P. O. Box 15
    Strasburg, PA 17579
    Phone: 717-687-8628
    Website
    The Museum has thousands of historic books and magazines about railroads plus a large collection of photographs, maps, and manuscripts including a timeline. There is also a library and archives. Try their catalogs to see specific information.
The cloister has a small research library that is open weekdays by appointment only. Limited genealogical materials are available. "The staff is unable to answer genealogical queries, but can provide some advice on available sources." The Cloister is one of 26 historic sites and museums on the Pennsylvania Trail of History.
  • Winters Heritage House Museum
    Elizabethtown Preservation Associates of Winters Heritage House Museum
    41-47 East High Street
    P.O. Box 14
    Elizabethtown, PA 17022
    Phone: 717-367-4672
    Fax: 717-367-9991
    Email: winters-hh@embarqmail.com
    website.

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • LancasterHistory.org
    Lancaster County's Historical Society and President James Buchanan's Wheatland
    230 North President Avenue
    Lancaster, PA 17603
    Phone: 717-392-4633
    Fax: 717-293-2739
    Email: info@lancasterhistory.org
    Website
The archive has county records, manuscripts, newspapers, and more. LancasterHistory is a community-based, not-for-profit organization established to educate the public on the history of Lancaster County and its place in the history of Pennsylvania and the United States, to advance the missions of regional historical organizations, and to promote the acquisition, preservation, and interpretation of resources representing the history of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania within the broader context of state and national history, including the life and legacy of America’s fifteenth president, James Buchanan, and to preserve and maintain Wheatland, his home.
This historical center has a library and archives with many records of genealogical value. Their collection contains over 15,000 volumes, as well as maps, family files, subject information files, photographs, oral histories, microfilm, and CDs. A reference collection consisting of indexes, genealogical and historical journals, and books is available for browsing. All other books are housed in closed stacks and must be requested at the reference desk. Lancaster city and county directories 1847-1922 and directories for several other Lancaster cities have been digitized and are available online.
  • Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society
    2215 Millstream Rd
    Lancaster, PA 17602-1499
    Phone: 717-393-9745
    Fax: 717-393-8751
    Website
    Email: lmhs@lmhs.org
This is the official depository for records of the Atlantic Coast and Lancaster Conferences of the Mennonite Church. In addition, it has many records of other organizations affiliated with them. It also has helps for genealogists.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • The Lancaster County PA GenWeb Project, has numerous maps, church records, local histories, family histories, and other genealogical and historical information for Lancaster county.
  • FamilyHart Online Database This is an online family database containing over 843,000 records, mostly of Pennsylvania Dutch Extraction. Many of the families are from Lancaster County. This database adds 1,500 names per week which is updated online every quarter. It is the most comprehensive family database online for Pennsylvania Dutch families.
  • Pennsylvania Dutch Family History, Genealogy, Culture and Life This site contains links to everything Pennsylvania Dutch with a large concentration in Lancaster County.
  • Lancaster County PA Genealogy
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lancaster_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/12/2017
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 Philip Syng Physick Conner,"Registers of the Anglican Church in Pennsylvania prior to 1800," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12 (1888):341-349. For online access, see WeRelate.
  7. Wayland F. Dunaway, The Scotch-Irish of Colonial Pennsylvania (Chapel Hill, N.C.: The University of North Carolina Press, 1944), 52. Free digital version at PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf at Penn State.
  8. Wayland F. Dunaway, The Scotch-Irish of Colonial Pennsylvania (Chapel Hill, N.C.: The University of North Carolina Press, 1944), 53-54. Free digital version at PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf at Penn State.
  9. The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012
  10. Wayland F. Dunaway, The Scotch-Irish of Colonial Pennsylvania (Chapel Hill, N.C.: The University of North Carolina Press, 1944), 150-154. Free digital version at PA's Past: Digital Bookshelf at Penn State.
  11. John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977)
  12. Wikipedia contributors, "9th Pennsylvania Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/9th_Pennsylvania_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  13. Our thanks to FamilyHart at PAGenWeb for this link.
  14. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
  15. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.