User:RogersBA/Sandbox/NC 88

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Transylvania County

Guide to Transylvania County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Brevard
Organized: 1861
Parent County(s): Henderson and Jackson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Buncombe  • Greenville (SC)  • Haywood  • Henderson  • Jackson  • Oconee (SC)  • Pickens (SC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaTransylvaniaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-transylvania.png
Adoption
Logonew small.gif This user is a member of NCGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information

Description

Transylvania County is located in the southwestern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. Representative Joseph P. Jordan, who was born on a farm in Transylvania, introduced a bill to the North Carolina House of Commons to establish a new county and he chose the name Transylvania from Latin words meaning "over the trees" or "across the woods".[2]

County Courthouse

Transvylvania County Courthouse
12 E Main Street
PO Box 417
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 828-884-3162
Transvylvania County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913, marriage and land records from 1861 and military records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records.[3]

Transylvania County, North Carolina Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1861 1861 1861 1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1861 Transylvania County was created from Henderson and Jackson Counties.
  • County seat: Brevard[4]

From 1789-1820, there was a boundary dispute between North Carolina and Georgia for a county known as Walton County. It was located in what is now Transylvania County, North Carolina, and the dispute was serious enough that the two statesdispatched their militias in what was known as Walton's War. See copy of Map under below collections. Read more about Walton's War.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Transylvania County, North Carolina:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Transylvania County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

NC Transylvania

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Transylvania County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Transylvania County:

- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Transylvania Genealogical Society
    189 West Main Street
    PO Box 2347
    Brevard, NC 28712
    Website
  • Old Buncombe County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 2122
    Asheville, NC 28802-2122
  • Transylvania County Historical Society, Inc.
    PO Box 2061
    Brevard, NC 28712
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://www.main.nc.us/transylvania/history.html
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=User:RogersBA/Sandbox/NC_88&oldid=3473122"