User:Ridgew/Sandbox/Germany, Prussia, Saxony, Census Lists, 1770-1934

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Germany Gotoarrow.png Prussia Gotoarrow.png Saxony-Anhalt

Access the Records
This article describes a collection of records scheduled to become available at
Saxony, Prussia,  Germany
Flag of the German Empire.svg.png
Flag of the German Empire, 1871-1917
German Empire - Prussia - Saxony (1871).svg.png
Location of Saxony, Prussia, Germany
German Empire blank map.svg.png
Map of the German Empire, 1871-1917
Record Description
Record Type Census Lists
Collection years: 1770-1934
Languages: German
FamilySearch Resources
Related Websites

What is in This Collection?

This collection contains an index to census records from the province of Saxony in Prussia, now the modern state of Saxony-Anhalt in Germany.

What Can These Records Tell Me?

Individual Census Records may contain:

  • Enumeration district
  • Full name and gender
  • Birth date and place
  • Marital status
  • Place of residence
  • Occupation
  • Religion

Household Census Records may contain:

  • Household number and street address
  • Name of head of household
  • Full names of all members of household
  • Relationship to head of household

How Do I Search This Collection?

Before searching, it is best to know the following information:

  • Name of the person
  • Census year

As you search, compare your results with this information to find a match.

Search the Index

  • Go to the Collection Page
  • Fill in the search boxes with the information you have
  • Click Search to return a list of possible matches

What Do I Do Next?

I Found the Person I Was Looking for, What Now?

  • Copy down all the information in the index entry.
  • Cite the index entry. See below for help citing records in this collection.

I Can't Find the Person I Am Looking for, Now What?

  • When looking for an individual with a common name, look at all the search results before deciding which is the correct person. Use other information, such as place of birth, age, occupation, or names of parents, to help with this decision. If listed, a personal title may be a clue to property ownership or occupation, either of which might be noted in other records.
  • Try variations of given names and surnames. An individual might appear under a different name in a record for a variety of reasons:
- An individual might have been listed under a middle name, nickname, or abbreviation of their given name.
- Spelling was not standardized for much of the period of this collection, so names were often spelled as scribes heard them. Pay attention to how the name should have been pronounced and try spelling variations that could have that pronunciation.
- Some women returned to their maiden names after the death of their husbands.
  • Vary the search terms. For example, expand the date range or search by either the given name or surname to return broader list of search results.
  • Search the records of nearby locations. While a person in this period rarely lived more than 20 miles from their place of birth, moves within this range were common.

Citing This Collection

Proper citations make it easier to get back to sources that you have found, so citing sources properly can help you keep track of research. Correct citations also allow others to check completed research by giving them a way to find and examine records for themselves.

Below are the proper citations to use for this whole collection as well as for individual records within it:

Collection Citation
Record (or Index) Citation
The citation for a record will be available with each record once the collection is published.

How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.