To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:RobersBA/Sandbox/NC 41

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Guilford County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Greensboro
Organized: December 5 1770
Parent County(s): Orange and Rowan[1]
Neighboring Counties
Alamance  • Davidson  • Forsyth  • Randolph  • Rockingham  • Stokes
See County Maps
Courthouse
Need courthouse pic
Location Map
Nc-guilford.png
Adoption
Logonew small.gif This user is a member of NCGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Guilford County is located in the Central portion of North Carolina and was named for Francis North, First Earl of Guilford and father of the prime minister of Great Britain at the time[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Guilford County Courthouse
201 S Eugene St
PO Box 3427
Greensboro, NC 27402
Phone: 336-641-7556

Courthouse Burned 1872. Many older records are still avialable.[3] See Record Loss section below

Register of Deeds
Register of Deeds has
birth and death records from 1913. The office also has a limited list of slave deeds, available online at Guilford County Register of Deeds

Offices for the Register of Deeds in Guilford County are located in the county seat in of Greensboro, and in High Point.

Greensboro'
'Mail:
Register of Deeds
PO Box 3427
Greensboro, NC 27403
Telephone: 336-641-7556
'Visit:
2nd floor of the BB&T building
201 West Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27401

High Point'
'Mail:
Register of Deeds
PO Box 1467
High Point, NC 27761
Telephone: 336-641-7556
'Visit:
325 East Russell Avenue, Room 155
High Point, NC 27260

Email: guilforddeeds@myguilford.com

Hours: 8-5 Monday through Friday for both locations. Closed on all major holidays.

For Divorce Records, contact the Clerk of the Superior Court.

North Carolina Vital Records'

'Mail:
North Carolina Vital Records
1903 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699

'Visit:
North Carolina Vital Records - Cooper Memorial Health Building
225 N. McDowell Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
Telephone: 919-733-3000
Fax: 919-733-1511

Hours: 8-3 Monday through Friday.

Guilford County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1800 1741 1906 1771 1794

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1781' - Fire burned courthouse
1872' - Courthouse fire resulted in some loss of records.

– 1

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1770--Guilford County was created 5 December 1770 from Orange and Rowan Counties, but it did not start administration of its territory until 1 April 1771, so no Guilford records exist before that date.
  • County seat: Greensboro[4]

The law creating Guilford County was passed in 1770, and the county started administration of its territory on April 1, 1771. Any land records prior to that time will be in the records of other counties. Approximately, the western two-thirds of the county came from Rowan County, and the eastern one-third came from Orange County. Rowan was created in 1753 from Anson County, and Orange was created in 1752 from parts of Johnston, Bladen, and Granville counties.

Old Guilford County was three times larger than present-day Guilford County, since Randolph County was created from the southern third of Guilford in 1779, and Rockingham County was created from the northern third of Old Guilford in 1785.

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Guilford County, North Carolina:

' Major Cities

  • Archdale (part)
  • Gibsonville (part)
  • Greensboro (Wikipedia link)
  • High Point
  • Jamestown
  • Julian
  • Kernersville (part)
  • Oak Ridge
  • Pleasant Garden
  • Sedalia
  • Stokesdale
  • Summerfield
  • Whitsett

' Townships

  • Brownsummit
  • Bruce
  • Center Grove
  • Clay
  • Climax
  • Colfax
  • Deep River
  • Fentress
  • Forest Oaks
  • Fork
  • Friendship
  • Gilmer
  • Green
  • Jefferson
  • Madison
  • McLeansville
  • Monroe
  • Monticello
  • Morehead
  • Rock Creek
  • Sedgefield
  • Sumner
  • Vandalia
  • Washington

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Guilford County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

'Baptist

  • Caraway Creek. Founded before 1773.[5]
  • Cross Roads. Constituted 1786.[5]
  • Sandy Creek. Founded 1755.[5][6] Later located in Randolph.

'The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records

  • Greensboro

'German Reformed

  • Old Brick Church, near Whitsett, N.C. Organized late 1700s.[7]

'Lutheran

  • Friedens Church, near Gibsonville, N.C. Organized before 1791.[8]
  • Low's Lutheran Church, near Kimesville, N.C. Organized about 1771.[9]

'Presbyterian

  • Alamance Church, near Greensboro, N.C. Organized about 1764.[10]
  • Buffalo Church, Greensboro, N.C. Organized about 1764.[11]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

'African Americans

  • AAHGS-Afro-American Historical & Genealogical Society

They have a local chapter for the North Carolina Piedmont/Triad. They have bi-monthly meetings. You can find out more information and a list of upcoming meetings on their website at: ncaahgs.org

The center has a permanent exhibit and has several other special exhibits, events, and speakers. A list of special events, hours, and admission prices can found on their website at: www.sitinmovement.org

  • North Carolina Agriculture & Technical State University

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The deed books are online! http://rdlxweb.co.guilford.nc.us/guilfordNameSearch.php Click on Old Index Books to find the indices.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Arnett, Ethel Stephens, Greensboro, North Carolina: The County Seat of Guilford, Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Press, 1955, 1983 (excerpt) (Google Books link)
  • Arnett, Ethel Stephens, The Saura and Keyauwee in the Land that Became Guilfod, Randolph, and Rockingham, Greensboro, North Carolina: Media, 1975.
  • Batchelor, John, The Guilford County Schools: A History, Winston-Salem, North Carolina: John F. Blair, 1991.
  • Bowles, David, Spring House (Book 1 in the Westward Sagas), Plum Creek Press, 2006.
  • Greensboro Business Directory, 1886 (GenWeb Archives)
  • Guilford County Bicentennial Commission, Guilford County, a Brief History, Greensboro, North Carolina: Guilford County Bicentennial Commission, 1971.
  • Guilford County, NC GenWeb Local History (includes links to book excerpts)
  • Hatch, Charles E., Jr., The Battle of Guilford Courthouse, Washington, D.C.: National Park Service, 1971.
  • Haworth, Cecil E., Deep River Friends: A Valiant People, Greensboro, North Carolina: North Carolina Friends Historical Society, 1985.
  • Haworth, Sara A., Springfield, 1773-1940: A History of the Establishment and Growth of the Springfield Monthly Meeting of Friends, High Point, North Carolina: Barber-Hall Printing Company, 1940.
  • High Point Business Directory, 1886 (GenWeb Archives)
  • Hill, Jane Smith, An Annotated Digest of Will Book A, Guilford County, North Carolina, 1771-May Court 1816, Heritage Books, 2007. (Google Books link)
  • Hughes, Fred, Guilford County: A Map Supplement, The Custom House, 1988. (excerpt)
  • Jordan, Pauls Stahls, Women of Guilford County, North Carolina: A Study of Women's Contributions, 1740-1979, Greensboro, North Carolina: Women of Guilford, 1979. (Google Books link)
  • Kars, Marjoleine, Breaking Loose Together: The Regulator Rebellion in Pre-Revolutionary North Carolina.
  • Pegg, William Wesley, Sr., Something of the Story of Deep River, Greensboro, North Carolina: Self-published, 1980.
  • Robinson, Blackwell P., and Alexander R. Stoesen, ed. by Sydney M. Cone, Jr., The History of Guilford County, North Carolina, U.S.A. to 1980, A.D., 1981.
  • Salsi, Lynn, and Burke Salsi, Guilford County: Heart of the Piedmont (The Making of America series), Arcadia Publishing, 2002. (Google Books link)
  • Scarlette, Gladys, Summerfield, North Carolina: A Pictorial History, Greensboro, North Carolina: Younts, 1995.
  • Sharpe, Stella Gentry, Tobe, Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Press, 1939.
  • Sloan, John Alexander, Reminiscences of the Guilford Grays, Co. B, 27th N.C. Regiment, Washington, D.C.: R.C. Polkinhorn, 1883.
  • Stockard, Sallie Walker, The History of Guilford County, North Carolina, 1902 (complete text in Google Books) (complete text in Internet Archive)
  • Stoesen, Alexander R., Guilford County: A Brief History, 2000 (Google Books link) (NC Office of Archives & History Publications Shop)
  • Teague, Bobbie T., Cane Creek: Mother of Meetings, North Carolina Friends Historical Society, 1995.
  • Weatherly, Andrew Earl, The First Hundred Years of Historic Guilford, 1771-1871, Greensboro, North Carolina: Greensboro Print Company, 1972.
  • Zopf, Paul E., The People of Guilford: Growth and Changes in the Population of Guilford County, Greensboro, North Carolina: Chamber of Commerce, 1972.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncguilford.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

'Revolutionary War

'Civil War

'Online Records

'Other Resources

  • Moore, Carol. Greensboro's Confederate Soldiers (Images of America series). Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing, 2008. | Google Books page (limited preview)

Regiments. Men in Guilford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Guilford County:

-2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company F
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 2nd Company E
- 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company I
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company K
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company C
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company D

'World War I

'World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

'County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

'Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

'Yearbooks

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Guilford County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 4713, Dept. W
    Greensboro, NC 27404-4713
    Facebook Home

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/guilford
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:227-228, 230; 2:564. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  6. "Sandy Creek Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
  7. "Old Brick Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  8. "Friedens Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  9. "Low's Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  10. "Alamance Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  11. "Buffalo Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn*1763-1868 - [https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/2524877 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868] at [https://www.familysearch.org/search FamilySearch] /wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.